We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Broadwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again...”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I booked to stay here for just one night with my two young daughters, the youngest being just four months. Firstly, this hotel does NOT have access for the disabled or people with young children/strollers. I had to climb two flights of stairs unaided before someone thought to offer to help me!

The room itself was presented well until closer inspection, it was not vacuumed, we had no towels provided and the curtain rings were falling from the fittings in the window. I paid for the ultimate package and did not receive my "vanity case" and the dressing gown provided could easily have cracked in half...that's how hard and brittle it was. It also smelt of chip fat. I'm sorry but four stars? Revolting.
The DVD player did not work, when I told management this he tried to argue with me.

Most of the staff were insincere and sloppy but I will say, the waitress/waiter service was second to none...we had a very pleasant meal that evening. Though sadly I don't know how or why I persevered in staying the night. My daughters were over tired and miserable by the morning.
If it hadn't been an hours travel back by taxi to get home....I really would not have stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit and I am disappointed to read how we far we fell short of our standards, I assure you that this is not how we wish our guests to leave us. We always hope to exceed our guests expectations not fall short of them. I hope that you will contact me directly so that I can investigate your issues in detail and hopefully work to improve your lasting impression of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    482
    341
    168
    98
See reviews for
226
709
32
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Every year a group of us ladies go to a different location, as a week end break. This year it was Gloucester. Not too far from where we live in Wellington Shropshire. It took only 2 hours to get to the hotel. First impressions I thought 'Have we done the right thing', but all that changed when we entered the reception area. We were greeted by a friendly young man who asked us if we had a good journey. When checking in every thing was explained to us in a professional manner, telling us that we could use all the leisure facilities including the pool and gym. Our bedrooms were perfection them selves, beautifully decorated with every thing we could want and even an iron ( that would not be used ) We decided to have a wonder around after unpacking.It was a beautiful day so we ventured out side. We found our selves on an patio and decided to get some drinks and make an afternoon of it. Very pleasant, just what we all wanted. In the evening we booked into the restaurant and service and food were great, Allona looked after us seated at our tables, and a charming waiter came and took our order.Same one what was on reception when we arrived.
Service was quick and food was hot. All of us were full to bursting after a delicious meal. Then to the bar area. Again friendly staff were on hand to serve and chat to us, asking if we had travelled far, and did we enjoy the meal.Then off to bed. A good night sleep in very comfortable bed. Then breakfast, what can I say, hot delicious,plenty of it, again friendly staff, saw some from the night before who reconised us straight away. How lovely to see such friendly, polite staff. People are the first to critise young people, all I can say is come to Gloucester the younger generation here are professional and polite. Customer care must be a top priority at Hallmark, and you certainly got it right.

Room Tip: 0pposite Reception easy access to every thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayfielddrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic review, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed, 2 nights at the Hallmark Hotel over the May Bank Holiday Weekend a busy period for this very popular hotel. We did find a few problems with the hotel which visitors should be aware of if booking at an equally busy period.
The problems with the room were nothing to do with the busy period, they were: Shower head set too low, I am 6ft 4ins and the showerhead was level with my throat. Also we were on the ground floor and there is no air-conditioning, we knew there was no air-conditioning the problem was that there was no restrictor on the window so we couldn’t leave it open and the room got very hot.
Restaurant: Evening meal, the steak came on a wooden board which was split and the sauce leaked all over the table. A medium rare steak requested was Very rare, the thick cut chips were so thick that they were not cooked. The response from the chef was “I will try and do better next time”. This was then taken to the maître De who took the cost of the steak off the bill.
The breakfast, The Orange Juice, it took three attempts the first morning to get a drink that was drinkable, this reconstructed flavoured water was nothing like orange juice. Coffee, help yourself out of large plastic thermos’ obviously had been prepared a long time ago and was stale.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, the restaurant looked as if it had just been revamped and although at times was very busy you did not feel crowded, it open plan and sitting in the bar was very noisy with the noise of the restaurant. It was a pleasant hotel that needs a few tweaks before it can really class itself as a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Request 1st floor rather than ground floor. The windows have no restrictors so cannot be left open o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this constructive feedback. I am pleased that we had the chance to discuss your issues directly and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Our star rating is given by the AA following an unannounced over night audit, these are the only guidelines we can realistically work towards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

When we first pulled up outside the hotel, we were a little disappointed to say the least, it wasn't what we were expecting and the fact that there is a building site next to the hotel should be mentioned as a matter of courtesy when making your booking.

The check in process was smooth and easy and we were pleased with the spacious room we were given.

We were at the hotel for a spa weekend and the spa booking process unfortunately leaves a lot to be desired, after many emails and telephone message to the spa we were led to believe that we had bookings for extra treatments which we were then very disappointed to discover had been allocated to someone else! They were very apologetic about this, but I would question why we were allocated a time only then for it to be have been given away while we made our minds up about what treatments we wanted! However, when we did have treatments, they were lovely and the staff were excellent!

The food on offer was varied and actually very good and special mention must go to the delicious afternoon tea that we enjoyed. The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive and very helpful.

My only other niggle is the shower in the hotel room which was more of a trickle than a shower and not what you would expect in a 4 star hotel!

With a few minor improvements, I think this hotel could be really very good indeed but we still had a lovely weekend away from it all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, we were at the front and had a nice view of the car park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, apologies for any short fall you encountered with communication, I hope we managed to sort everything to your expectation. We hope you will come back and visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just returned from The Hallmark Hotel in Glouchester and I can not ignore but post a review .
From the moment we arrived , even tough was before check in time we were looked after by a friendly receptionist who explained everything about the hotel and double checked our spa booking times and dinner as well .
The room was spotless clean , large and comfortable bed . The SPA treatments were the best we had . Tapas looked amazing but the dinner was the highlight of our stay .
Fantastic food served by professional and attentive staff . Had after dinner drinks in the bar wich were reasonably priced .
Breakfast was great . Large selection of continental and cooked food and despite being very busy as you might expect the staff were very efficient offering varieties of coffe and tea wich was surprising . We left the hotel extremely happy and very impressed .
The hotel management clearly knows how to run the business .
We will definitely comeback and recommend .

Room Tip: On the second floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the great review, it is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your visit! Please come back and see us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Easy, polite check in and out. Room fine, if a bit austere. Comfortable bed and decent bathroom. Food was good one night and slightly mediocre the next, however, service was fast and attentive. Buffet lunch boring and overpriced at £15. Commendable enough breakfast and I was offered and got fresh tea when I needed it. Small range of wines acceptable - but the place is a little expensive for drinks generally. Pool large, quirky, but easy to use - oddly situated for a few hotel residents who might have to go through the bar to get there. Note that there is £5 hire charge for a robe (you won't find one in your room).

Room Tip: There is building going on in close proximity to the hotel (April 2014). May be sensible to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your balanced and constructive feedback, it is always helpful to receive helpful comments. We hope you will still be back to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for a Saturday night. Located on the outskirts of Gloucester. Hotel was very busy but the staff coped well with several party groups and didn't neglect their other customers. Spa was busy but still usable. They have many jacuzzis but there was also room in bother sauna and steam room.

Room reasonable size and comfortable. Recent decoration and bathroom nicely finished.

Reception staff good.

We ate at the restaurant. Pleasantly surprised with quality and innovation on the menu. Food cooked well and tasty. Service maintained despite being busy. They do a 3 course meal for 22GBP if you book at reception.

Would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic feedback. We hope that you will be back to visit us gain in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing