We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Gloucester Brewery

Gloucester Brewery
Ranked #31 of 72 things to do in Gloucester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gloucester Brewery was established in October 2011, in the heart of the Gloucester Docks. It's creation was founded by Jared Brown and Bev Booth, who were passionate about creating modern, full flavoured, hoppy and distinctive beers. Their initial creations were Gloucester Gold, Mariner and Dockside Dark. All have won awards and have remained the core range. The Brewery and Brewery shop moved in early 2015 to a new larger premises within the docks, a disused malt house with an incredible industrial rustic feel to it. This allowed the expansion of the brewing facility as well as the online shop and the introduction of the events venue which is available for private hire. The shop is open 6 days a week, Mon - Sat. The Brewery is open to the public the last Friday of every month, details on the Gloucester Brewery website. Pre-booking is essential. We hope you enjoy your visit.
Gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Went on one of their brewery tours. Fantastic! We had a choice 4 beers to drink and we could drink as much as you want. Bev, one of the joint owners of the business, gave us a 20 minute talk on the brewing process and explained the different malts and hops that were used to make their beers. It was very interesting to taste the malts and to crush and smell the different hop varieties used. The brewery is in the old stables that were originally used by the horses that pulled the barges up the canal so it isn't a big place so there isn't any walking involved.
Bev also provided a wonderful buffet including hams, cheeses, quiches, breads and scotch eggs which was essential to soak up the quantities of beer being drunk.
There were about 20 people on the tour which added to the fun of this as they were all having a good time and the people we spoke to were great. There was no drunken and disorderly behaviour so just perfect.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisGandTheBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beer and great staff”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I often pop by to pick up a couple of their fine ales. Never fail to have a good chat with the very knowledge staff too.

Helpful?
Thank Kieran_W_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloucesterBrewery, Owner at Gloucester Brewery, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We at Gloucester Brewery always do our best to provide the best beers possible for our customers to enjoy in a friendly environment.

Enjoy, and we'll see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We often travel to Gloucester and without fail I will drop into the brewery for a case of twelve. Each case will generally be a selection of Mariner, Puddle and Spice and Gloucester Gold. I have tried the other beers and I've not found one I don't like but still the above are my favourite. A nice touch is you can sit in the courtyard and enjoy a pint instead/as well. Thought I might add that the staff are nice people too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Open Brewery night.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Something we never thought of doing, but glad we did, the owner was very friendly and approachable which put everyone at ease.
It was interesting to see how the ale was made.
We will be giving out vouchers to friends and family as it was a very pleasant evening. We enjoyed the buffet and the opportunity to taste several varieties,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food festival at Gloucester Quays”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have just come back from the food festival at Gloucester Quays. Was charged £12 for 2 plastic glasses of inferior wine by Gloucester Brewery. What a rip off.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OAKTREE95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gloucester Brewery also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucester Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing