We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Holiday Inn has got to be one of the best in the country!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here many times and keep coming back for more! We love everything about this Holiday Inn! The check-in staff are always so cheerful and efficient. This time we were checked in by a very charming Asian gentleman( so sorry I didn't note your name). He saw that we were Platinum guests and gave us an upgrade( room 153) which was very nice of him. Thank you!

Couldn't fault a single thing about the spotless and comfortable room/bathroom.

We used the bar for drinks and a snack. We were served by Matt and Zara who were brilliant. The service there has always been excellent as was the food.

Breakfast the following morning is a treat I must say, I really look forward to it especially the fantastic scrambled eggs.....even better than my Mums! All the staff serving there are superb, you never have to wait for your coffee to be topped up, they seem to be there just when you need it! The service in the restaurant is brilliant and this has never changed. Really sorry that we missed Paula though!( She really cheers you up so much in the morning!)

I must say a huge thank you to your house keeping as this morning my wife remembered that she has left a ring in the bathroom. So I called the hotel and spoke to Emily at reception to see if it had been handed in and of course it had. Emily very kindly said that she would post it on to us. So a big thank you to you too! Mr Lowe please pass on our thanks to your outstanding staff. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: They are all good and so clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Phil1957, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It was a delight to see the title of your review with the words 'best Holiday Inn in the country' I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you keep coming back for more! I believe the Gentleman that checked you in was Ali so I will pass this special mention on to him. I am glad you couldn't fault a thing! We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for one night. Room was very clean and we'll equipped. Had room service for a continental breakfast which was very nice, with a good choice and generous portions. Bed comfy too. Staff were courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_and_K_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear R_and_K_G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found your stay to be enjoyable and that you found everything as it should be with the clean rooms, nice breakfast and comfy bed, along with our friendly staff.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A great weekend away in a hotel ideally situated for visiting Gloucester and Cheltenham. The hotel has great leisure facilities and both of our rooms were well presented - very clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and friendly giving advice on how to get to places and what to see when you get there. The breakfast was ideal - well prepared and presented, and as importantly very tasty. The staff at breakfast were also very good,attentive, and friendly.

I wIll be looking forward to the free wifi for IHG reward members in the summer because reception was not great for my iphone , probably the locality.

We are already considering a return later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Robert H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found our hotel convenient in visiting both Gloucester and Cheltenham and you fount our leisure club and rooms very well presented and clean. I am glad you are considering a return to us later in the year where you can hopefully enjoy our free wifi to all IHG members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hubby and I normally stay in Travel lodges so this was distinctly up market for us but we got a deal for £38 a night. Well to be honest I was disappointed. I have stayed here quite a few times with an old job in an executive room, this time we got a double and it's a good job we didn't want to swing our cat as we wouldn't have had a chance. The room would have been fine for one but two? No way. No where to put our suitcases and we had to plug the kettle in behind the television which is not ideal. If you were taking advantage of the pool etc then fine. but the full price was £109 and I would be seriously unimpressed with the room had I paid that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kythe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Kythe2, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear that you found your stay with us disappointing with the size of your room and that we missed a chance to rectify this problem. We do have a few different sized rooms and I hope we can welcome you back with a more bigger room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Should have been very good overall rating with excellent swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and gym. Water temperature of pool just right. The staff were very helpful with special mention to our housekeeper Vicky. Breakfast was varied and tasty, and the room a reasonable size. But the hotel's antiquated provision of wifi is extortionate at £5 per hour. Compare this with Premier Inn's £3 per day. This is a serious downside to the overall experience when people expect wifi to be provided at minimum cost. The free computer terminals in the Reception area were a poor alternative being extremely slow and inconvenient. The bathroom also needs a heated towel rail not a defunct radiator.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Richard L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear you found some bad points with your stay such as the wifi cost, this has been reviewed and shall become free for all IHG reward members soon. I am glad you had good points and I will be passing on your special mention to Vicky. I hope we can welcome you back again soon with good points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed just one night, but used the pool and gym - both great facilities. Breakfast was excellent. Stayed with friends and we loved the pancake machine!! The restaurant staff were especially friendly and the food very fresh. Great hotel. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Hannah w, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It has been a joy to read your postive comments. I am glad you was able to use the leisure facilities and that you loved the pancake machine! I hope we can welcome you and your friends back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

fab hotel, ideally located for travel and sight seeing. Super staff in hotel and gym, holiday inn should be proud of their team. Gym getting a little tired but due to be refurbished. Breakfast was hot and plentiful even though it was a busy weekend. Good family room but was slightly cold until they gave us a portable heater. Would stay again for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyinruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Familyinruins, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It has been a delight reading your comments I am glad you found most things how it should be. I am sorry you found your room cold but this was rectified by a heater being placed in your room also our gym is to be refurbished soon. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon hopefully it won't be such a wet weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
354 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
1,686 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham

Address: Crest Way, Gloucester GL4 3RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £60 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is conveniently located just off the M5 & only 2 miles from Gloucester's City Centre & 6 miles from Regency Cheltenham. An ideal location for families with our Kids Stay & Eat Free policy*. Visit the revitalized Docks area with its many shops including Gloucester Quays, restaurants & entertainment or the cloisters of Gloucester Cathedral, famous filming location for Harry Potter, or simply enjoy the cafe culture & shopping of Cheltenham. Take full advantage of your relaxing break away at the Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham by using the excellent facilities of our Spirit Health Club & Beauty Therapist. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with all the facilities you would expect from a Holiday Inn including High Speed Internet Access, interactive TV & pay movies. We also have a number of executive rooms for that added touch of luxury & family rooms suitable for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Academy conference & training suites are perfectly suited to your business needs. A total of 9 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of up to 130. The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies & is a great venue for a lavish celebration or an intimate affair. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Hotel Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing