We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Fantastic food in Gloucester!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiger's Eye

Tiger's Eye
Ranked #56 of 321 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar, British, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The menu fuses rare treats such as Sushi and Dim Sum, noodles and the legendary Black Rock Grill. From prawns to tender fillets of steak to delicious halloumi, enliven your taste buds!
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic food in Gloucester!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just as we were complaining about there being a lack of non chain pubs etc... to eat in Gloucester we found the Tiger's Eye.
Couldn't chose between the lemon and sesame chicken with ramen noodles or steak on 'the rocks.' Decided upon the chicken as on a diet! Wow we were in for a treat it was absolutely delicious, freshly cooked, flavoursome and filling.
The staff were extremely friendly (lunchtime on 3-2-2012). We viewed the Evening menu (looksdelicious!)and will be back then too as well as for more lunchtime meals.

Cannot recommend enough, this is JUST what Gloucester NEEDS!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cath_h81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    49
    18
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Glos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Best food I've had out in a long while in Gloucester. Both myself and partner ordered the "black rock" with a selection of different meats/fish to cook on it, these being fillet beef, kangaroo and tuna. All three very fresh and delicious as you can cook it just how you want, accompanied by pan fried potatos and salad.
Delicious food and great service.
Also has a lovely bar to have a few drinks before or after your meal, not full of some of your 'usual' gloucester type people. Lovely night, will def be going again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loopy_loo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Cooking your own food may sound of putting but it was far from it. The food was tasty and delicious.
Lovely atmosphere in a quaint room with a few tables would recommend booking and arriving a little earlier than your reservation time because it is popular.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amelia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a find - fantastic evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Quite a late decision to go out for dinner and didn't really fancy a 'chain restaurant' which doesn't really leave a lot of choice in Gloucester!

Not really knowing what to expect we started with a drink at the bar where they have a fantastic selection of drinks and my wife had a mojito ( the best she has ever had apparently). There was a very pleasant atmosphere in the bar and the staff were friendly and allowed us to take our time before taking us through to the restaurant.

This is where the evening becomes a little different as we ordered our food from a very balanced menu with quite a strong Asain theme. We both chose steak ( 1 fillet and 1 sirloin) and we both chose the 'black rock' option - so our food came in a couple of minutes on a stunningly hot black rock and we basically cooked our raw steaks ourselves - being quite a fussy steak eater and never having real confidence in getting my steak cooked exactly how I like it this was brilliant. The steaks came with a side of chips and a very well dressed salad in a separate compartment from the hot stone. Really good theatre and I can't wait to go back and have one of the mixed items were you can have various dishes eg steak, chicken, kangaroo, scallops as a combined dish again cooking them yourselves on the black rock.

Wine list was very appropriate for the menu and not too pricey, and the cheesecake was stunning.

Overall bill was under £60 for two of us which I thought was very reasonable.

If you fancy something different then give it a go - it is good fun and very tasty.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank berniedog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious Food, Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was my second visit to Tigers Eye, and overall it was a great experience!! It is something you would not experience in many other restaurants, as you have the opportunity to cook your own food on a "Hot Rock" (Volcanic Rock heated up to 450 degrees C!!)
The food was fresh and delicious, and the service was impeccible. I would recommend the Kangaroo and the Tuna. Also had the Raspberry Creme Brulee which was divine!!
The only disappointment about this restaurant is the location, and the smell. Its a shame that when you walk in, the restaurant neither smells nice (smelt very fishy) or looks nice. HOWEVER THIS SAID... do not let this put you off!!!! The food really is gorgeous, and once you are sat down and enjoying your meal, you don't even think about these other things. It's purely a suggestion to the restaurant, as many people would be put off. Such a shame it's not in a better location, as the restaurant would really benefit from being seperate from the pub.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiger's Eye also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Tiger's Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing