We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed if visiting Gloucestershire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jet Age Museum

Jet Age Museum
Ranked #2 of 70 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dedicated to the preservation of Gloucestershire's rich aviation heritage, Jet Age Museum is an all-volunteer, registered charity. We tell the story of the Gloster Aircraft Company, focussing on the first Allied jet flight. Our mission is the preserve the past and inspire the future by telling the stories of the people and places that put our County at the forefront of the aerospace industry.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not to be missed if visiting Gloucestershire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a fantastic place to visit and it's only going to get better in the future. Plans are in place to expand the hangar space for more exhibits being restored and even an educational area.
Brilliant, children of all ages between 3 and 103 will love it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank djrose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    63
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a museum with a difference and a great place to visit for young and old alike. The exhibits are excellent, the staff friendly and informative and the cafe serves delicious snacks.
This is very much work in progress and the next phases are being planned and when complete this will be one of the major attractions in Gloucestershire.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RickH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab Day out for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great place for adults and children alike.
Loved being able to go up in the Vulcan Bomber and learn all about it. Very informative and friendly staff who are more than willing to talk you through the history of the aircraft. My son loves Biggles and it has a fab cafe with fab cake !!
Definately recommend a visit or two !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Down memory lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I recently visited this museum with two friends, one of whom has dementia. It was amazing as the sight of the aircraft obviously brought up vivid memories. He happily chatted away with the staff who was able to give lots of details about the various exhibits. The museum is continually evolving and we were told that there is an official open weekend on the 10th and 11th of May and that they have a number of events happening. We will definitely be back to see this. The Jet Age Museum has free entry but does depend on donations and after such a warm welcome and great support from the volunteers on duty, we were more than happy to make a donation. If you are interested in aviation, then the Jet Age Museum is a must.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren L, Trustee at Jet Age Museum, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind feedback; it's pleasing to know our museum bought the memories flooding back for your friend. Our official opening gala weekend is being held on 10/11th May, where, weather permitting, we'll be offering helicopter rides, vintage pleasure flights and trial flying lessons alongside our other exhibits and displays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Fantastic Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited during the Easter break with my parents and two young sons. My Dad is a big aviation buff so this has rubbed off on me when growing up and is now being passed on again to my sons. The Jet Age Museum was perfect for all of us with a fascinating collection of aircraft (some original, some replicas to fill a gap such as the beautiful Gamecock) and nose sections to explore and in the case of the "Biggles" plane and my sons get very attached to!!!

The museum is very nicely laid out with nice natural lighting from the big open glazed front that looks out over Staverton airfield and the comings and goings of planes and helicopters there. All the volunteers on hand were very knowledgeable and it is clearly a labour of love for many.

The fact that the museum is free is the icing on the cake (though we were more than happy to leave a donation) and we will definitely be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rooster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jet Age Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jet Age Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing