We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely hotel, well located with secure car park”
Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Homely hotel, well located with secure car park”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed two nights at the hotel on a weekend visit to Gloucester, principally to see Johnny Marr in concert.

The hotel is well located and a shortish walk from the city centre. Car parking to the rear of the hotel where the restaurant leads out into a pleasant garden/terrace area.

Good breakfast, friendly staff and an environment where pretty much every Ed, Eddie and Edward is framed and displayed on the wall of the hotel.

The room was pleasant, clean but on the small side, but I am sure there was much variety and as late bookers we were happy with what we had.

On the Sunday the hotel was very busy with Gloucester rugby fans.

A good stay, a return visit in the future is possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    162
    55
    21
    7
See reviews for
52
165
32
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich,Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is my first ever review. I generally take poor reviews with a pinch of salt , which is why I booked this hotel in the first place, but I now agree with much in the "poor "and "terrible " reviews regarding this hotel. Upon arrival, the restaurant was deserted and check in was more like being processed. The public areas are cheerily painted but everything is very old and the paint is very thick. Despite the new wallpaper and blinds, our room felt uncomfortable. Cleaning had obviously been done but the faded upholstery on the worn through chairs was very dusty and the furniture chipped.
As only one night and late for dinner, just carried on. Small shower room unheated. The small shower cubicle had an extra row of tiles stuck over the old ones at the bottom and the grout was no longer white. Looked under duvet cover and saw small stain, presumably on mattress cover, through the sheet.
Went out for dinner distracted by looking up other hotels and ultimately decided to drive 2 hours home at 9 30 pm in torrential rain. I last did that 30 years ago!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicholas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We came here in November to visit Gloucestershire's Christmas markets and stayed for one night over the weekend which was good as some hotels don't offer a one night stay over weekends and at no extra charge for a Saturday night either! The hotel is located within walking distance of the tons centre so didn't need to drive or hire a taxi. they have lots of info in the reception and recommended an Indian restaurant to us that was really nice and at the end if the road near to the town it also has a couple of pubs close by but not rowdy or noises and did not disturb.
The breakfast was nice and catered for our vegetarian needs endless tea and coffee refills and didn't leave hungry! I really enjoyed my stay here and would 100% return :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahdanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very comfortable and friendly hotel. The owner was very welcoming and recomended various places to eat and cafes. There was on site parking and it is only a few mins walk from the centre of gloucester. The room was clean comfortable and had a huge bed. Breakfast was great! We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay,close to the town centre for a little walk. Only 2 minute walk from train station. owner and staffs are very polite and always ready to help. Rooms are very clean,tidy and specious. Good breakfast in the morning , definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcotesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Kent
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights - the only place I could find remotely near Cheltenham that wasn't fully booked due to the races. Price was much cheaper than many hotels in the vicinity. Decor is clean and tidy if a bit tired in places - not to my taste but that's not a criticism. Booked a single room which was clean, comfortable and had everything I needed - en suite, tea and coffee, hairdryer, tv and radio, etc. Room could have been brightened by a colourful throw, likewise bathroom with a cheerful blind, but price sufficiently low to overlook such small niceties. Bed was comfortable, hotel hardly noisy despite being full, and I had a good nights sleep both nights. Shower was hot and water pressure good, despite my room being at the top of the building. Breakfast was very good - choice of continental or full English - had the latter and it was very tasty and not greasy. Free parking - a definite bonus for the area. When I arrived back quite late and asked for a large glass of cold white wine the proprietor advised that unfortunately, the hotel having been full, the fridge had been emptied and the wine was not cold, He therefore put some ice in a glass and filled it with wine- and gave it to me for free! The hotel is not "trendy" and the building itself has stairs going up, down, corridors left and right and up and down again to get to the various rooms, but it's all quaintly sign posted and, despite having a dodgy knee at the time of my visit, I managed very well. For the price I paid I was very happy - I wouldn't choose this accommodation for a romantic weekend or special occasion, but as a base to visit friends in the area it served very well. Would I stay here again - yes. The owners and staff were pleasant and friendly throughout.

Room Tip: I had 28, single on the top floor, not suitable for anyone with mobility problems. Compact but as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were very much looking forward to our stay at The Edward Hotel, and paid extra for a "Premium" Room. Unfortunately the room we were originally allocated was under the stairwell on the ground floor and they had a group of maybe 8-10 teenagers staying there. At 12.45am we were awoken by what sounded like a herd of elephants running up and down stairs so the next morning we politely asked to be moved for the rest of our stay, once I was awake the noise from the main road in and out of Gloucester made dropping back off to sleep difficult.

To say we had been downgraded would be an understatement and without explanation, and from what I could tell there was only us and maybe two other couples staying at the Hotel so lack of rooms certainly would not have been an issue. Yes, I could have complained, but right from when we arrived, it did seem like customer satisfaction was not top priority, and to be honest, we were very tired and couldn't be bothered with moving (again!).

It was little things like lack of loo roll, the way the door was answered when we arrived and tired decor it made you feel this was not a stay to be enjoyed, more endured! It actually felt like we weren't welcome.
We nick-named our room "the bedsit", which is how it felt to us, with the TV on a wall stand (which you couldn't turn on/off with the remote, you had to get out of bed), next to the kettle and cups, below being a tired bedside cabinet and very worn stool.
The original room, was much larger, tea making facilities were out of sight, a nice desk, 2 large comfy chairs and large TV. This type room would have been more than adequate, which was what we paid for. It was however on the ground floor at "road level" so you could hear traffic noise.
The saving grace was the breakfast, fantastic local sausages and superb poached eggs. A couple of young ladies who I presumed worked the weekend (only saw them the first morning) had everything under control and we had service with a smile. After that the service changed somewhat. No one was rude, but everything as my title suggests was "average", it actually made us feel a little uncomfortable. There were no "good mornings" or "did you sleep well", or "any nice plans for today" at breakfast.. just "in - eat - out"

If this hotel and the some of the staff were a colour, they would be beige.... all very bland and blah....A smile goes a very long way and costs nothing.

We couldn't wait to get out each morning and certainly didn't want to spend any more time than required in the room.

I must mention the pub down the road - England's Glory, where we ate every day. If the owners of The Edward Hotel would like to see how it's done properly I suggest a visit. Nothing was too much trouble, service with a smile and chat if you wanted one too. Food, service and beer was 10/10!
There's a lack of descent hotels in Gloucester so this was a real shame as we will be back again soon.... Holiday Inn/Premier Inn for us next time we are in Gloucester!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before taking any luggage from reception and check you are getting the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juejues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Property: The Edward Hotel
Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edward Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing