We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and great value”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stopped overnight for a business trip needing good food, clean room and a decent nights kip!
Hotel delivered in all areas and was topped off by smiling, friendly staff. I'll be straight back when in the areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for the great review,i is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    485
    346
    174
    98
See reviews for
229
721
34
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed over on a Thursday night (27/2) for a break after visiting a friend. Although perhaps not in the best location, the hotel itself is of a good quality. It had many good features, although there were some areas that could have been better. I would rate it as a 3.5 Star trying to be 4 Star, which is its listing. The Staff were very good, the rooms spacious and the decor was generally of a high standard throughout. The Spa was better than we expected and the gym (which is a local health club) has a good range of equipment. The pool was spacious and the jacuzzi was one of the bigger ones we have used. We had the tapas pre-dinner and although this had been allowed to run out when we went to collect our food, it was soon refilled and enjoyable. The main meal was outstanding and of a very high quality, although we thought the wine prices were a bit pretentious for the hotel's rating and although we could afford to pay the £21 for the nice red we had, we were surprised that the hotel did not have house wines listed for those on more of a budget. The restaurant manager (a Latvian lady) was superb and attentive at exactly the right times and pre-dinner even spotted I was waiting at the bar while the bar person was talking to a customer on the phone and immediately came over and served me. The breakfast experience we would rate as average, as the variety was not as varied as you get at similar hotels and there was even no musilli on offer which was a surprise and the fried eggs were hard. What was disappointing was there was no 'gate-keeper' on duty and so nobody was on hand to show you to a table and, as a consequence, the 2 ladies who were serving and working flat-out did not realise you were there and waiting to order drinks etc. We watched several others go through the same routine. We did see a man in a suit appear then disappear, and we assume he was the gatekeeper but had other tasks to perform. The decor, although generally of a good standard, in some areas the wall-paper was scuffed and some of the wooden doors in the corridor (near the conference area) were badly scraped and such things do distract from the overall quality. Finally, in our room I noted a small piece of beading was coming away in the bathroom and in one of the drawers we discovered a castor we assumed from the bed. We reported these when we checked out (room 29), but the very nice receptionist gave no real indication that she was doing anything about it, unless of course she did have a good memory and later reported it to maintenance? Overall, the little things did detract from the overall good quality of the hotel, the health club and the outstanding evening meal. Would we stay again, actually we would, especially in the belief from previous comments from the manager that they are keen to continually improve.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoteapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for the detailed an comprehensive feedback. It is great to learn that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your visit. Apologies for the maintenance issues you highlighted and thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast offering, we do offer a wide selection, I am unsure why there was no muesli when you visited, you are correct, there should have been.
Our wine prices start from £17.95 which I believe is industry leading in the four star market.
We are rated as a four star hotel following our annual inspection by the AA, the only recognized standard in the hospitality market. The audit is unannounced and takes into account all areas of the hotel taking place over the course of two days, I am pleased to say that following this process we are comfortably in the 4 star scoring, this is the only standard we can realistically work towards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I visited here on a Friday night with my husband and 15 year old daughter. The menu was exceptionally limited, so much so that my daughter and I ended up sharing the bread and oils, for mains mine was by far the worst meal I have had in a long time, it was pan tried chicken in a honey mushroom sauce, there was no hint of honey or mustard and the sauce was just like water, the chunky chips were also stone cold. My husbands ribs and daughters steak were just average. I actually thought the ginger biscuit in the room had more taste than my evening meal and so went to bed hungry. Dying for breakfast we went down and were told to help ourselves to hot, cold and continental breakfast, only by the time you had got your hot breakfast back to the table it was cold.
I would not recommend the restaurant to anyone, the staff are slow and didn't even get my drinks order correct, since when did a bottle of diet coke with ice and lemon sound like vodka and coke.
Shame on you Hallmark bar/restaurant staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 504150Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, I was surprised to learn that your food was so faraway from our usual standards and feedback, I understand that we can make mistakes however, I sincerely hope that when this was brought to our attention we acted immediately to rectify this so you did not leave us so disappointed. I hope you will try the Hallmark Gloucester again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staff were helpful from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay. Room was nice with large bed which meant for a good nights sleep. Did not use the spa facilities, but had a look at them and they looked very nice. Bus stop 5 minutes walk with very regular buses into City, also used a local taxi firm (at very good rate).

Couple of bad things. Bar was quite expensive and also people we were staying with had no hot water in their rooms until a man came to fix it. The problem reoccurred in the morning too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebrad127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review, unfortunately we cannot guarantee that problems will not arise, but is is great to learn that we dealt with them immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Beautiful modern hotel, we have been to this hotel twice now and have enjoyed both visits immensely, the welcome has always been warm and friendly, the rooms clean and welcome equipped, the spa is lovely and relaxing and the cleanliness is of a high standard, we ate in the restaurant on the second visit, the food was a little hit and miss, the starter for both me and my fiancé were ok but the main course was lovely so perhaps need to work on consistency, the restaurant itself has a lovely atmosphere and is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast a lovely as it is a buffet, so you can eat what you fancy and go back for more if you wish, they replenish little and often so there seems to always be fresh and hot food available, there is also a good selection for a continental option too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we very much hope you will be back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a spa weekend, Nice hotel, spa facilities were not what I would call a spa. Had a massage, and must say it was very good. Only used the hot tub and steam rooms as pool was quite busy.
Room was nice and beds were comfortable. Parts of the hotel would have done with a good clean. Food was very nice and staff pleasant .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireGeorge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your balanced feedback, it is good to learn that overall you enjoyed your visit. We do try to market ourselves as a Health Club with Spa facilities and we are sorry if this was not your expectation. We hope that you will still consider using us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

hotel is ok but i think more for special occasions, lot of business men was there so felt this was more for them, had a facial the girl hardly spoke 2 words and not that good at facials! pool area was terible seemed like everyone was allowed in, food was really lovely and so was the breakfast, the staff were good i had a problem and it was resolved, overall this would be a stop off on a long journey

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your balanced review, we are sorry that not all aspects of the hotel were to your expectation but it is good to learn that you enjoyed most of your stay and we hope you will be back to see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
811 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,126 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing