We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother”
Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

What a horrible place pn arrival were told owners were away for weekend room was cold and damp. Told we couldn't have evening meal in hotel and would have to eat out. After accidently locking key in room asked to be let back in and the old man on reception moaned all the way to the room. Breakfast was cold over cooked and took a long time arriving. .onlu good part was that the room was very clean

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluecows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for The Edward Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed at The Edward in December 2012 and enjoyed the visit thoroughly. Wonderful, warm atmosphere with friendly and helpful proprietors. We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we visit Gloucester.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T_Kelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We have just had a three night stay at the Edward Hotel and was very pleased with the hotel. It is very convenient for the centre of Gloucester, approx 15 - 20 minute walk to the main shops, bars etc. We booked a superior room at the rear of the building after reading on other comments that the hotel is on a main road, the room was quite spacious with an en-suite shower room which was adequate for our stay. It was also very quiet with no traffic noise at all and the hotel was clean in all areas.
The hotel also has a car park , very useful in a city.The hosts were very friendly and attentive at all times. If we visit Gloucester again and are looking to stay, we will definately return to the Edward.

Room Tip: Maybe a superior room for the extra space, although not aware how large the standard rooms are.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiftyishwestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

What a nice place to stay, warm and cosy with a brilliant car park and within a short walk of the city centre Nothing is too much trouble plus excellent value for money.
I fail to understand how anybody can give a bad review of a hotel that is such a gem. Far exceeds any big chain hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask the management and they will help if they can
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerekS150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Comfortable if smallish bedroom, piddly little shower from bath taps! Wi-Fi in rooms. Breakfast well cooked with no brown under the fried eggs! But no fresh fruit. Toast still warm and firm when arrives at table which makes a change. 10 minute walk to cathedral and central shopping area, Off road parking, but park on street first to get bags in.

Bit of a rabit warren but fun signs on custom painted plates very helptful.

Proprietor very efficient but a bit dour - proprietess the opposite of dour (and efficient)!

Room Tip: Probably quietest at the back.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

A friendly atmosphere at this centrally located hotel that is convenient for local pubs, restaurants, hospital and surrounding offices/businesses. Private parking a bonus. Rooms are comfortable but en-suite would benefit from upgrading. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast is an overall very good start to the day, in terms of choice, content and service.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Visitors from Kernow!
Needing to visit Gloucester recently for a wedding at the Cathedral we booked into the Edward Hotel and stayed for 5 nights. It was ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cathedral, shops and all amenities. The hotel was very welcoming and friendly, the room clean and well presented and the breakfast excellent. Only disadvantage if you are slightly disabled are all the stairs but there are ground floor rooms available. Another bonus is the on site parking which is difficult to find in Gloucester. Will certainly stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rherindoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,144 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
849 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £61 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edward Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing