We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed one night in a 3 bed-room, which was in the attic and very hot despite fans. Hosts/staff very friendly and helpful but found the B&B dated and parts of the interior and exterior in need of some TLC/revamp. The Edward is very near the town centre, which is a plus. However, it is located in a run down area on route into the city. breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for The Edward Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

great , thanks very friendly would stop again, no probs, the breakfast was great, and a short walk in to the town, free parking, the staff serving breakfast were very good, and plenty to choose from thats food not staff

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I chose this family-run B&B hotel after reading lots of positive on-line reviews, although I thought they'd already be full for a Friday night in July, and indeed two days beforehand the commercial booking sites said they were. But following the hotel's own website advice I phoned them and got a twin room after all. We were spectating at a horse event at nearby Hartpury College on a very wet day and drove there afterwards. The welcome was warm and efficient, and our 'small' room was plenty big enough and we made use of the two comfy chairs and the tv on a swivelling arm to watch the Wimbledon Mens Final! The en suite was as tiny as they can be but clean and well stocked with toiletries. The shower pressure did leave a bit to be desired but was good and hot and did the job. We walked the short distance into town for our evening meal and then slept well in our comfy beds. Breakfast was perfectly cooked with lots of choice and cheerful service, and we loved the twist of having a puzzle for the guests to think about! The owners obviously enjoy running the place and looking after their guests. It was a 5 minute well signed drive to the motorway from the free car park behind the building. We would certainly choose the Edward again and recommend it to anyone who prefers friendly B & B to impersonal chain hotels and travelodges. Excellent value at £59.50 for twin room with breakfast.

Room Tip: Ignore on-line booking sites and phone them direct.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here on 16th June 2012 on our way to Lands End. Lovely place, very clean, excellent breakfast, 2 pubs almost next door, free WI FI. We were upgraded to a larger room with a lovely 4 poster bed. Would definitely stay there again if travelling to Gloucester.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CherylBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed one night in june (road trip) Its not a hotel but a very friendly b&b, The staff are nice people, we stayed in a room at the front of the b&b it was clean, with the biggest bed I have seen outside of the usa the free wi fi was a bonus but the bathroom! I can live with it being tiny but the shower had very low water pressure and it took some time to heat up so not ideal, but for one night it was fine. The cooked breakfast was very nice though my partner would have liked more than one sausage (he should have asked for another one, he's a pig:-) The parking at the back is ideal, the walk in to town is less than ten minutes. I would stay again but if it was for more than one night I would need a room with a better shower.
Caution! to anyone of limited mobility, The way this b&b is layed out the are a lot of narrow stairs over several levels so not recommended for them. This caution should be on the wepsite....

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor, the water pressure in the shower will be better..
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doll00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Excellent place to stay - 10 minute easy walk into Gloucester. Owners friendly and helpful, checking we knew where we were going and making suggestions to ensure we didn't miss anything. Main computer in reception was out of order so they took us through to use theirs, which was very kind. Very good breakfast, huge king size bed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed for two nights in June 2012. Very friendly welcome from Mr owner and lovely room with the biggest bed I have ever seen! Mrs owner also very friendly and recommended a nice Portugese restaurant just a ten minute walk away. Mr owner then booked this for us and have to say foord was superb. Proprieter of said restaurant was entertaining to say the least. Gloucester is a lovely place with the Catheral, Quays etc. If we go back we will definitely look to book the Edward again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH6356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,144 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
374 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £60 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edward Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing