We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum now Open”

Soldiers of Gloucestershire Museum
Ranked #4 of 70 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our visitors can experience what it was like for soldiers and their families throughout the last three hundred years. The Gloucestershire Regiment (The Glosters) has been present at many of the turning points in British History; battles in the American Revolutionary War, defeating Napoleon, the defence of Dunkirk and fighting the spread of communism in Korea.Special exhibition Commemorating the Battle of Imjin now on. Also our new Modern Army Display has recently been commissioned - Come and see what it is like to served in Afghanistan. See the latest equipment, lift the body armour and the pack and imagine what it is like to go on operations on extremes of temperature.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Museum now Open”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Brilliant - not to be missed if in the area. Attractions for Visitors and residents of Gloucestershire

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    43
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“GIVE THEM THE SUPPORT THEY SO MUCH DESERVE !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Soldiers of Gloucestershire Museum is a place where all residents in Gloucestershire should visit. I have been there and have found it to be a great place of interest, and to learn of the The Gloucester Royals, and the battles they have fought. throughout history, and to the brave fallen men to whom we owe our lives. and freedom.

Let this museum continue and never be forgotten, and may the Government of now and in the future remember the heroism of so many who lost their lives. Well worth a visit, not only by adults, but school children also.
They are a very proud Regiment and quite deservingly so.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bringing History in front”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great place to visit, had a very good time with children great fun and great history to show to our kids

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I first went to visit as a soldier late 70's took me about an hour to view. It now takes me around 4 hours to view! It is very interesting following the County Regiments from their information to their present operations.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glosterbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Informative and Absorbing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

great experience tells a tale that realy interests you as well as the staff having a genuine interest in their material

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soldiers of Gloucestershire Museum also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Soldiers of Gloucestershire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing