We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rename this entry "The Inn at Redmarley" to avoid confusion with it's previous reputation as the Rose & Crown!”
Review of Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose and Crown
Ranked #8 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spoilt for choice now! With the Duke of York at nearby Berrow run by the same team we have gone from having no decent pubs in the area in 2011 to 2 very good ones in 2014. Long may it last. As with anything starting anew there's been a few gltiches as reflected in other's reviews. We've eaten at the Inn twice since it reopened with the new team, the first the very day they started the lunchtime service when they produced an amazing sea food salad, and more recently we tried their 'tried & tested' (from the Duke of York's) standard menu. Again very nice. Our only comment that like the brother at The Duke, they should offer more variety / interest for us non-meat eaters!!
We wish the teams in both places continued success in raising the general culinary standard of the area!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Now the Inn at Redmarley, this pub has been recently refurbished and taken over by new owners. Having heard a few good things about it recently we thought it was worth a visit. We were very pleasantly surprised as to how good it was. The menu is really good (maybe a few too many things to chose from) and the food is great. We had scallops in pancetta with samphire to start which was delicious! The wine list is also pretty good with a nice range of wines for different budgets. The decor is lovely and everything looks nice and clean including the WCs.
There was a really nice atmosphere and the staff were very attentive and polite.
We will definitely go again - thanks for a great night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLSGL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

7 of us called in last Saturday (3rd May) for a meal. Although fully booked, Lizzie went out of her way to set up a table in their function room, which as it turned out was even better than if we had been sat in the main restaurant. The food was excellent, being well prepared using very good quality meat and vegetables. We were well looked after by the very friendly members of staff. The atmosphere was vibrant caused by the number of diners and by Lizzie and her team who were whizzing around keeping everyone happy! ! We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As somebody else has recently stated, ignore past comments when this was the Rose & Crown!
Thankfully we now have a Pub & Restaurant that the village and surrounding towns can be extremely proud of. The food is of the highest standard and the staff can not be more accommodating. Lizzie is the ultimate professional and is running the place like clockwork, the comment from "WiltshireLuxury" is most certainly not the norm and I can only assume that a communication breakdown took place.
support it its first class!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After reading reviews about this establishment changing hands several times we were sceptical however after moving to a nearby village we wanted to try it out.
Hubby decided to treat us all to lunch so we headed out to try The Inn. On arrival we were greeted pleasantly, the bar was quiet but it was a bank holiday so that was fine. The lunch menu choices were....ok... but there wasn't loads to choose from so we ordered the goats cheese salad and the beef and ale pie. My goats cheese salad was nice however my husbands pie was dry with very little flavour in fact you would be hard pushed to know it was beef! The chips were undercooked which was dissapointing and everyone seems to love a good cooked chip in a pub. We weren't asked if the food was to our liking so didn't really get the opportunity to speak up so hence the review. All in all I will wait a while before visiting again. Sorry!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We've supported the Inn since it opened a month ago eating there at least 6 times. Last night we went before 9 (when the kitchens should close), there were empty tables (a first since it reopened) and we're told by the manageress the kitchen had just closed. No acknowledgement that we have spent a small fortune in there since it reopened or any customer service she could have said 'it will be a long wait for a meal is that ok?' The waitress we normally have was very apologetic.
Needless to say we left and will not be returning!
We will be going back to Myle's other pub the Duke of York, which is run by his highly accommodating brother!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank WiltshireLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This local pub has changed hands on numerous occasions in the 15 years we have lived in the area. Hence we have never eaten there before! Having heard that it had recently changed hands again and was very busy, we decided to give it a go. We weren't disappointed!
The bar was busy on arrival, We were greeted well by the staff and our table soon became available.
Good choice of drinks; however, limited wine list and some wines were out of stock.
Good choice of main courses, but limited choice of starters.
We all enjoyed our food, which was tasty and hot.
Pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff.
Good value. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ledbury10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
10 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,192 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
894 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
875 reviews
9.2 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
391 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Wharf House
The Wharf House
#2 of 22 in Gloucester
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Address: Playley Green | Redmarley D'Abitot, Gloucester GL19 3NB, England (Formerly The Inn at Redmarley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: £44 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Redmarley is a charming Country Inn with offering ensuite accommodation, serving great home cooked food, real ales and fine wines..an ideal venue for all occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing