We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something old- something new”

Gloucester Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cathedral of the Cotswolds
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Something old- something new”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We visited the beautifully city of Gloucester, its Cathedral is a must- so are the docks, the barges on the River are a reminder of how it must of been many years ago. The apartments which were once flour warehouses, all add to the history of this City. The War/Army museum so much to see. Then the Mall with its beautiful tiled floors, and very smart shops. Oh Gloucester how I enoyed my trip to see you. I shall be back again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mayfielddrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,894
    487
    55
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful 1st visit”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great history, artifacts and atmosphere. So sorry we ran out of time so will visit again soon. Beautiful architecture and in a lovely courtyard/village green setting and only a 5 minute walk from the historic Gloucester Dock area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nannyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful holy space”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited Gloucester this weekend for the first time and was nicely surprised, the cathedral was beautiful and welcoming and not over run with tourists. As a Christian often my bug bear is having to pay to enter cathedrals, however I loved that this cathedral suggested rather than demanded a donation which I was more than happy to pay. A friend and I sat in the beautiful inner gardens basking in the sun and sad a few sun soaked prayers. We sought Harry Potter and the Chamber of secrets... we stumbled across a practise concert rehearsal which was nice too. Definitely recommend a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoseyJoenotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful informative visit”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had not planned to visit the Cathedral but as we were in the area , we popped in to take a look.
The guides there were very helpful and informative. We were shown the crypt on a short tour with one of the guides and took a stroll around the whole cathedral taking in the splendour of the architecture and craftsmanship of a beautiful building.
The history of this place is fascinating and while we were there we were lucky enough to hear a wonderful organ recital as a background to our tour.
A must place to visit !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank karateski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Came here years ago when I was at school on an RE trip but forgot how wonderful it was. Unfortunately we missed the crypt tour on the day but I remember that being worth a visit. It is a beautiful Cathedral in the middle of Gloucester town center and very good place for photographers (but they charge for the privalidge). Now, this forms part of the Harry Potter trip and you can visit the Hogwarts School of wizards and witches its pretty small but a good experience for fans.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kitty_katt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gloucester Cathedral also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Bibury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing