We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well average - lovely staff - noisy environment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by the receptionist pointing out that our rate didn't include breakfast (a suprise to me as this wasn't made clear on the booking site or on the confirmation I produced). The room rate wasn't that cheap either! Luckily she called the night manager who saw it from our angle and included the breakfasts. Good on you guys!
The room was somewhat unusually laid out - maybe because we'd booked for three adults - all the furniture was up against the walls with a bit space in the middle. The bar is a bit small and on that evening a bit noisy but a good nights sleep was had until 7 a.m. when the noise from the corridor was such that I wondered if the door had been left open. Unfortunately every guest that was going for breakfast or leaving appeared to have a loud conversation outside our room. Not what you need on a Sunday morning! The icing on the cake was when a member of staff held a phone conversation at full pelt outside our 'not to be disturbed' room. That said - its the building design thats at fault.
Pool was good - Breakfast was excellent and service was friendly and quick. But - we won't be returning until you get some sound proofing and you're pricing is clearer.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms around 110 - 119 as everyone uses that corridor in the morning for their loud c...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear MisterBrian,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the breakfast served during your stay. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed the night whilst visiting friends. Very neat and tidy from the outside, and a red carpet greeted us on our arrival, (wasnt expecting that). When we checked in everyone was friendly and helpful, thats when we were told there was a wedding reception that evening, and the carpet was for the Bride and Groom and Guests, quite dissapointed it wasn't for us. We were then told the room wasn't quite ready as the shower curtain had to be changed, housekeeping were busy with rooms for the wedding party, so the deputy manager fitted the shower curtain to save us waiting. The room was very adequate, but lack of fridge was a bit of a letdown. Beds were comfortable and whatever we requested was greeted and completed with a smile

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billgree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you felt 'Nothing was too much trouble' as we do like to make our guests feel at ease and comfortable. I am glad you found your bed comfortable and room adequate, I am sorry that you didn't have a mini fridge in your room as we do have rooms with fridges available. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The staff at the front desk were very nice and accommodating. There is a free on-site fitness center which is good for a workout (cardio or weights or classes) when you are on business or vacation. This I liked very much. The rooms are a bit average in look and feel and could use a refresh - especially the bathrooms. It wasn't dirty or anything like that.

The thing that bothered me was that they expected you to pay a lot 30GBP for 3 days for WIFI - highway robbery - as it wasn't the fastest connection I'd ever experienced. I understand they will do away with this in 2014, but that's too little to late for me - who pays for WIFI anymore? Especially if you are travelling for business, it is a job requirement that you can connect each morning/evening just to do your work/email. I did try the two "public" computers in the lobby but one was not operational and the other one wanted me to pay. Not sure if the Ibis (close by) has free WIFI but it is worth a check.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pellaz-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Pellaz-CA,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

AS a regular of Holiday Inn's I wasn't expecting anything any different from the normal good standard I'd expect from the brand. However I was pleasantly surprised at the Holiday Inn Gloucester. Staff were very helpful with a smile everywhere you went. Anything we needed was provided with a friendly face from check-in to check out. I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for writing such a positive review and that you found our hotel to be above your expectations. I am glad you was greeted with a smile by the staff everywhere in the hotel and thank you for your recommendation of the hotel. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Great service! Staff were wonderful! Met some very nice people. Hotel is modern but could use some good repairs and painting in the rooms. Shower needed minor repairing. Location is easy access to the country side. Air conditioning yeah! Surprised there was no mini frig. Not up to American standards but good for Europe.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapeterson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found the staff to be wonderful and offer a great service. We are ongoing with repairs and painting within the rooms and I will make my maintenance team aware of your feedback. In the majority of rooms we do offer a mini fridge I am sorry you didn't have one in your room. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights with family for a leisure break. Room usual high standard - clean and modern. Leisure facilities modern and up to date, same for restaurant and bar. Ideal base for a family break in the Gloucester/Cheltenham area. No complaints. Exactly what a Holiday Inn should be.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Blueywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you very much for such a positive review. I am glad you found the hotel clean and modern and your room of a high standard. Your comment of 'Exactly what a Holiday Inn should be' has gave me a great sense of achievement. We hope we can welcome you back soon for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice check in experience. Being a gold member got an upgrade. Nice large clean room. Must say that the bed wasn't that great though it was one of ones where you both end up in the middle!! Bar area was excellent with lots of comfortable seating. Bar staff were very pleasant. Bar menue good too. Recommend the fish and chips! Breakfast was pretty good with the usual foods. Very nice staff serving us. Liked it so much staying there again in two weeks!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments. I am glad you was recognised as a gold member and received an upgrade, we do this where we can and you found the room large. I am sorry you didn't find the bed to be great, we are currently in the process of changing our mattresses so hopefully when you stay with us in 2 weeks time you experience one of our new mattresses. I am pleased to hear you found the food and service very nice. We loom forward to welcoming you back again in 2 weeks time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,627 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham

Address: Crest Way, Gloucester GL4 3RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £58 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is conveniently located just off the M5 & only 2 miles from Gloucester's City Centre & 6 miles from Regency Cheltenham. An ideal location for families with our Kids Stay & Eat Free policy*. Visit the revitalized Docks area with its many shops including Gloucester Quays, restaurants & entertainment or the cloisters of Gloucester Cathedral, famous filming location for Harry Potter, or simply enjoy the cafe culture & shopping of Cheltenham. Take full advantage of your relaxing break away at the Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham by using the excellent facilities of our Spirit Health Club & Beauty Therapist. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with all the facilities you would expect from a Holiday Inn including High Speed Internet Access, interactive TV & pay movies. We also have a number of executive rooms for that added touch of luxury & family rooms suitable for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Academy conference & training suites are perfectly suited to your business needs. A total of 9 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of up to 130. The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies & is a great venue for a lavish celebration or an intimate affair. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Hotel Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing