We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything as required - will stay again.”
Review of Brookthorpe Lodge

Brookthorpe Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brookthorpe Lodge
Ranked #7 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything as required - will stay again.”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here for an overnight stop whilst working. Had everything I needed and was very clean. The owner was very accommodating. Yes the en-suite is one of those inserted pods in the corner of the room (like a caravan bathroom) but it was very clean and functional and it’s much better than wandering down the corridor to a separate bathroom in my opinion. Great Wifi in my room (Front 1st floor). Good value when booking direct as a lovely full breakfast was included. I will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    14
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
12
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Easy to find location and given warm welcome. Family room very good with double and nice bunk. Good tea/coffee and choc drinks. Excellent breakfast - just right size - and overall all we could ask for.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnBBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We (family of 4 with 2 lads, 10 & 12) stayed here as a stopover en route to Devon, and as a last-min booking I wasn't too sure what to expect - suffice to say we were very pleased. The family room was nice and spacious with v comfy beds; yes it is on the top floor, but to me that's a plus - no footsteps above us! As regards previous reviews highlighting the room fronting on to the main road, yes it does but with the window closed this is not a problem. Actually, the fact that it is just off the road makes for an easy find when arriving!

I found Robert to be a very personable host for whom nothing was too much trouble - taking care and time to chat with our two boys - and I can't praise the breakfast highly enough!

As an aside, Fagins pub (about 10 mins walk) was great for dinner - lovely decor, great food and cracking service.

In summary, if you are looking for a nice base for a Cotswolds trip I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Brookthorpe Lodge - thanks Robert!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nacci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Beautiful surroundings, excellent hospitality and a very tasty breakfast with not a drop of grease in sight...
This place was lovely and the owner friendly and caring.
We stayed two nights and our rooms where cleaned in between, not necessary but added to overall rating.
The breakfast was fantastic, with a choice that catered for all.
Definitely stay here if you are paying a visit near by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sla66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My significant other booked this venue for a two nights stay in the June of this year (2012) at my instigation for a trip to Gloucester and the surrounding places of interest. The building itself is a white colored building rendered in the style of the Georgian period, easy enough to spot, situated in what I believe a charming little village know as Brookthorpe, the hotel care park is a stone based affair with enough room for the guests of the hotel, dependent of course with how big your vehicle is but no problems should arise even so. There is also a small garden space next to the car park which can be enjoyed by the guests at their leisure, upon reaching the front door we were confronted with an old fashioned pull bell to arouse attention and despite being 30mins before allocated check-in we were still sorted out quickly and efficiently and in a friendly manner by Mr Robert Bailey.

The hotel interior is more white, with rather intriguing patterns of wallpaper in places in such a manner that it adds to the whole decor, I also noticed many pictures and the odd sculpture in places which even more added to the whole georgian experience. Mr Bailey himself turned out to be a well-dressed man in his late 40's to early 50's who was very friendly and engaging with his guests (I also detected a rather Berkshire accent to him which I found unusual but interesting nevertheless), indeed exceptionally so, he would often recommend places to go, see and eat and had a variety of maps and literature of the local area and attractions.

Upon checking in we checked into our room, ours was the double ensuite located opposite from the owner's room and upon the first floor, our room was very clean and tidy and a small kettle and tea, coffee and hot chocolate had been provided (and was refilled each day), the bed was comfortable and moderate in temperature to add to the overall comfort, to each side of the bed were white georgian nightstands each with their own reading lamp, the room also hosted a desk with chair, a glass coffee table with 2 chairs and a wardrobe. Not forgetting of course the en-suite, having read previous review's I knew to expect a small space and indeed raised this prior review with Mr Bailey who offered to put us in a bigger room, but having know what to expect we found it adequate enough for the functions it serves, One hardly expects a room fit for a king with one's own wiper when using an en-suite bathroom! Still roomy enough to get around in, and it's cosyness and simplicity made me wish to inquire with whom the work was done (I want one for myself) but alas i didn't raise this with Mr Bailey at the time. We were situated over-looking the main road which contrary to thought was in fact quite quiet, most likely owing to the rural village location and double glazed windows.

Breakfast was everything one would expect, the traditional breakfast is served with the option of extra's or to take certain items off the dish which I found interesting, there is a help yourself table upon which is situated milk, orange juice and a variety of cereals. I even noticed Mr Bailey retrieve a chair and heat up special formula milk for the child of a German couple who were staying at the same time as us so service is excellent and the facilitation of individual needs seems to be paramount here which I found most agreeable.

Facilities nearby include nearby shops just a 10min car journey down the road consisting of as of June 2012, 2 take-aways, A co-op store, a convenience store with none charging ATM and I believe a fruit shop. In the other direction of the main road of similar distance is a pub known as Fagin's which serves food throughout the day with reasonable priced drinks with a pint of Foster's at £2.30 when I visited. Indeed the rooms do have a guide as to the local facilities but was last updated in 2008 as far as I could find, so a few places have changed name and facilities.

The hotel is perfectly situation between both Gloucester and Stroud making it excellent if you get bored of one rather quickly, it is also not too far away from Cheltenham as well so there is plenty for a visitor to be interested in.

Overall an excellent experience, will visit again If we are ever down that way again.

- Mr M Barr

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

lovely place,excellent food and a very warm welcome,outstanding value too!! Couldn't of asked for more,would definitely look forward to staying again...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Good breakfast and very clean nice place to stay good location for touring Glos
Would recommend it and the proprietor was very helpfull

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,102 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,558 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookthorpe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookthorpe Lodge

Property: Brookthorpe Lodge
Address: Brookthorpe Lodge Stroud Road, Gloucester GL4 0UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookthorpe Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B guest house in Cotswold countryside less than 10 minutes from Gloucester.Excellent location for tourists and business guests with easy access to all local attractions and business parks.Traditional freshly cooked English breakfast with plenty of choice, comfortable en-suite accommodation with countryside views, private secure parking and free Wi Fi internet access.Pub/restaurant nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brookthorpe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookthorpe Lodge Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing