We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hatton Court Hotel(Upton St Leonards)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Station Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Central Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Edward Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,801)
Filter reviews
1,801 results
Traveller rating
604
545
364
186
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
545
364
186
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa facilitiesspa breakdry ski slopeswimming poolsauna and steam roomcourse mealleisure clubself servicereception staffrestaurant staffrelaxing stayfood was lovelysconesdouble roomboth nightsbuffet styleshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,295 - 1,300 of 1,801 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed, 2 nights at the Hallmark Hotel over the May Bank Holiday Weekend a busy period for this very popular hotel. We did find a few problems with the hotel which visitors should be aware of if booking at an equally busy period.
The problems with the room were nothing to do with the busy period, they were: Shower head set too low, I am 6ft 4ins and the showerhead was level with my throat. Also we were on the ground floor and there is no air-conditioning, we knew there was no air-conditioning the problem was that there was no restrictor on the window so we couldn’t leave it open and the room got very hot.
Restaurant: Evening meal, the steak came on a wooden board which was split and the sauce leaked all over the table. A medium rare steak requested was Very rare, the thick cut chips were so thick that they were not cooked. The response from the chef was “I will try and do better next time”. This was then taken to the maître De who took the cost of the steak off the bill.
The breakfast, The Orange Juice, it took three attempts the first morning to get a drink that was drinkable, this reconstructed flavoured water was nothing like orange juice. Coffee, help yourself out of large plastic thermos’ obviously had been prepared a long time ago and was stale.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, the restaurant looked as if it had just been revamped and although at times was very busy you did not feel crowded, it open plan and sitting in the bar was very noisy with the noise of the restaurant. It was a pleasant hotel that needs a few tweaks before it can really class itself as a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Request 1st floor rather than ground floor. The windows have no restrictors so cannot be left open overnight
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this constructive feedback. I am pleased that we had the chance to discuss your issues directly and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Our star rating is given by the AA following an unannounced over night audit, these are the only guidelines we can realistically work towards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

When we first pulled up outside the hotel, we were a little disappointed to say the least, it wasn't what we were expecting and the fact that there is a building site next to the hotel should be mentioned as a matter of courtesy when making your booking.

The check in process was smooth and easy and we were pleased with the spacious room we were given.

We were at the hotel for a spa weekend and the spa booking process unfortunately leaves a lot to be desired, after many emails and telephone message to the spa we were led to believe that we had bookings for extra treatments which we were then very disappointed to discover had been allocated to someone else! They were very apologetic about this, but I would question why we were allocated a time only then for it to be have been given away while we made our minds up about what treatments we wanted! However, when we did have treatments, they were lovely and the staff were excellent!

The food on offer was varied and actually very good and special mention must go to the delicious afternoon tea that we enjoyed. The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive and very helpful.

My only other niggle is the shower in the hotel room which was more of a trickle than a shower and not what you would expect in a 4 star hotel!

With a few minor improvements, I think this hotel could be really very good indeed but we still had a lovely weekend away from it all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, we were at the front and had a nice view of the car park!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, apologies for any short fall you encountered with communication, I hope we managed to sort everything to your expectation. We hope you will come back and visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just returned from The Hallmark Hotel in Glouchester and I can not ignore but post a review .
From the moment we arrived , even tough was before check in time we were looked after by a friendly receptionist who explained everything about the hotel and double checked our spa booking times and dinner as well .
The room was spotless clean , large and comfortable bed . The SPA treatments were the best we had . Tapas looked amazing but the dinner was the highlight of our stay .
Fantastic food served by professional and attentive staff . Had after dinner drinks in the bar wich were reasonably priced .
Breakfast was great . Large selection of continental and cooked food and despite being very busy as you might expect the staff were very efficient offering varieties of coffe and tea wich was surprising . We left the hotel extremely happy and very impressed .
The hotel management clearly knows how to run the business .
We will definitely comeback and recommend .

Room Tip: On the second floor .
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for the great review, it is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your visit! Please come back and see us again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Easy, polite check in and out. Room fine, if a bit austere. Comfortable bed and decent bathroom. Food was good one night and slightly mediocre the next, however, service was fast and attentive. Buffet lunch boring and overpriced at £15. Commendable enough breakfast and I was offered and got fresh tea when I needed it. Small range of wines acceptable - but the place is a little expensive for drinks generally. Pool large, quirky, but easy to use - oddly situated for a few hotel residents who might have to go through the bar to get there. Note that there is £5 hire charge for a robe (you won't find one in your room).

Room Tip: There is building going on in close proximity to the hotel (April 2014). May be sensible to ask for a room away from that activity if you are there midweek.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your balanced and constructive feedback, it is always helpful to receive helpful comments. We hope you will still be back to visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for a Saturday night. Located on the outskirts of Gloucester. Hotel was very busy but the staff coped well with several party groups and didn't neglect their other customers. Spa was busy but still usable. They have many jacuzzis but there was also room in bother sauna and steam room.

Room reasonable size and comfortable. Recent decoration and bathroom nicely finished.

Reception staff good.

We ate at the restaurant. Pleasantly surprised with quality and innovation on the menu. Food cooked well and tasty. Service maintained despite being busy. They do a 3 course meal for 22GBP if you book at reception.

Would stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic feedback. We hope that you will be back to visit us gain in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews