We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit and free to get in.”

Gloucester Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cathedral of the Cotswolds
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit and free to get in.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visit the cathedral for breathtaking architecture, beautiful grounds, and if you are as lucky as we were, you'll hear the choir practicing as you stroll through the cloisters (was very moving to hear) which stopped us in our tracks. Parts of the Harry Potter films were shot in the cloisters.

Lovely.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skipp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,823
    463
    53
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prenton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a architectural gem”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is such a breath taking place , history is around every corner , this must be the best or one of the best cathedrals in the country.
I would highly recommend that when you are in Gloucester you make time to spend a few hours going around this excellent building, they have well over 100 stain glass windows as well as history in abundance .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Architectural gem, but be careful about photography”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have no criticism of this building, it is stunning. The visitor experience is rather quaint and old-fashioned, Do not expect the slick presentation style of Winchester, York, Hereford etc.
Our group (3) each bought photography permits, £3 each, as we had a camera each, we wore the stickers provided. A choir was practicing, a mixed age, both sexes choir, in long red robes. They looked lovely by candlelight in the early afternoon. We sat a long way off as to not intrude, and took photos of the general scene.
Then we had a bit of a shock, one of the choristers marched up to us and insisted we stop taking photos, delete those we had already taken and told us that we were in breach of the Child Protection Act. Wow, what a shock!. We had no idea that we were in the wrong and immediately agreed.
What a dreadful end to a lovely visit, So be warned, do not take photos of the choir, or face public humiliation.I also noticed many people taking photos in the building with no permit badges!
I believe Gloucester Cathedral is going to be updating it's visitor experience, soon I hope! We joined a group touring the Crypt, a dour and lacklustre guide did the minimum necessary.
GC is packed with interest, best to read up about it in advance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeenJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Well worth a visit. Harry potter was filmed here and it is stunning. One of the best examples of a cathedral in the country

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kornwestheim
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very interesting and breathtakingly beautiful. We missed the last tour of the day, but there was a very helpful leaflet guide for a pound. Coffee shop didn't look so inviting, but it was already shut anyway at 17.00.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vi_OletKWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gloucester Cathedral also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing