We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful rude staff”

Portivo Lounge Gloucester
Ranked #19 of 330 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Portivo Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment. The Lounge menu is available all-day and offers a wide range of dishes including an extensive brunch menu, a selection of proper-job burgers, a great selection of tapas & more restaurant-in-style monthly specials. There is an extensive selection of coffee/tea, cakes and pastries, smoothies and fresh juice, and a small selection of wines, draught beers & cocktails. The interiors are comfortable, inviting, and a bit eccentric. The photos, a great majority of which feature Dave's (co-founder) grandparents, are weird and slightly unnerving! We've got a variety of board games available for either children or adults, daily newspapers to read, a kids menu, highchairs & a free neighbourhood book swap (bring an old book & swap it with a book in the bookcase). Think of us as your home-from-home.
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

On visiting Gloucester docks we decided to visit portivo lounge for a few drinks. On entering we walked up to see the range of drinks available at the bar as we have never visited before, there was no visible queue and no notice advising us to queue. We hadn't hadn't even been standing for 30 seconds before a very rude Scottish barman shouted at us that there was already a lady waiting in the queue, as well as embarrassing her we were also very embarrassed ourselves as we hadn't even chosen what drinks we wanted. We therefore walked out feeling very angry and went for a pleasant drink round the corner at Dr Fosters where the staff were very friendly and pleasant!

4  Thank T21ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Manager at Portivo Lounge Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I can’t apologise enough for the service that you received. Please know that this is certainly not the manner in which we expect our staff to behave. We always try to provide our guests with a warm welcome and good service so as you can imagine we are very disappointed to hear of the way in which you were spoken to. The member of staff in question has been spoken to and shall be doing some additional customer service training. I really do hope that you would try us again one day so that we can deliver to you the top service that we strive to achieve here at Portivo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Portivo Lounge Gloucester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 432 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having seen the reviews, I was expecting good things from our visit, unfortunately this did not happen. Ordering our meals was fine, and the meals started arriving quite quickly ,however 2 of our meals took over 1 hour to arrive, despite our waitress being aware of the delay.
When the meal did arrive (Steak sandwich), the meat was chewy and lukewarm, and the chips undercooked,
So, all in all, very disappointing, and a return visit is not planned

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Manager at Portivo Lounge Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I’m ever so sorry to hear that you’re visit to us did not reach the high standards that we strive to achieve here at Portivo. The steak sandwich that we serve is usually one of our best loved dishes so I’m very sorry to hear that yours was so far below standard. It is, of course, unacceptable that your meals arrived so far apart; we shall be looking into how this happened and how to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that you will give us another chance so that we can show you what we can really do here at Portivo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here a few times with friends and had a pleasant experience every time. Lovely fresh cooked food the specials are always nice and they change them regularly. Staff always friendly and helpful. Only little negative is the wine is a little pricey for a 175 ml glass.

Thank Tonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Manager at Portivo Lounge Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we’re happy to hear that you enjoy what we offer here at Portivo. I'm sorry to hear that you find our wine prices a little on the pricey side; we try to serve the nicest wines for the most competitive prices that we are able. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my daughter and it seemed a nice bar/ restaurant. It was busy at lunchtime and there was quite a queue to order food and a little wait for it but the ambience is really nice. The paninis were well worth waiting for and as moving to the area soon I'm sure I'll be back

Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Manager at Portivo Lounge Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back to Portivo some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Love this place, got a good vibe, only trouble is it gets very busy, lunch times and evenings. Had a few good nights here. Food good, decor old and new, seating upstairs as well as downstairs and outside too. Really nice venue.

Thank 370AngelaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Manager at Portivo Lounge Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We do get very busy and are trying our best to improve ways of speeding up service. However, we do hope that the lovely surroundings and food and drink provide you with a reason to persevere with us! See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portivo Lounge Gloucester also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Portivo Lounge Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing