We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice stay, very helpful staff”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staff were helpful from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay. Room was nice with large bed which meant for a good nights sleep. Did not use the spa facilities, but had a look at them and they looked very nice. Bus stop 5 minutes walk with very regular buses into City, also used a local taxi firm (at very good rate).

Couple of bad things. Bar was quite expensive and also people we were staying with had no hot water in their rooms until a man came to fix it. The problem reoccurred in the morning too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebrad127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review, unfortunately we cannot guarantee that problems will not arise, but is is great to learn that we dealt with them immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    480
    339
    168
    98
See reviews for
225
703
32
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Beautiful modern hotel, we have been to this hotel twice now and have enjoyed both visits immensely, the welcome has always been warm and friendly, the rooms clean and welcome equipped, the spa is lovely and relaxing and the cleanliness is of a high standard, we ate in the restaurant on the second visit, the food was a little hit and miss, the starter for both me and my fiancé were ok but the main course was lovely so perhaps need to work on consistency, the restaurant itself has a lovely atmosphere and is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast a lovely as it is a buffet, so you can eat what you fancy and go back for more if you wish, they replenish little and often so there seems to always be fresh and hot food available, there is also a good selection for a continental option too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we very much hope you will be back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a spa weekend, Nice hotel, spa facilities were not what I would call a spa. Had a massage, and must say it was very good. Only used the hot tub and steam rooms as pool was quite busy.
Room was nice and beds were comfortable. Parts of the hotel would have done with a good clean. Food was very nice and staff pleasant .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireGeorge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your balanced feedback, it is good to learn that overall you enjoyed your visit. We do try to market ourselves as a Health Club with Spa facilities and we are sorry if this was not your expectation. We hope that you will still consider using us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

hotel is ok but i think more for special occasions, lot of business men was there so felt this was more for them, had a facial the girl hardly spoke 2 words and not that good at facials! pool area was terible seemed like everyone was allowed in, food was really lovely and so was the breakfast, the staff were good i had a problem and it was resolved, overall this would be a stop off on a long journey

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your balanced review, we are sorry that not all aspects of the hotel were to your expectation but it is good to learn that you enjoyed most of your stay and we hope you will be back to see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel was lovely, we booked after spotting an amazon local offer and stayed for just one night. With the voucher we had breakfast and afternoon tea thrown in. Afternoon was real nice (sandwiches, cakes, tea) and breakfast an all you eat buffet (hot and cold foods). We also made use of the gym and the pool whilst we were there before eating out in Gloucester in the evening. Room well decorated, nice and warm with a comfy bed and all the freebies thrown in. Would stay again, although not much to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you back with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Room is tidy and comfortable. Tge only complaint is the glass in the bathroom door - mirror image of yourself using the toilet isn't nice! Our food was spectacular, the best meal we've had in a long time, for a particularly fussy eater like myself that's high praise indeed. Breakfast choice was very full and delicious .Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the great review, it is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We look forward to you coming back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We recently had a one-night spa break stay at the Hallmark Hotel in celebration of my mum's 70th birthday. I have to start by emphasizing that the hotel itself is really lovely, and the service of both Timea and Jade on reception was exceptional, as was that of the restaurant team. However, the spa hugely lets down the hotel, and almost doesn't seem to be the same establishment.

The pool area has dirty, dated white tiling that makes it feel more like a council leisure centre, with rusty, lime-scaled metal edging in places. The hot tubs weren't all that hot, so difficult to relax, and the water looked drab and dirty because of the unfinished tiling underneath. A few loungers around the edge of the pool helped create a spa-like atmosphere, but on the whole it was quite disappointing.

We booked treatments as part of the Couples Retreat package. Firstly, the treatment area shares a back wall with the squash court - so you can imagine the bouncing noises. Secondly, my massage experience was awful. The young girl who gave the treatment not only talked at me about her personal life throughout the entire massage, including personal information about medical troubles and operations her family had had, she also asked me mid-treatment what the operation was for, that I had declared to her in pre-treatment consultation.

Of course, the girl could not have known that the reason for our trip was to relieve my mother from her caring duties for my sick father, nor that my operation had been an upsetting time personally - both of which contributed. However, common social decency should prevent asking about these situations in a professional setting, let alone in a relaxation treatment. In fact, talking at all throughout treatments of this kind is not something I have ever experienced previously, as it makes it very hard to relax and enjoy the massage. I felt very short-changed. At the time there was no-one on salon reception to feed back to. I appreciate that this was my personal experience, however, I would be surprised that they were not more complaints about this particular staff member.

In short, it is such a shame that the fabulous professionalism and hospitality of the hotel facilities and its staff was so thoroughly let down and mismatched in the facilities and professionalism of the spa.

Please do go for the hotel - it's wonderful, as is the food. Go somewhere else for a spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFJOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Very disappointing feedback, I do wish you had let us know before you left that this was your feeling so that we could have done something to improve your impression of us. As you have said yourself, this is a personal preference from yourself but I assure you that we will use your feedback to further train our team. I hope you will contact me directly so that I can investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
801 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
171 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing