We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I really regret buying a spa day experience from here as there were so many other choices available. I chose Gloucester Hallmark Hotel in order to support the local area but this place really lets Gloucester down! No customer and the biggest problem was probably how dirty it was!! The pool was cloudy and there was dirty all the way round the pool and hot tub above the water line. Me and both my husband had irritated skin afterwards.

When we had afternoon tea the bread of the sandwich were stuck together and had to peel them apart. The spout of the tea pot was so filthy it looked like it had never been cleaned! I just can't believe a hotel can be so dirty. Looks so nice when you enter but beyond reception and the lovely seating its disgusting!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rashidah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It is disappointing to read that you were so unhappy with your visit. Our Health Club Manager has emailed you directly so that we can investigate and address these issues. I have been to investigate the pool and can only be honest and forthright, although there is discoloration due to lime scale which we are working to address there is no evidence of mould, we do complete a regular chemical clean to ensure that the area is sanitary. I apologise that the sandwiches were not to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    480
    339
    168
    98
See reviews for
225
703
32
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel this Bank Holiday weekend. Unfortunately it was disappointing. The room was clean but basic uncomfortable towels, minimum bath products and limited breakfast.
I booked our twin room from a website that included breakfast but on checkout was informed breakfast was included. So had to pay a further £20+ for the limited choice of breakfast when pointed this out on check out was told you need to mention this to the staff. However having already asked for plates and then coffee at the time was starting to think I was being viewed as a difficult customer.

Room Tip: Bring your own bath products.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannASam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it is a shame that you found our towels to be unacceptable, we use an external company to provide these and I will be taking your feedback to them so we can improve our offering in the future. We use GIlchrist and Soames products for our bathroom which I believe to be of a very high standard within the four star market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a family room at this hotel through lastminute and despite having booked a week in advance when we arrived at night with our two sleeping children they had no record of the booking and no family rooms available. It took over an hour to check us into a 'suite' and they couldn't get the cot up, couldn't locate a bed for our daughter and even though she is only 4 made up a sofa bed in the adjoining room for her. She was too afraid to sleep there so we all stayed in the same bed. There was no heating in the room and it was very cold. The towels in the bathroom were dirty and covered in makeup and there was rubbish in the dresser. The staff were extremely unhelpful and rude and tried to charge us again for the room despite us showing them a confirmation e-mail that the room had been prepaid. There was no acknowledgement of the inconvenience to us. Dreadful overall.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bessiebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Very disappointing to read your feedback, we appreciate you posting your review online, however could I please request that you contact me directly so that I can address your issues in detail and hopefully improve your lasting impression of us.
Daniel Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel for a spa day using an n crowd special offer. £39 for 2 for a day with lunch (a sandwich and tea) and a mini treatment each. We both went for an Indian Head massage. The hotel was reasonably clean but the staff were the biggest let down. None of them seemed to have a clue about customer service. This is not meant as a put down. They have all of the information and are help full but just need a little refinement on interaction with the customer but this me being nit picky. The spa day was great although the pool was cold. The massage was out of this world.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NicCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the helpful feedback, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

checked out this morning from what we thought would be a luxurious 4* stay to relax and escape from reality for two nights...
I am not one to usually complain as I'm in customer service myself and know how much hard work goes into pleasing customers.. but I am really not impressed with this hotel!
Location poorly advertised as when you get there you think it's going to be in a remote country resort .. there's building work and houses within the resort . 

No small pleasantries as walking in and out the hotel or past reception from staff as a 4* hotel would be expected. 

View from room was top of the roof and that is all.  We may have brought this stay with a buy a gift voucher but that doesn't excuse the disappointing view and standards we received from this hotel .

towels were also not changed, we put them in the bath as the guest book requested and when we came back the same wet towels were just put over the radiator..      

We were not asked how our stay was or anything in that region by staff . We just got "thanks bye".

Definitely would not stay here out of choice with our own money which we were lucky enough not to have done this time! 


Food: average as you would expect from any buffet breakfast

Cleanliness : good 

Service: average . Not what you would expect from a four star

Facilities:  leisure club was average. Not the standard I would expect again within 4* resort

Overall :  average .  

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alijay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are rated 4 star by the AA following a yearly unannounced audit, the standards for achieving this rating are clearly set and are the only guideline we can fairly work towards. I regret that the service you experienced was not our usual high standard and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback so we can improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last 2 years on business. I recently visited the hotel for a weekend break with my family, as per usual service was fantastic and we were well looked after over the two days. Food at dinner was excellent as was the service at dinner.
We stayed on a two night deal that included dinner and breakfast, the package was very reasonably priced and we would certainly consider booking again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you fro the great review and your repeat business. We hope you will be back with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife and I return to the Hallmark year after year, the staff really couldn't do more to ensure that we have a comfortable stay. We love the spa facilities, clean/modern rooms and the food is top notch, both of us can't believe how well priced this hotel is. Already booked next years stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We always appreciate return business and it is great to learn that you continue to enjoy your visits with us. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
801 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
174 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing