We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Chichester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Break”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 29 November to 2 December. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, quite large and very comfortable with a great shower. The breakfast was really good - every choice catered for and even though the hotel was full on Sunday morning, all the staff rushed around keeping everyone happy and still smiling. The spa was a great bonus. We ate in the restaurant twice and both times had a very enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadRunnerChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for posting this fantastic review, i is great to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will continue to use Hallmark Hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    482
    341
    168
    98
See reviews for
226
709
32
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

There are some good qualities but also some bad qualities. Firstly the good - the hotel is set in a nice area. The hotel looks nice as you walk in, but, there are works going on. Secondly, we had an evening meal at the restuarant. The food was very good, the service was quick and the prices were what was expected. Breakfast was good but see my point below. However, the lady serving went out of her way to sort our issue out and should be commended for her customer service. Right the bad parts the room looked clean and was reasonable. However, when got into the bathroom, there was dried paint over the bath and were cracks in the bath Secondly, the hotel offers free wifi - however, we were in one of the rooms downstairs, and therefore out of the reach of the wifi signal. So if you need wifi you must insist on moving from downstairs room. When asked about this we were told that they knew this was an issue and would attempt to restart it. It still didnt work later! Finally the breakfast. We booked a room only, and I rung and asked whether could ask for breakfast on the day. We were told yes would be £8, again on check in we asked the same question and got the same response, that we could just turn up and pay £8. So to our surprise we got there and were told it was £9.95. We explained the above and were told no should have sorted on check in. So was embarrassing for us waiting to find out what was happening but as explained above the lady sorted it for us by going to management. Is it a 4 star hotel in parts yes, but needs to sort some basics out as well

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrrenSmith1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your constructive and helpful feedback, it is good to learn where we have erred as well as where we have exceeded expectations. We do offer a pre-booking reduction for breakfast, this is a special offer that is available to our guests but not available if not arranged. We are rated as a four star hotel by the AA after a full and unexpected audit of all areas of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Me and my partner stayed 22 - 24th November. Hotel looks a bit worn from outside minus fab lobby which has clearly had a make over, breakfast was delightful good chocie, had evening meal on one of the nights a little pricey but we really enjoyed our meals. Staff friendly and helpful, room was beautiful and very clean. Bed is massive a real treat. We went Christmas markets which were great! Overall i would defiantly stay in this hotel again. Beautiful trip! Hotel is a little out the way.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeni d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Than you for the great review, it is fantastic that you enjoyed your visit and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hallam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Visited the Hallmark Hotel at Gloucester for a weekend break. The hotel is very clean, lovely room with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was very clean although the shower could have been a little better but plenty of hot water. We ate in the bar on the first day - sandwiches and a lovely big pot of tea and had a 3 course meal in the restaurant on the 2nd night - the food was lovely. Breakfast on both days was delicious, plenty of choice. The staff are extremely friendly from reception to bar and restaurant staff. We didnt use the leisure facilities. We would certainly recommend and return again if we were visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for the great feedback, it is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Weekend away with friends, nice hotel rooms clean with an efficient heating system, staff very pleasant and helpfull, food very good and not unreasonably priced, would stay again.
When you first arrive there is work being carried out to the buildings at the entrance which gives a less than inspiring impresssion but when you enter reception all is well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytoplease96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for the positive review, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we sincerely hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford Halse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Weekend away with the wife, hotel clean and the staff very pleasant rooms are large and the bed is very comfortable, the food is very good I had a steak and the wife chicken both very nice, breakfast was tasty and plenty to eat. Would come again to this hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BMW1200GSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the positive review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will come and see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We knew this hotel was a bit out of the centre of Gloucster but hadn't realised there were few restaurants nearby. We ate in the hotel's restaurant on the evening we arrived and the food was OK, not exceptional.
Oddly you have to go out the front door of the hotel to go into the spa. The swimming pool is a very strange shape which does not lend itself to easy swimming for exercise. Also you walk from the spa reception back to the entrance to the men's changing room then back out and through reception to the pool then back through reception again to the changing room. Odd.
Unbelievably there is no shaver power point in the bathroom. I mentioned this after a long queue to check out and was told that the shaver points were taken out in the recent renovation. One receptionist actually called it a downgrading!
My wife was offered gluten-free bread at dinner. She asked if there would be some at breakfast and told that there would be. However it took three requests and reminders for them to find that bread at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exfordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is helpful to learn where we reached our expectations as well as where we need to focus in the future. The Spa can be accessed from the bar as well as from outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing