We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Barn Owl Centre
Ranked #19 of 82 things to do in Gloucester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Due to on going development, we are only open to the public by booking only, bookings relate to a number of Owl & Bird of Prey Experiences we do, which includes Photography Days. Please visit our website for further details, times & cost. For anyone visiting us to purchase an Owl Nest Box or Gift Vouchers, please give us a call before setting off. Please note that the Barn Owl Centre is a Rescue & Rehabilitation Centre as well as an Owl Conservation Centre.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have known the Barn Owl Centre for many years. What can I tell you. The birds are very well looked after and trained by very dedicated people. They work with birds who have had a difficult life and they strive to make them as happy and comfortable as possible. Those same staff are just as dedicated to making sure you have a fantastic time.
I count everyone human and bird alike at the Centre as good friends and don't get to see them enough. A very dedicated and hard working centre that works very hard for everyone. My parents always take our visitors from abroad there ad always a good time is had

1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"birds of prey"
in 6 reviews
"his arm"
in 2 reviews
"wildlife photographer"
in 2 reviews
"photography experience"
in 2 reviews
"lovely couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"christmas present"
in 2 reviews
"vince"
in 24 reviews
"buzzards"
in 9 reviews
"handlers"
in 2 reviews
"interests"
in 3 reviews
Filter

47 - 51 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I took my elderly parents for a nice, relaxing day out at the Owl centre. From the moment we arrived, the staff were extremely rude. The Experience was a gift voucher, so it was too late to get our money back, but we almost walked out after a few minutes - we were so insulted by the rudeness of a gentleman there. As I was an extra visitor, we were asked to pay (more than was quoted on the voucher), and the money was just shoved into a pocket - I didn't think to request receipt. It was extremely disappointing as we had travelled some distance and did not expect to be treated so disgracefully by someone running a public attraction. I would thoroughly recommend that you do not visit this venue, unless you are prepared to be insulted and have a very bad and extremely upsetting experience!

8  Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Owner at The Barn Owl Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Readers.
Review posted 15th November 2013 yet it is mentioned the visit took place during July 2013.

We would like to defend these comments because we do question the truth of what we feel is a commercially driven attack on our staff & experiences.

As we only open by pre-booking only, all guests arrive at a set time. Before entry to an experience, all guests are kept as a group, which enables us to speak to our guests as one before letting them into the Centre. If what Lou D is saying is true, our rudeness & shoving money into his pocket would have been witnessed by the other guests.

We just hope that anyone reading this review will see through his comments & also see how easy it is to sign in to say bad things about a place they have never visited.

Barn Owl Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent Saturday morning at the centre and what an amazing experience. The staff are incredible. Their knowledge, their philosophy, their relationships with the birds, all truly inspirational. I can't recommend this highly enough.
To have a bird of prey or an eagle owl on your arm, to be that close, to actually experience the majesty, the power the beauty is almost beyond words.
Best 3 hours I think I have ever spent!!!!

2  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our 4th visit on a Photographic day, and Vince yet again gave us a perfect day adapting photo opportunities to suit us, and yes we will be back again next year

Col and Sara Page

1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was such an exceptional day and learning curve with birds in flight...loved it so much am returning again next week
Vince is passionate about his birds, and never overworks them
they are his main interest.. their welfare came first..but we as photographers were well catered for
and got some fantastic opportunities
a day I would fully recommend to anyone!

3  Thank Lillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn Owl Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Barn Owl Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing