We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Gloucester.”
Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One night in Gloucester.”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed one night in june (road trip) Its not a hotel but a very friendly b&b, The staff are nice people, we stayed in a room at the front of the b&b it was clean, with the biggest bed I have seen outside of the usa the free wi fi was a bonus but the bathroom! I can live with it being tiny but the shower had very low water pressure and it took some time to heat up so not ideal, but for one night it was fine. The cooked breakfast was very nice though my partner would have liked more than one sausage (he should have asked for another one, he's a pig:-) The parking at the back is ideal, the walk in to town is less than ten minutes. I would stay again but if it was for more than one night I would need a room with a better shower.
Caution! to anyone of limited mobility, The way this b&b is layed out the are a lot of narrow stairs over several levels so not recommended for them. This caution should be on the wepsite....

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor, the water pressure in the shower will be better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doll00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    162
    55
    21
    7
See reviews for
52
165
32
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Excellent place to stay - 10 minute easy walk into Gloucester. Owners friendly and helpful, checking we knew where we were going and making suggestions to ensure we didn't miss anything. Main computer in reception was out of order so they took us through to use theirs, which was very kind. Very good breakfast, huge king size bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed for two nights in June 2012. Very friendly welcome from Mr owner and lovely room with the biggest bed I have ever seen! Mrs owner also very friendly and recommended a nice Portugese restaurant just a ten minute walk away. Mr owner then booked this for us and have to say foord was superb. Proprieter of said restaurant was entertaining to say the least. Gloucester is a lovely place with the Catheral, Quays etc. If we go back we will definitely look to book the Edward again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH6356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I booked this hotel online for me and my wife as a mini break after reading previous reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a delight and I would recommend it to anyone.
The location is spot on and very easy to find.
It is a 10 minute stroll to the city centre.
Booking in was a formaility and we were awarded an upgrade f.o.c. (without asking).
At reception we were given detailed ideas of what we was to look out for whilst exploring Gloucester, the information given was excellent and helped us to further enjoy our visit to Gloucester.
The room was tastefully decorated and included a 4 poster bed, very nice touch.
Anyone visiting Gloucester should seriously give this hotel a look, room rates are favourable, the hosts are impeccable,the location is ideal.

Room Tip: Great location, excellent hosts and tasteful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrior48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Spent two nights at the hotel in one of the superior doubles, which was huge and very well furnished. Was a little concerned about any potential noise from the road at the front, but fears was unfounded - in fact we slept so well, we nearly missed breakfast the next morning!

Gloucester city centre is about 10 minutes walk max. Breakfasts are good, anything cooked fresh and the two nearby pubs are also worth visiting. Owners very helpful, so all in all a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jools&alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed for five nights in April 2012.

The hotel is a quick 10-minute walk from the train station. It's an easy ten into the heart of town, and 15 on into the docks area. There are a couple of restaurants right down the street, including a fish/chips shop about five minutes down the street toward town. There is a 24-hour gas station with a quick stop right down the road.

The hotel fronts on London Street, which has a lot of traffic, including trucks and buses, therefore some noise. Rooms facing the back are somewhat more quiet, but there are a lot of gulls about, and these guys make noise night and day. It's not distractive, but if you're not used to it, it could get to you.

Rooms are spacious, with good-sized beds. Floorboards in the halls and rooms can be a bit creaky, but this could be seen as endearing. If you've got upstairs neighbors carrying on, you will know it. My bathroom was rather small, definitely built for one at a time. The shower also was small. There is no central A/C, but there is radiator heat. TV selection is excellent, with a very large number of channels to choose from, with flat-screen TVs mounted to the wall.

The staff are all quite friendly, very helpful and obliging.

Breakfast is included, and is in a very nice downstairs dining room. It is fast and hot, and was consistently good. Lots to choose from, and always more than enough. I did not have dinner in the hotel. There is a small pub downstairs.

There is Internet service in the reception room, and it is free of charge. The computer there is quite old, though, and it is slow and does not work well with newer online apps and data-intensive operations.

Room Tip: Stay here for the local Gloucester Rugby matches, and pop on down the street to The Imperial or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you want a comfortable hotel with a warm welcome and excellent host you can't do better than The Edward. Parking is free, WiFi is free and it's 10 minutes walk, at the most, to the town centre. The breakfast is brilliant. The rooms are spotless, our shower room was a bit dated but very clean and everything worked so no complaints. StJohn will give you all the information you need and there are some excellent eating places wthin walking distance too. The Cathedral is nearby and we are returning for the Queen's Diamond Jubilee event there. Really good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
3.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Property: The Edward Hotel
Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edward Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing