We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, quaint Cotswolds B&B”
Review of Brookthorpe Lodge

Brookthorpe Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brookthorpe Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We felt very welcome by the owner, Robert, right from the start. Location is good if you want to be in a secluded area, which was great for us. Robert was very helpful in informing us of things to do and gave us the right amount of space for us to settle in. Good old full english breakfast and quaint room. Only improvement would be to re-furb the bathroom as was quite small.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Even though it isn't the prettiest perhaps, (compared with the many lovely looking places in this area) it is scrupulously clean, comfortable, warm and friendly. Nice food. Good location.So, good value!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We would highly recommend this Guest House. The owner was very friendly and accommodating, The room was spotless and the breakfast superb! We stayed over with our young son and stayed in the family room. The beds were comfortable - the ensuite shower room a little snug but perfectly adequate. We highly recommend a stay here. Lee & Garry Shortt

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our second visit to Brookthorpe.Well located for our Cotswolds tour, the accomodation was excellent value. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was superb- no skimping and Robert was an excellent host - helpful and good humoured. It is well positioned for Painswick, Cranham, Stroud and Gloucester -ideal for our needs. Would thoroughly recommend Brookthgorpe Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrygbrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have recently returned from a three day break here which was thoroughly enjoyed. We were welcomed by Robert who was most helpful throughout our stay and gave us all the information required to explore the area. The room was most comfortable and very clean and the breakfasts excellent. Would recommend Brookthorpe Lodge to everyone. Hilary and Reg

Room Tip: We chose the room facing the road and we were unaware of any traffic at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballet267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here for an overnight stop whilst working. Had everything I needed and was very clean. The owner was very accommodating. Yes the en-suite is one of those inserted pods in the corner of the room (like a caravan bathroom) but it was very clean and functional and it’s much better than wandering down the corridor to a separate bathroom in my opinion. Great Wifi in my room (Front 1st floor). Good value when booking direct as a lovely full breakfast was included. I will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Easy to find location and given warm welcome. Family room very good with double and nice bunk. Good tea/coffee and choc drinks. Excellent breakfast - just right size - and overall all we could ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BnBBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,173 reviews
2.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
865 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
3.0 mi away
The Wharf House
The Wharf House
#2 of 22 in Gloucester
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookthorpe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookthorpe Lodge

Address: Brookthorpe Lodge Stroud Road, Gloucester GL4 0UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: £75 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookthorpe Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B guest house in Cotswold countryside less than 10 minutes from Gloucester.Excellent location for tourists and business guests with easy access to all local attractions and business parks.Traditional freshly cooked English breakfast with plenty of choice, comfortable en-suite accommodation with countryside views, private secure parking and free Wi Fi internet access.Pub/restaurant nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brookthorpe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookthorpe Lodge Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing