We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hubble Bubble Coffee House

Hubble Bubble Coffee House
Ranked #5 of 321 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great food, beautiful location and friendly staff. What more could you want? I highly recommend this little place. We live in Gloucester and only went due to the reviews on Trip Advisor and we are so glad we did. You may need to get there early as it does get busy due to its size. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bombshelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    66
    21
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Make sure you try the homemade lemonade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After hearing lots of great things about this place my friend and I decided to try it at lunchtime on a much needed day off.
We sat outside which is great for people spotting although it was absolutely baking in the sunshine (perhaps table umbrellas would be good but there again our 'summers are a bit hit and miss!)
We both tried the fresh home made lemonade which comes in the cutest kilner jars with handles - with lots of lemon slices and ice (perfect for such a hot day). Food wise I had a doorstep sandwich which was massive and came with dinky little dishes of couscous and coleslaw. The bread was proper 'cutty' bread and overflowing with filling.
Cannot wait to go back and work my way through the menu, the burgers look amazing! Also looking forward to taking my veggie husband as loads of meat free options and sweet potato chips - his fav!
Oh and the girls that work in there are lovely and so helpful...I think this maybe my new fav place and def worth a trip over from Cheltenham.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank erinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is definitely the only Cafe to visit in Gloucester. A hidden cornucopia full of the tastiest treats, everything seems to be homemade, there were biscuits, cakes of all sorts, salads, burgers, specials, although we only had burgers all the other food coming out of the kitchen looked really scrummy, cant wait to go back again! Very good value for money too. Part of a very interesting shop selling Witchy type items and apparently everyone working there is a Witch!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, good value and nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hubble Bubble Cafe is situated right outside a main entrance to the Gloucester Cathedral and a very nice cobbled street. There were 8 of us and we were unable to book for a weekday lunch, but we managed to find a few tables outside and put them together.

We ordered our food from the till and the drinks came out almost straight away. Their homemade lemonade was fantastic, and any cafe that serves Fentiman's cola rather than the sugar water served in most places get my approval!

When the food came out we were all very impressed, large burgers, big portions and great coleslaw. The staff were very knowledgeable about their food and ingredients and were very friendly and assertive.

I would recommend this cafe to anyone in Gloucester who wants a quick and fantastic lunch. If I had one criticism it's that the cafe is connected to another shop which was burning incense and although nice, it was very strong. I would 100% go back!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visited yesterday and had a super lunch. The restaurant is very close to the Cathedral and the food is of really good quality, unpretentious but slghtly quirky. It's good to find an independent delivering this quality and not run-of-the-mill. Ideal for snack or light meal with reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hubble Bubble Coffee House also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Hubble Bubble Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing