We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Edward Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ibis Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$71
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatton Court Hotel(Upton St Leonards)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
125
172
56
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
172
56
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecar parkplace matsnepalese chefquirky hotelexcellent breakfastprivate parkingten minute walka ground floor roomchoice of cerealsstayed for one nightbit datedweekend staysingle roomvisit gloucesterbeds were very comfortablefamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Not luxury by any means but excellent value for money and completely adequate in all departments. Bathroom fittings and decoration a bit dated (compared to say a Premier Inn) but all clean and completely functional. Decor is a bit quirky but not at all unpleasant. This is really a B&B. Breakfast was fine served in a nice bright lounge but you will need to go out for an evening meal. Strong point is good parking. Easy to find by car if you follow the directions on their web site Location is not prime, its just outside old centre of Gloucester and a very easy walk to Cathedral, shops and docks. Although anyone who is a bit unfit could find walking to the docks a bit of a distance.
PS Gloucester an interesting City for a stop over. Cathedral and Docks well worth a visit and some interesting old buildings. But also a bit down at heel in places . Not somewhere to visit for the shopping

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Edward Hotel seems to be very highly rated by locals, and having stayed a few days I can see why. The location is very convenient, just a short walk to the centre of Gloucester and maybe 15 minutes to the docks and Quays. Having its own (free) car park is great, too. The staff were all very friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the cooked breakfast is very large and very good. We had a room at the rear of the hotel, and it was very quiet and made for good sleeping. The room was also very clean. Our room was also very good value, given its size and how well it was equipped.
The only downside was the decor, which is dated and fairly tired - you shouldn't go expecting a boutique hotel like a Hotel du Vin. However, I'd happily trade that for the excellent service and great value.

Room Tip: Suggest getting a room at the rear of the hotel if you are a light sleeper, as London Road can get quite busy
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Edward Hotel for 2 nights we chose the hotel as it had parking. On arriving we were met by I assume the owner who was full of information but not really welcoming. I feel the room was overpriced and in need of a lick of paint. We had room 4 the flush worked but not all the time we reported it and were told it would be fixed this did not happen it would flush once then not again for hours so the kettle came in handy for clearing the loo which also did not seem to be fixed to the floor, if you were a little on the heavy side there could be a safety issue. Breakfast the first morning was ok I had a poached egg and tomatoes which tasted awful. My partners was ok. The next breakfast was cold and dried up. I asked for my toast to be a little more cooked it did not happen. When we left there was no one around to ask if we enjoyed our stay. Needless to say we will not be going again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hyundaibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a little gem of a hotel, on arrival we were made most welcome before we were showed our room, we was given usefull information and points of intrest abut gloucester.,we were very pleased with our famliy room it was clean and spacious and comfortable breakfast was lovley ,this hotel comes fully recomended

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinWestbromwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very much an owner-run hotel, very conveniently situated for Gloucester city centre. We had a superior double which was at the back of the building which had an anti-room/small sitting room which we used to dump our cases and coats etc. It had a suitcase stand for each of us.

The room itself wasn't huge but it was warm, likewise the shower room. Breakfast was fine, the coffee kept on coming! The Edward has a small bar and a sitting room off. When they light the open fire it must be very cosy. They sell the local Gloucester Brewery ale in bottles. That was a bonus!

The owners, St John & Karen, were very helpful, especially about places to eat or visit. Karen marked up a photocopied streetplan for us which we found very useful. Being able to park (for free!) in a secure location so close to the centre was also a bonus. We were not hassled at all to move the car after we checked out. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 2 at the rear was very quiet at night
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews