We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BAMJB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne G, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a modern style hotel in the Ibis mold. First location, it is situated about 5 minutes by taxi from the station on the outskirts of the city. For those driving, it is just a few minutes from the M5 junction 11A or the Cirencester/Swindon road. The hotel is just off the dual carriage way into the city near a roundabout and in a quiet side street opposite the coroner's court. It has a large car park. It is on the edge of the Barnwood industrial estate.

The room was designed with a Scandinavian design and well equipped; with a comfortable bed, a "pod" style wet room/shower room with hair dryer, kettle with tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, free internet and a good number of power sockets. The room was well cleaned and maintained, the hotel looking almost new throughout. The internet was easy to connect to without any codes just enter your name and your own email address. The speed was adequate for reading email and accessing the web, I even used a company vpn to access my home organization without any unreasonable speed issues.

The hotel is a few minutes from a petrol station and a few shops, a supermarket is 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive away, and there are some restaurants a few minutes drive into the city. The hotel has a good bar and restaurant for evening meals and breakfast. The menu was reasonable with a nice selection and the food was well cooked. The breakfast was based upon a hot and cold buffet that was well stocked and continuously maintained.

The hotel is only 10 minute walk from the EdF headquarters at Barnwood or 5 minutes drive. The walk is on good paths the full way. First head out of the hotel car park to the little cul-de-sac opposite (Wellingtonia Gardens), keep to the right hand side and take the walkway through to Barnwood road. This cut thought is not yet on the maps and saves you two minutes walking to the roundabout and around the petrol station. Then turn left away from the roundabout and petrol station. Walik for about 5 minutes crossing a few minor road entrances past the church of the latter day saints until you read Weaveland lane (signed posted as a walk and cycleway to the Barnwood trading estate). A short walk up this lane takes you to a pedestrian and cycle path through to Barnett Way (and Sainsbury's), however a short distance along the path there is a open gate way on the right hand side that takes you to the EdF car park after weaving around a small building. The gateway is marked with a little sign declaring the little path and area beyond to be EdF property.

Overall nice, well equipped, cheap and convenient. Good for the business traveller arriving by car or train.

Room Tip: My room looked over the small lane at the back of the hotel and was very quiet, this may be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Robert,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay here with us at Ibis Gloucester. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found it very convenient for you.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne G, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were at a wedding in Gloucester and wanted somewhere clean and inexpensive to stay... this was perfect. It was not far to walk and easy to check in at midnight. The room and whole hotel was very clean and new, the staff were helpful and smiley.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaDGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Amanda,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to ibis Gloucester and I hope you had a good time at the wedding. I do hope we will have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Plenty of free parking. Friendly efficient Check In by Rhys, the room was spotless. We slept well and I would stay here again.

Disappointments were that the Wi-Fi did not work in the evening (maybe everyone else was watching porn as it did work the next morning),then in the morning the TV did not work when it had been working the night before (maybe everyone else was watching breakfast TV).

Its a bit of a distance from the town centre and there is not much within walking distance of the hotel. I would think twice before staying here without a car.

Room Tip: Others have mentioned asking for a room facing away from the road. Our room was actually facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay here with us at Ibis Gloucester. We have taken note of your comments regarding the wifi and television which we are addressing and addressed.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

What would you expect for less than £25 ? Well you would be surprised when at the Hotel Ibis Gloucester you had one night in a modern clean, comfortable ,quiet, good sized double room. With an en suite bathroom , tea & coffee making facilities ,great free parking, very pleasant staff, & free wifi . You even get a great view over the Cotswolds . This room was booked for last Sunday at the last minute through booking.com

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william21Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear William,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments regarding your recent stay here with us at ibis Gloucester.I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Convenient, comfortable, quiet enough, soulless. It's what you expect from an Ibis. Shame there is nowhere decent to eat nearby - at least a mile to get anywhere other than hotel bar or Sainsburys. Pizza Hut anyone?!.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank GDWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisGloucester, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your commenets about your recent stay with us here at ibis Gloucester.I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I do hope you will you return in the future and hope you will have a better experience.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
660 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.5 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Gloucester

Address: Corinium Ave Saw Mills End, Gloucester GL4 3DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Green Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#5 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £34 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Gloucester hotel is a budget hotel located just outside Gloucester City Centre.Book the hotel for easy access to the M5 motorway, Cheltenham, Barnwood and Barnett Way Business Area. The 127 modern guest rooms all have FREE WIFI, climate control, hairdryers,Broadband internet and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast or a meal at the Café restaurant, or a nightcap in the friendly bar. There is free car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibis Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing