We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think we were just unfortunate...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Parksville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I think we were just unfortunate...”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Its a very modern hotel, conveniently located. Unfortunately we were given a room on the top floor and we think the hotel airconditioning unit may have been directly above us on the roof as we were kept awake all night by a constant loud droning sound. The room was spotlessly clean, with laminate flooring and a pod-style bathroom - small but again, spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable, and I am sure if our room had been located elsewhere in the hotel, we would have had two good nights sleep. Another negative was the tv - it was faulty and couldn't give us the movies we had paid for. To their credit, the hotel offered to refund the £9.99 we had paid. But what the hotel doesn't make abundantly clear is the wifi/tv package is £9.99, and the in room tv only offers 5 or 6 channels at best, which we find quite poor in comparison to other hotels. Finally, we ate at the restaurant the first night and were first told the steak and ale pie was not available, then the burger meal wasn't available, then the chicken fillet meal was not available.... very disappointing indeed.

Room Tip: As for a room anywhere but on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacificislandjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Hotel Ibis Gloucester. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this further. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    440
    146
    46
    31
See reviews for
162
476
95
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I like IBIS hotels a lot when travelling on business. They are simple, but provide all you need at a good price.

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days while visiting my parents. The first two days the WiFi speed was OK, but the last two days it was so slow to be unusable - and they seemed unable to find a solution. The hotel did refund the internet fee on these days.

For many people this would not be an issue - but increasingly, people need WiFi either to keep in touch with their office or to keep the teenagers happy;-). For us it was extremely frustrating and meant on several occasions that I had to find a cafe with free wifi so that I could answer urgent emails.

Personally, I will not risk staying here again. I can understand a hotel may have a problem with WiFi - but not for two days. This suggests their internet provider is incompetent.

Room Tip: If you need reliable WiFi, find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB777877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I am sorry that you encountered problems with the WIFI everything is working correctly again again. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is quite new and on the outskirts of Gloucester city, We had a double room on the second floor. The room was very clean, a bit small but perfectly adequate for a 2-night stay when we were going to be out and about most of the day.
The check-in was handled efficiently in a friendly manner.
Our room had the usual tea and coffee tray, a flat-screen TV, enough coat hangers for a short stay and bedside lights.
The ensuite was very obviously a pod, small but very clean with good lighting.
We ate in the hotel the first night. The dining area was bright with formica tables, a small bar and a couple of TV screens switched to Sky News but silent. The menu was limited but, once again, perfectly adequate. We found the portions quite small, the bread rolls were a bit hard and we had to ask for butter. My meal arrived incomplete, my chips didn't appear until I had finished the meal, about 15 minutes later. Apologies were given and the chips were taken away and didn't appear on the bill.
Breakfast was completely self-service and worked well. The cooked items looked a bit tired at 8.00a.m. but the croissants and bread were fresh and tasted really nice. The fruit juice was limited to just 2 flavours but the coffee machine had a great variety of drinks and we were able to serve ourselves with double espressos to our taste.
We paid £42 a night for a 2-night stay and would certainly recommend this hotel for a short break in Gloucester.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front can suffer from traffic noise which might not suit everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel Ibis Gloucester very soon. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very clean, tidy and relatively new hotel with accommodating and friendly staff. Rooms were spacious and a functional 'bathroom' pod. Towels could have been a bit larger but overall good value for money.
Pricing somewhat misleading as outside sign should have the daily price and not the cheapest (£29) when people were paying up to £85 for the days we stayed.
Breakfast was good but no fried eggs available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunrayx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Hotel ibis Gloucester. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The FROM price advertised on the board at the hotel is always our cheapest price available if you book inadvance on our brand website so that guests know that they can get an amazing price if they book in advance. I hope this helps explain why we do this. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Booked this for mwork collegues who were doing some local survey work. They specifically asked me to comment on how pleased they were with their accommodation - and how especially pleasant and helpful all the staff were. They all agreed they would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLouise580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that your collegues enjoyed themselves in Hotel Ibis Gloucester. I look forward to welcoming them back in the future. Kind regards, Nicola Moir Ibis Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A very tidy hotel. The hotel is relatively new and all aspects of the hotel are in keeping with the age. Our expectations were met and we well satisfied with our short stay. Staff were very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PukekoheBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolamoir, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel ibis Gloucester and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nicola Moir General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
358 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Gloucester

Property: Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Address: Corinium Ave Saw Mills End, Gloucester GL4 3DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Green Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#5 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Gloucester hotel is a budget hotel located just outside Gloucester City Centre.Book the hotel for easy access to the M5 motorway, Cheltenham, Barnwood and Barnett Way Business Area. The 127 modern guest rooms all have FREE WIFI, climate control, hairdryers,Broadband internet and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast or a meal at the Café restaurant, or a nightcap in the friendly bar. There is free car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibis Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing