We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Gloucester Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 73 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cathedral of the Cotswolds
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This cathedral is absolutely stunning: the architecture, the stained glass, the paintings... The chapels are all gorgeous. I particularly liked the one with modern stained glass windows, the atmosphere created by the light was beautiful. King Edward II's tomb is so ornate it is breath-taking. The cloister was another delight for a Harry Potter fan like myself, but was equally enjoyed by my partner who doesn't care about HP at all. The food from the cafe was good as well - but the outside seating area was rather sad.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jule955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,900
    490
    55
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I have visited the Cathedral several times over the past 50 years. I find this a very calming & quiet area of Gloucester. The peaceful gardens are well kept. It is a place for quiet reflection amongst the hustle bustle of the city life. The history is interesting having been built over hundreds of years since 1100s. Some scenes from Harry Potter were filmed in Gloucester Cathedral. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scatty313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
“Very friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went to Gloucester Cathedral on a damp day but found light and joy inside. The younger members of the family opted for the Tower Trip, which they thoroughly enjoyed. The guides were excellent and very knowledgeable. My husband and I being older took at level tour of the Cathedral itself. Very interesting and one of the best we have visited. The volanteers were friendly and helpful. An excellent way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jetty128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

As a massive Harry Potter fan I was like a child on Christmas Day here. No entrance fee, only a suggested donation, and a £5 photography permit (which I bought).
As well as the obvious attraction of the cloisters (HP location) there are also the beautiful stained glass windows in the lady chapel to commemorate composers with connections to the Cathedral (Howells, Sumsion, Brewer, Wesley) complete with glass recreations of their works.
Sadly no references anywhere to Harry Potter, and nothing in the gift shop - surely they are missing a trick there!?
Overall a very good visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceecapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Calm in the City”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I always enjoy a visit to the Cathedral, the peaceful inner courtyard and the cloisters. I really enjoy sitting and taking it all in from one of the many quiet, tucked away little corners inside, the whispering gallery is fun and the flying buttresses which seem to head off in every direction really mess with your mind!

A great place for quiet contemplation.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gloucester Cathedral also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Bibury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing