We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“weekend away”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Very basic budget hotel which had a very clinical feel !felt more like a hospital when we were in our room !Although clean, the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable.we went down at 9.30am for breakfast and found cold contents in all containers ,being as we were hungry we gave cold cooked breakfast a try ,all i can say is we went out for breakfast next two mornings !We did have a couple of evening meals and they were ok.The staff were quite friendly and we were central for the places we wanted to visit like Gloucester and Ross on wye .we would not use this hotel again .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Ibis hotels offer a consistent economy hotel product. Ibis look to offer good value for money, modern, well-equipped rooms and a satisfying dining experience. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. We are replacing our beds in June with the new Ibis Bed. Kind regards, Nicola Moir, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    447
    150
    48
    33
See reviews for
168
487
96
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

I was a little bit disappointed when staying here for a 1 night stay only because the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned; I'm sure there was some dried pee on the floor under the toilet on the floor which hadn't been mopped! Not the nicest welcome to my room..!
But the room and bathroom was a good size and had good storage space for the price you pay. The bed was a little hard and uncomfortable but I just reminded myself it's a 2 star! But the bed size was good...
The hotel is good for a basic 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis Gloucester Hotel. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Feel free to contact me to discuss this further. Kind regards Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

clean friendly hotel with easy access to motorway and Gloucester town ! the rooms are basic no fussy bits like shampoos and bits and bobs but what do u expect its a budget hotel we enjoyed our stay here and would stay again and i must point out that on arrival the staff on the reception were very welcoming !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Hotel Gloucester and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Budget hotel that does exactly what it promises - decent, clean rooms and friendly staff. Easy to get to from the M5, and just a short drive into Gloucester. We had the dog with us, and the staff went out of their way to move one of the tables so that we didn't have to put him in the car while we had breakfast. We appreciated this, more so because they weren't asked to help - just spontaneously helped.
Pity that there's a charge for WiFi - in France Ibis hotels this comes free.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrivingwithDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Hotel Gloucester and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

An average rating simply because this is a budget hotel with everything made of plastic and everything very basic. l. However as a budget hotel it was very clean and offered meals and drinks at very reasonable prices. The staff could not be faulted and overall I rated this as a value for money stay. The only downside is a lack of free wifi - although there is one PC in the bar which can be used free of charge. I will stay here again simply because of the value it offers. Great for business travel but I would not bring my family here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Hotel Gloucester. look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel still feels brand new even though it has been open over a year. All the staff are very friendly and helpful (although you could wait a long time to be served in the restaurant if you don't order at the bar!). Plenty of parking at the hotel and it is an easy drive into the centre of Gloucester. Our double room was spacious. The bathroom is intriguing. It feels like it was built elsewhere and then installed in one unit in the room (it probably was). A pod is a good description! Nice views from the top floor. Our room looked out over a football pitch with hills in the distance. The food was good - the ribeye steak is excellent. The beds will not suit everyone. I think they are memory foam - at least that's what they feel like. My wife thought it was very comfortable but I thought it a little less so. I feel it depends on how heavy the occupant is! The lighter you are the more comfortable you will find it. We would visit the hotel again without hesitation. We are well travelled and, for the price and situation, it would be difficult to find better value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRomeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Gloucester. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we for your information we will be replacing our beds with the 'new' Ibis bed in june Kind regards, Nicola Moir general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Excellent attention throughout. The young Gentleman on reception on our arrival and throughout our stay 13th/14th April, was extremely friendly and helpful.
Only a quick stay unfortunately, but will bear it in mind for the future.
On the downside, the sink in the bathroom gave off an oderous drain stench, when the plug was lifted ( room 3).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibis106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Gloucester. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
812 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Gloucester

Property: Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Address: Corinium Ave Saw Mills End, Gloucester GL4 3DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#5 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Gloucester hotel is a budget hotel located just outside Gloucester City Centre.Book the hotel for easy access to the M5 motorway, Cheltenham, Barnwood and Barnett Way Business Area. The 127 modern guest rooms all have FREE WIFI, climate control, hairdryers,Broadband internet and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast or a meal at the Café restaurant, or a nightcap in the friendly bar. There is free car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ibis Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing