We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Hallmark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hot Hallmark”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for business as I was working in the area, overall the hotel was a very pleasant one. I was a little surprised at the location of it as it felt like a long drive through Gloucester and out through an estate to get there. On arrival I was also a rather overwhelmed at what can only be described a building site right beside it, there was a small housing development in the process of being built. This being said it didn't seem to effect my stay in the hotel with the exception of the hotels car park being over ruled with builders motor vehicles. The evening meal I had as room service in my room due to my late arrival was very tasty and fresh. The room was clean and I had no issues with it with one exception, the week of my visit was unfortunately one of the warmest weeks of the year so therefore the room in the evening was like an oven. With no air conditioning unit it made it quite a task to get off to sleep. The only negative thing I would mention about the hotel was the rather unusual lay out, it felt like a bit of a maze with endless identical corridors to get to the room. All round a pleasant stay with tasty good quality food and a friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the constructive review. I am surprised that you found the layout confusing as except for the leisure club all corridors and facilities are accessed directly via reception as a central point. We do not provide air conditioning, I am sorry if this was an expectation that we did not meet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    473
    339
    167
    98
See reviews for
222
697
31
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

we stayed here for 1 night in a double and 1 twin rooms the beds was clean and staff was OK, The net curtains was dirty and the windows was moldy and window`s didn't open enough to let any air in the rooms (it was hot weather) the kettle`s was dirty in both rooms wasn't nice couldn't have a drink made with them and no fridge in the rooms for cold drinks. Food was pricey but the breakfast was good.The hotel wasn't in a good location wouldn't stay hear again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
There is no excuse for any shortfall in cleanliness and I apologize that this was your experience. I hope you will contact me directly so that I can investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We got a great deal at this hotel so packed up and came over from London to see our family for the weekend. When we read reviews it seem slightly mixed so didn't know how to take it. How wrong was I. On arriving we were checked in 2 hours earlier than the 2pm check in. The kids were very happy, we had a lovely big suite and they had their own room and TV!! They had sofa beds made up in there and we wanted to keep one of the sofas so the duty manager made up another bed for us and we got talking. She told us that the food festival was going on at the Gloucester docks and that it was definitely worth a look, now what was exceptional is that she even gave us her private permit for the docks carpark as she said the normal one was taken over by the bands. I thought this was such an out of her way thing to do and was totally unexpected. You cannot buy that. So thank you very much! -We also had a fantastic time down there, so great suggestion. Once back at the hotel we made full use of the leisure, the kids had great fun. Dinner was also good, breakfast being our favorite with so much choice. We will definitely return on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Book the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave us this fantastic feedback, thank you for your great comments, we hope to see you back with us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I have just came back from my hen do and myself and 4 of my friends stayed at the hallmark. Overall the hotel was nice, the spa was clean although very busy. I would say that the jacuzzi wasn't very warm for a jacuzzi but that's my preference and the staff were kind enough to let us drink our drinks sat by the pool. I had a massage which I can't rate highly enough she was fantastic! But whilst the room size and decor were fantastic it's a shame that the view is hindered by a building site which will only get worse when they turn into houses. It was a very hot weekend and our room was baking hot yet the windows could only be opened 4cm tops and with no air con or fans it was unbearable! Especially as all of us found the showers extremely lacklustre! Breakfast was lovely and quick good variety of food and the dinner was amazing best steak I have eaten in ages !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Srk185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the constructive review, it is great to learn that overall you enjoyed your visit and we very much appreciate you taking the time to give us your helpful comments so that we can improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed on the 26th and 27th of July. After reading some of the reviews, I was slightly worried upon arrival. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised by the look of the hotel, reception was nice and modern. We checked in easy, staff was polite and friendly. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was fantastic, the starter I had was one of the best things I've ever ate! Three courses for £20 I thought was a pretty good price, especially for the standard of food. We also had a snack in the bar, which was also very good and reasonably priced. I did think drink prices were quite high, but no more than you'd pay at other hotels. We did use the spa facilities which were very nice, slightly dated but that didn't bother me. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars for me was because the room was ridiculously warm, we did tell the staff and they supplied us with a fan, but it was still too warm! That was my only problem with my stay. All the staff was very helpful and polite!

Room Tip: 123 was close to bar and restaurant and near the spa and leisure facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou-Wealthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the great review, it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will be back to see us again very soon. I am sorry about the hot room, it was a particularly warm weekend and we do not have air conditioning in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I just got back from a spa weekend with my sister and cousin and I am very disappointed in the hotel. Firstly there was a £5 charge for the robe hire which I would expect to be complimentary in a spa hotel. Secondly, since there were no local restaurants within walking distance, we decided to have the afternoon tea in the restaurant. This turned out to be a bad idea. Having started eating the finger sandwiches, we discovered that the salmon in one of them was a greenish brown colour in the centre instead of the usual pink. We spoke to the manager about this and she told us that it was completely fine and safe to eat and that she would taste it herself to prove that it had not gone off. To me, service such as this is completely inadequate and unprofessional. We felt sick after discovering the bad salmon and were put off eating the rest of the food. Despite this, the manager would not refund us any of the bill and instead said that she would try and do something for us during dinner. However she managed to successfully avoid us during our dinner in the restaurant and so we were not compensated. The spa facilities were adequate and the pool area was outdated and not completely sanitary. The rim around the jacuzzi appeared to have mould growing in it and the floor around the pool had hair on it. All in all, I feel that the standard of the hotel did not reflect the price paid and I would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarikaiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am sorry that your recent visit was not up to our usual standards in regards food. I will be looking into this further as I am shocked that a member of our team would serve any food product that they were not completely satisfied with. I hope that you will contact me directly so that I can let you know my findings.

Daniel Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is now our 4th stay with the hallmark Gloucester. Again we have been looked after so well. This time we even had cards and chocolates placed in our room. A very nice touch, Thank you!!!
We now always come back when in the area, and are never disappointed. The rooms are very clean and we are looked after very well. The staff in general always go out of there way to accommodate us and this is why we will again return in September. The food we had was lovely, and this time we even had lunch in the bar which was just as good. Didn't use the spa this time as we went out to bourton- a must see. An extremely beautiful town. Looking forward to coming back

Room Tip: We always stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review, we look forward to your next visit in September and hope that you will continue to use in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
792 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
4.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
815 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing