We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the service”
Review of The Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edward Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's all in the service”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nicely located, friendly, independent hotel. Owners away when we visited but it was business as usual as their parents (probable previous owners) were in charge. Even the lightning strike which set off the fire alarms at 5 in the morning wouldn't put me off returning. Service at breakfast was a bit slow, but don't let it put you off, just factor it in

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValleyGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    162
    55
    21
    7
See reviews for
52
165
32
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when we were in the city for a wedding. On arrival we were informed we had been upgraded to a larger room! Great size and comfort for less than £60.
It was our first time in the area and the lady gave us a map and directions to the wedding venue.
Unfortunately I slept through breakfast so can't comment on the food but I was still impressed it was included in the low price.
Being able to leave the car in their carpark whilst we explored Gloucester after checking out was very convenient.
It will be my first choice hotel when visiting Gloucester again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here because I was attending my final year exams at university. I also had a young baby and my fiancé came to stay. I cannot stress how accommodating the owners were. Extremely friendly and provided us with a cot to put little one in. We stayed in the Superior Double room and paid a very cheap price for it! I think we had a complimentary upgrade (for no reason at all apart from kindness!).

Well let me tell you... The bed was massive and the room extremely cosy. As parents it was very comforting staying in a room that was beautiful but had a warm, homely feel to it. The décor was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. Lovely and rustic.

The owners were nice, nice people. Very funny and charming. They were so likeable that we really felt respect for the hotel in which we were staying in (compared to large, cheap companies). I would definitely stay here again if ever I happened to visit Gloucester and I would recommend The Edward Hotel to anyone and everyone with my eyes closed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyofWinterfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a delightful night at the Edward. Small room with comfortable bed and welcoming maître dit. Breakfast girls were charming, polite and helpful. Fantastic veggie breakfast and loads of coffee. Made up for the bad experience we had the previous night at a different hotel in Gloucester and we felt safe and looked after. :-)

Room Tip: Follow the plates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolphinsmile8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay in a great location with parking. The hotel from the outside doesn't look like much but when you get inside it honestly feels like a home away from home.

We were greeted by a lovely gentleman who talked us through what was around the local area and then walked us to our room. The rooms are lovely, cosy, homely and spacious.

Full English breakfast was yummy and included in the price. We also needed a late check out and wasn't charged any extra.

I have another function in Gloucestershire in August and I would seriously consider staying here again

Well done to the owners of The Edward Hotel you have a lovely hotel there x

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

First the good points: This hotel is very conveniently situated forwalking into Gloucester. Car parking (free) is an added bonus. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, as was everywhere else we could see.
Now to the breakfast...... Yes, there was a huge choice of cereals, but some fruit other than grapefruit would have been good. The fried breakfast was dreadful: bacon and sausages had obviously been pre-cooked and microwaved. The bacon resembled cardboard and, not having a hacksaw to hand, the sausages were impenetrable. We would have been quite happy to wait for a 'FRESHLY' cooked breakfast rather than the speedy microwave version.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed there to go to Gloucester Rugby match. The hotel location was excellent, 10 minutes down the road was the City Centre and it was 15 minutes to Kingsholm. Our room was nicely decorated and the staff was very friendly and accommodating with my boyfriend's disability. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
3.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edward Hotel

Property: The Edward Hotel
Address: 88-92 London Road, Gloucester GL1 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#6 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edward Hotel is a just 10-minute walk from Gloucester Cathedral and Gloucester Train Station. Set in 3 historically listed town houses, it offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, traditional breakfasts and free parking. Rooms at the Edward Hotel feature a flat-screen TV with FreeSat, a writing desk, and a hairdryer. Each also comes with tea and coffee making facilities. In reception guests can use the computer, which has Skype and a webcam, free of charge. The corridors are lined with photographs of Gloucester's historic buildings, and the friendly staff can arrange transport and sightseeing recommendations. Gloucester Rugby Club is less than one mile from the Edward. Gloucester city centre has a good range of shops, bars and restaurants and is a 10-minute walk away. The hotel has a self-serviced kitchenette free to all guests. The Edward Hotel has a safe lockup for cycles. Good off-road cycling and three golf clubs and are within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Gloucester Airport and junctions 11 and 11a of the M5 motorway are within a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edward Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing