We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spirit Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spirit Spa”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

When is a manicure and a pedicure - not a manicure and pedicure - when it is in Spirit Spa at the Holiday Inn. In fact it is nail painting only.

This was very expensive day out.

Coffee very expensive and lunch takes such a long time to arrive, you are still waiting for your lunch when you should be keeping your appointment for your next treatment

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Trish, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am extremely sorry that you found your spa treatment of a manicure and pedicure not what you expected, I will discuss with the spa team to make it clear to the guest what every treatment includes as we have very different offerings of manicure and pedicures that range from a simple shape and polish to a super luxury treatment. I also am very sorry that you found the day expensive and there was a delay in your lunch.

Thanks again for taking the time to give us some feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    269
    152
    50
    21
See reviews for
162
238
27
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a 2 night break from Friday 28th June and checked out on 30th.
Contrary to a previous review, we found the front of house staff welcoming, friendly, helpful and professional. Scott and Gina are an asset to your team.

The rooms were of a generous size - a standard double here is much bigger than the executive family room at the Portsmouth Holiday Inn.

Breakfast was as expected. Food served at an appropriate temperature and was plentiful.

The Spirit Health Club was clean and again, the staff were friendly and happy to help.

The only area of dissatisfaction was the maid service we received on the Saturday. We had spent the day in Wales and returned at 5.30pm to find our room only half completed - the maid didn't return to complete the job either! We left a note, along with a tip, requesting an extra set of towels as there were 3 of us in the room and some extra soap and shower gel. The tip was taken, but no towels or toiletries were received. This was remedied by the head of housekeeping - who ensured she brought them to us herself.

All in all, a pleasant stay in a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Gemma B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you found my reception team welcoming and friendly and your room to be of a generous size. However, I am extremely sorry you found the maid service unsatisfactory. I can confirm this will be discussed throughout the housekeeping team to make sure this does not happen again, but thank you for making your issue aware to us straight away whilst you was still with us as this meant the head housekeeper could solve this for you promptly and this is something we strive to achieve in the hotel.

Many thanks for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

With a group have just had a few days here. A very quick check-in considering a group. I had a room for a single with a double bed, but pleased it was only for 1, not too roomy, Bathroom well lit, but no centre light in the bedroom so a bit dim, all very clean. Bedroom has iron and board, T & C and fridge air con. Main restaurant quite cool with air con on. Service could have been better with more staff needed when groups are in, as there was more than one group on our stay. One night it was very slow. BF a good choice, service a bit better then. Food OK a bit repetitive for the group. The hotel is on a roundabout near a main road, but not noisy. City centre about 3 miles away. Staff were all very friendly.

Room Tip: Think the back may be quieter, but not much heard from the trafic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy to read that the check in was quick for you and the group, and that you found your room very clean. I am very sorry that you found the service in the restaurant in the evening very slow, but I can assure you this will be looked into in the future when we have groups in to require enough staff to run an efficient service to every one of our guests.

Many thanks and I hope we can see you and your group stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This seems to becoming increasingly popular as it was very busy. Staff were fine though checking in was a little abrupt, but we did arrive at wha seemed like a busy time. Generally the staff were very friendly and certainly helpful. A first floor room would be easier if there was a lift.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear D C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you found our hotel great value for money and my staff were very friendly and helpful. I understand you came at what seemed like a busy time but I hope this didn't affect your stay with us and that the service you got was as efficient as possible, as we do look at the amount of staff we have in at out busiest times of day.

Many thanks and I am glad to see you have stayed with us several times before, I hope we can see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A stop over on the way down south. We booked early, and got a family room for £69 which included bed and breakfast.

We arrived early evening, the staff welcoming and quickly booked in, Room is fairly standard (similar to Premier Inn). Double bed with choice of pillows, sofa bed for children. Bathroom had a few cracked tiles, but was clean and tidy, and I'm not going to knock them down with rating it lower - It was only £69 (that's right £69 - bargain)

We used the pool, sauna and steam room, all very pleasant and better than expected.

We had a good nights sleep and woke fresh in the morning.

Breakfast choice was great, a selection of cooked items (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, beans etc), pancakes, cereal, pastries, fruit juices . . .everything and you help yourself.

We left and was quickly back on the M5 which is a couple of miles away (it's conveniently close, but far enough not to suffer traffic noise at night). There's a Sainsbuy s supermarket nearby if you need to get anything for your journey - like a sandwich or drinks.

Overall extremely please, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Clean, basic Holiday Inn.

Good stop -over hotel but in middle of an Industrial Estate so not pretty location.

Bar food was excellent as was the welcome we received by the Guy on the Front Desk but hotel in general a little tired.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are on ground floor tucked away at the back, overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Kathryn T,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Whilst I am pleased with your compliments regarding our food and staff, I am disappointed that you found our hotel to be tired. Please accept our apologies for any dissatisfaction this has caused you.

Rest assured that your comments will be used to consider future improvements. We all hope that you give us another chance so we can show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risca, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

As a frequent business treveller and an IHG Platinum Ambassador I stay in IHG hotels across the country on a weekly basis.
Unfortunately, I can honestly say this is the least welcoming Holiday Inn that I've used. I've stayed at this hotel twice in the last year and once you get past the 'monochrome' front of house staff the rooms are adequate. The gym is well equipped and it's convenient for Gloucester city centre. Come on management, invest some time in teaching your staff to smile and at least feign interest in how my day's been....

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Duffer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Duffer M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum Elite member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel. However, I am sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Address: Crest Way, Gloucester GL4 3RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is conveniently located just off the M5 & only 2 miles from Gloucester's City Centre & 6 miles from Regency Cheltenham. An ideal location for families with our Kids Stay & Eat Free policy*. Visit the revitalized Docks area with its many shops including Gloucester Quays, restaurants & entertainment or the cloisters of Gloucester Cathedral, famous filming location for Harry Potter, or simply enjoy the cafe culture & shopping of Cheltenham. Take full advantage of your relaxing break away at the Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham by using the excellent facilities of our Spirit Health Club & Beauty Therapist. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with all the facilities you would expect from a Holiday Inn including High Speed Internet Access, interactive TV & pay movies. We also have a number of executive rooms for that added touch of luxury & family rooms suitable for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Academy conference & training suites are perfectly suited to your business needs. A total of 9 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of up to 130. The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies & is a great venue for a lavish celebration or an intimate affair. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Hotel Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing