We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good All Rounder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good All Rounder”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I regularly stay at this hotel and would have to say it's one of the better ones, very clean, fairly modern, quiet with really excellent facilities. Staff have always been very friendly and attentive and I really can't fault any one of them. The food is very good and they rotate the menu fairly regularly.

I stay with work and think it's great for that, it's not the kind of place I would bring my missus on a special weekend and there's very little near the hotel other than offices.

If I had to suggest improvements (and these will be little things that have grown to bug me as I stay so much), turn down the lighting in the bar, it's like a car showroom.
Allow the meal vouchers to be used in the bar area, it's a little silly just allowing them in the restaurant.
Stop the 10p/min booking line with long messages that aren't needed, such blatant money grabbing doesn't impress your customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scs3drg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    269
    152
    50
    21
See reviews for
163
238
27
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The hotel is not particulary close to town so would suggest having a car if you stay here and want to get out and about. It's near a roundabout on an A road but we didn't experience any traffic noise. Room was small and could have done with updating but adequate and very clean. The hotel has a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all of which were working and clean, didn't use the gym so can't comment. There is also a beauty salon where treatments are available. Breakfast was a buffet with a full choice of everything you could want, the food was very good and kept restocked. The only downside for us was the Sunday morning after a wedding when the hotel was very busy for breakfast, this seemed the throw the breakfast service into chaos. Tables were not cleared and tea/coffee orders had to be chased up, this was not what we had experienced on the other mornings. All in all, a nice hotel if you can get it for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunsttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Arrived at the holiday inn with some trepidation after staying 15 years ago when we were met with indifferent front of house saff to the point of surlyness. This time we entred a bright clean and sparkling hotel with very friendly staff and with the room that we had ordered, which was spotlessly clean, what we did like in the room was the sliding panels that cover the windows in stead of curtains. The menu was some what limited and only had a meal on the first night, then it was of to the cross hands for our evening meals. A very good base for traveling to the cotwolds/forest of dean and if you need milk,bread or any other shopping sainsburys is just round the corner

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popeshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were running in the Runner's World Trailblazer Race at the Forest of Dean so chose the Holiday Inn as it was one of the better known brands that was reasonably close.
Check in was very efficient and the gentleman was very well informed about the Hotel and the facilities. The Voucher scheme for Breakfast and Dinner is excellent.
The room was clean and tidy.
There was a Wedding Reception taking place during the evening of our stay but the service in the Restaurant both for the evening meal and for breakfast the following day did not suffer at all. The food was of a high quality.
The Hotel was not in the centre of Town, but it suited us perfectly.
Thank you to the Manager and Staff for making our stay so pleasant.
We would stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnGraham0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Enjoyed a very pleasant break in Gloucester. Hotel is a bit isolated and we took a taxi into the centre which cost £7.50 (£8.50 return!).

Was a little disappointed with the food/menu as there didn't appear to be much of a choice especially as there is no where else locally to eat. Room was clean and tidy and facilities good.

Public areas were kept well apart from the outside terrace which was covered in cigarette butts with ashtrays full and tables not cleared of glasses - a bit of a shame when everyone was enjoying the good weather.

Staff were very friendly and helpful especially Michael in the restaurant!

Would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new castle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2012

we had a nice week end break and it was all good from checkin to the end. the staff were friendly the rooms were done daily. the only negative side to it is if you traveling by publick transport you got to get a taxi from and to town, and the rooms looked a bit tired over the years i guess, but not bad at all. the restaurant aint bad but not glmorous either a good selected menue and the breakfast is allso served there the breakfast was pretty good but the breakfast staff looked tired accept for the old hands. all in all not a bad place.

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank great_puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear great_puppy,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. I hope you enjoyed your visit and are glad to hear you were happy with the hotel accommodations and amenities. Whilst I am pleased with the really good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a well run hotel, the food in very good value and well presented,I noticed that kids eat free although this time I was travelling on business. The bar is ok but shuts as soon as the last customer leaves 10:30 this time, so if you come back for a night cap dont expect it to be open. The rooms are a little tired and small but clean and you get a good nights sleep. The pool and gym is excellent and well equipped for hotel standards.

There is nothing really around so if you wish to eat outside you will need a taxi or drive yourself.

I would rate this hotel is good but due to the price I have rated it as average.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbb0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Address: Crest Way, Gloucester GL4 3RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is conveniently located just off the M5 & only 2 miles from Gloucester's City Centre & 6 miles from Regency Cheltenham. An ideal location for families with our Kids Stay & Eat Free policy*. Visit the revitalized Docks area with its many shops including Gloucester Quays, restaurants & entertainment or the cloisters of Gloucester Cathedral, famous filming location for Harry Potter, or simply enjoy the cafe culture & shopping of Cheltenham. Take full advantage of your relaxing break away at the Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham by using the excellent facilities of our Spirit Health Club & Beauty Therapist. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with all the facilities you would expect from a Holiday Inn including High Speed Internet Access, interactive TV & pay movies. We also have a number of executive rooms for that added touch of luxury & family rooms suitable for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Academy conference & training suites are perfectly suited to your business needs. A total of 9 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of up to 130. The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies & is a great venue for a lavish celebration or an intimate affair. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Hotel Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing