We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't think the place could get better but it did”

Warehouse Climbing Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 Fun & Games in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside our transformed Victorian warehouse in Gloucester city centre, just a few minutes from the docks, and you'll discover an impressive indoor climbing and caving venue with something for everyone - young and old, climbing novice and veteran. We have a range of climbing walls (up to 11 metres), a Bouldering floor, artifical Caving system, innovative DigiWall, dedicated Kids' Zone, Party rooms, Meeting rooms, and fab Café-Bar - all with friendly staff to keep you safe, providing expert tuition and careful supervision. Whatever brings you to The Warehouse, we look forward to welcoming you!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I didn't think the place could get better but it did”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The warehouse has always been good for an indoor climbing venue and has maintained it's UK reputation by getting even better. Great no matter what your age and has a bar for after your climbs to chill (or a few whilst the kids have a go)

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    5
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to climb”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I learned to climb recently at The Warehouse - the instructors were friendly, took their job seriously and made sure we all enjoyed the course. Four sessions later I am a competent climber and the world (or at least the walls of the The Warehouse) are my oyster. I climb about once a week now, and whenever I go in, one of the instructors is about, always stopping to say hello and giving helpful advice. So pleased I learned to climb! I think the staff's excellent effort to make climbers feel welcome and comfortable really helps to make the experience so good. Health and safety is taken very seriously and it's a safe, fun place to climb. The cafe is nice too - good food at reasonable prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kasstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent for parties!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Makes a pleasant change from sitting in a village hall for a few hours, keeps the kids busy and maybe they pick up a new interest.

Have been several times, including for a party for one of our children and always come away impressed. They take care of everything for the duration, which is a relief as the staff are invariably more full of humour than a stressed parent. Staff have always been very energetic, friendly and helpful - they engage with the children brilliantly and leave a lasting impression. The location is pretty interesting (great use of the building) and whether they're into climbing or not there are enough varied activities (ok, all pretty much climbing themed) to keep the kids going. The electronic activity wall is great for both younger children (it's not too daunting) and older (great competitive games to play) ... and even adults.

Food provided at the parties isn't very varied, but it's a nice bonus frankly.

Haven't experienced lessons or other activities, but would recomend the place in general after several very good experiences.

The cafe is pretty good too - very reasonably priced!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Defect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A safe but challenging activity for the holidays”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our first visit to the Warehouse went very well.Easy to find & parking nearby. An imaginative conversion of a 4 storey warehouse! The facilities both in terms of equipment and hospitality are excellent. Top marks for cleanliness! The staff team appear relaxed and professional & in control of all the children we saw. We were impressed with the toddler & pre-schoolers (Mini-Mice!) with a nice balance between controlled activity to just playing as at any other toddler group!
The Rock Mice (a group of about a dozen 5 - 10 yr olds) had a cleverly thought-out series of introductory games on a mini-wall. They were later introduced to a much bigger wall where they used climbing harnesses & the auto-belay system (which allowed them to climb freely & if they let go at any point simply drift back to the ground again!). We did n't see it all as Sophie our grandaughter sent us away to the coffee shop (we were the only adults hanging around!). The session started at 1000 & finished at 1130. We may well try the more advanced group next time with both older grandchildren- the Rock Rats (7-14 yrs) where they are on much bigger walls & learning knots & basic techniques, we understand. We'd bring the 3 year old to the Mini Mice. Terrific value for £7! We had a particularly talented instructor (Emily) - firm, fair & friendly with a natural command of training techniques. Well done to all - other children's activities could learn a thing or two from these people!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank phillipofmalmesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to go ”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Me, my partner and brother went for a taster session today and had a brilliant time, the staff where friendly and the instructor we had was really professional and made it an enjoyable experience for all of us. Will defiantly be going again.

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warehouse Climbing Centre also viewed

 

Been to Warehouse Climbing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing