We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good but........”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and efficient.

Restaurant likewise. Food good.

However, the main reason I booked this Hotel over others was their leisure facilities. But when I tried to book a massage I was told, 'sorry Sir they are on holiday'. ?????????????

This was not notified in advance to my knowledge. I would have not booked this hotel and paid more than their competitors prices.

Not good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am very sorry that you were unable to book a beauty treatment. There are only two team members in beauty so when one is on annual leave, it does restrict the number of treatments we can offer so I apologise about this.
I was however delighted that you felt the food and team were good.
Thank you again for taking the time, it's appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    271
    154
    51
    21
See reviews for
163
240
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently stayed on a Saturday night. Had pre booked so check in easy and lady receptionist very polite and helpful. Rooms clean, good size and we'll equipped, bathroom clean but a little tired.
We had bar meals watching the football, no complaints and reasonably priced.
We had booked breakfast, plenty of choice and unlimited coffee.
The only negative is probably location if looking for a city visit as a taxi would be necessary for a visit to the docks if you propose to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Ask for one closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonahcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor!

I was delighted you felt the hotel was good value if a little distance from the city centre. Thank you also for your positive comments regarding the team and food, I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just stayed Friday & Saturday night with friends on a National Holiday short trip. What a great base for the trip, hotel is spotless, food was great, bar prices a bit inflated, and no free Wi-Fi, but cant really fault it. Staff helpful & friendly. There is a pool and gym if you have time to use it, unfortunately with our schedule we couldn't make use of it.
Can recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbloomfielduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear jbloomfielduk, thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on your recent stay with us through National Holidays. I am delighted you found everything as it should be with friendly staff, great food and the hotel spotless. I am sorry you found the bar prices a bit excessive and from 1st July we have free wifi for all IHG members. I hope we can welcome you back again where you can enjoy the leisure facilities and free wifi if you are an IHG member.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

lovely hotel on the outskirts of the city
attended a meeting and booked a bed and breakfast deal for £66

spacious room, clean and lovely shower. Choice of pillows

food in the meeting was lovely. bar was not over excessive

breakfast the next day was self service and plentiful, choice of cooked breakfast or cereals, specialist breads and spreads

staff very friendly and kind

would definitely revisit

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlandCathJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear KarlandCathJohnson, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your meeting and stay with us and found the rate good with quality not compromised. I am so pleased you found everything as it should and that you would be be re-visiting. We can't wait to welcome you back again.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the holiday inn in Gloucester with my husband.

First thing to say is that the location is perfect, situated on the edge of Gloucester, most of the Cotswold picturesque villages are within half hour drive. Driving being essential, one positive is that this hotel has plenty of parking.

Easily the best thing about our stay was the staff, upon arrival, reception were friendly and very helpful. The staff in the restaurant were also just as great.

Our stay included breakfast and dinner for the duration of our stay, which was great value for money. Their was plenty of choice, and the food was delicious. We send our complements to the chef, every meal was excellent.

Our room was spotless, very clean, the furnishing was a little on the older side but was of good quality. The only negative would be that the room was bit on the smaller side when compared to other holiday inns we have stayed in.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and we look forward to staying with holiday inn again in the future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamthedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Imathedot, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us from our good location, friendly staff, delicious meals and spotless rooms. I am glad you will stay with Holiday Inn again and can hope you stay with us again.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

From the welcoming reception greeting my stay has sadly gone downhill.
Ok.
1st floor room (no lift) is possibly the smallest & tiredest room I have stayed in.
Celebrated pillows disappointing & hardly room to walk down one side of bed.
Restaurant was understaffed & felt I should assist in clearing table - note waitress's polite & friendly.
All in all not the best stay experience so far!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HemelGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Gerry F, thank you for writing some feedback on your stay with us. I am very sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. Unfortunately, a few of our rooms are smaller and older than the rest however, we are due for these to be refurbished early next year. I am also sorry that you felt the restaurant was too busy for the staff. I hope we can welcome you back where a better experience will be had.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I tried to get an 11 day stretch in Cheltenham, but due to scheduling ended up in this Holiday Inn in Gloucester, about 7 miles away. I had a small, but functional room with a queen size bed, desk and fridge (which I didn’t find until nearly the end of my stay it was so well disguised). This is a fully functioning Holiday Inn, with a great spa/work out center, indoor pool, restaurant and bar. I dined most evenings in the bar, trying the various salads and warm entree’s on both the bar and restaurant menu. Everything was tasty and plentiful, with few exceptions. Don’t order the onion rings. They are “industrial.”Do try the flat bread pizza, it was quite tasty. But, most remarkable was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone, with singular exception, greeted me with a smile and asked if there was anything they could do for me. My initial reservation was off by a day, and Ali, at the front desk, helped me straight away and also found my IHG Rewards membership for me. Great staff, I will return.

Room Tip: A "standard" room has two twins beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giant_Stride_SCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Giant_Stride_SCU, thank yuo for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found that we had all the facilities for you and that you was able to enjoy our food in the restaurant and bar. I am very delighted that you found the friendliness of that staff remarkable and that you was greeted with a smile, I will pass on your special mention to Ali who will be pleased. We can't wait to welcome you back.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
792 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Address: Crest Way, Gloucester GL4 3RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is conveniently located just off the M5 & only 2 miles from Gloucester's City Centre & 6 miles from Regency Cheltenham. An ideal location for families with our Kids Stay & Eat Free policy*. Visit the revitalized Docks area with its many shops including Gloucester Quays, restaurants & entertainment or the cloisters of Gloucester Cathedral, famous filming location for Harry Potter, or simply enjoy the cafe culture & shopping of Cheltenham. Take full advantage of your relaxing break away at the Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham by using the excellent facilities of our Spirit Health Club & Beauty Therapist. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with all the facilities you would expect from a Holiday Inn including High Speed Internet Access, interactive TV & pay movies. We also have a number of executive rooms for that added touch of luxury & family rooms suitable for up to 2 adults and 2 children. The Academy conference & training suites are perfectly suited to your business needs. A total of 9 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of up to 130. The Holiday Inn Hotel Gloucester-Cheltenham is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies & is a great venue for a lavish celebration or an intimate affair. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Hotel Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing