We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and friendly people”
Review of The White Hart Inn

The White Hart Inn
Ranked #30 of 322 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Nepalese, Indian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly people”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at the white hart for a few years and when it changed hands to a Gurkha pub the food and service got better and better. It's a friendly country pub with Nepalese food that's wonderful and the staff are efficient and friendly too. Would recommend to anyone at anytime.

Helpful?
1 Thank Catlady24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    22
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really great!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Myself and a friend decided very last minute to try this Nepalese curry house for the first time last night. We are so glad we did. Very quick service with a smile, which you don't always get these days. The food came out very quick and tasted great, really fresh and full of flavour.
Would I go back again? GOD YES
So impressed that as a member of Gloucester Curry Club vie put it forward for a visit. http://www.gloucestercurryclubonline.co.uk/

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you love curry - you have to try this place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our first visit and we were not disappointed. This Gurhka owned pub has an amazing Nepalese menu in the evening. Wonderfully friendly staff, excellent menu choice, generous portions and the flavours are just outstanding. It really was one of the best curry's we have ever had. I was hesitant to review as the place will just get busier and we might not get in, however it would be wrong not to give everyone the chance to experience such delights. Give the place a try, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We wanted a meal close to Hartpury College as we were there for the weekend. The White Hart looked like a traditional village pub so we booked! What a surprise we had to find the evening menu was Nepalese/Gurkha food! But having got over our initial surprise were delighted to find it was delicious and was served by friendly attentative staff despite it being an incredibly busy Saturday evening! Well done to the owners for giving the traditional British pub a shake up!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great good British pub food”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for Sunday lunch we hadn't booked but it was all ok wasn't busy so service was quick.
I was apprehensive as there wasn't many people there!
But I needn't off been the food was very good piping hot excellently cooked veg (not over done) and plenty of it the traditional Sunday roast had plenty of good quality meat.
The vegetarian lasagna was the best I've had for a long time eating out !!
Well done we will be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart Inn also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Ashleworth, Gloucester
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing