We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just had a three night break at this hotel as it was near to Gloucester where we were visiting. The reception staff were lovely and friendly at all times. The rooms were very clean and spacious as we had a family room and it was situated overlooking the car park so was not too noisy. We had two evening meals at the Wheatstone Inn and were very impressed with the staff and the food. There was also another pub just left at the next roundabout past the main road which was called 'The Greyhound' and they also had nice reasonable food. Near to the hotel was the Virgin Active Gym which offers day passes and a swimming pool and there was also a bowling alley and indoor play area very close by so lots of facilities available. It was very easy to find the hotel and also to travel into Gloucester itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

J Gilbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

I am a big fan of the Premier Inn, but I have to say I would not recommend this one until they get some english speaking staff in the restuarant.

Evening meal worked out ok, but they couldn't tell us anything about the dishes on offer, the english was just about good enough to take orders, nothing more.

Breakfast was a disaster. As usual my wife got porridge made with Soya, they understood the sell by date on the Soya package, but not the use within 3 days of opening. You really don't want the lumpy bits !

Mine was worse - Asked for no tomatoes, correctly written on the booking sheet. Arrived with tomatoes (tinned runny variety). So I sent it back. Same breakfast came back just on a new plate with no tomatoes, but lots of tomatoe stains. Did not eat it. Gave up tyring to explain, need someone who can speak english.

Full marks for premier Inn refunding 2 of the 3 breakfasts, but I feel obliged to warn others. I would want to know. We could have gone anywhere, just choose this as it is near somewhere our son goes for work and we were trying to convert him from holiday Inn to Premier Inn. We failed he won't go near it again.

Room Tip: One side faces main road, one side faces car park, I think you know which side to ask for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to improve standards and provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay. Thank you also for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant. This is not a Whitbread run establishment however, we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I chose this Premier Inn largely because of its location - we had a family party nearby. It did not, however, disappoint. We received a friendly welcome, the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and adequate. There was a little noise, presumably from the road, but it didn't disturb our sleep. I like being able to adjust the temperature of the room, and the 30 mins free wifi. I opted to include breakfast next door, which represented good value for me as I travelled with my son who ate for free. The breakfast was tasty but they seemed under staffed and food/cups etc were not replenished as quickly as they could have been with an extra pair of hands.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the carpark, not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LE4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just had a three night break at this hotel. The reception staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean, lovely big bed, nice bathroom too. We had a meal in the Wheatstone Inn, the staff were great and made a fuss of our little boy. The meal was good and hot. On the down side breakfast was served in here, it was served buffet style, the food could have been warmer, but it was ok. We paid just £125 for three nights with breakfast for two adults and one child and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Across the car park is a bowling alley and childrens soft play centre, this was great for my little one and only cost a pound for him to go in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank difah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Reception was excellent and the staff undertook their duties in a fully transparent way without being "in your face". All in all a very good stay in the Premier Inn Gloucester.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the back of the hotel away from the motorway as the rooms are warm and shoulf you ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stopped over at Barnwood as we were going to family wedding. We had a lovely lunch at the local inn next door good quality food. The hotel as you would expect friendly staff good for families, couples ect and a good nights sleep. Hearing a family at our next table they were at the end of their weeks holiday, wished we had more time to stay there and visit the sute in and around glos. Though i think £7.95 for breakfast was a bit steep you could eat as much as you like plenty to choose from and there were cheaper options of lighter/continental breakfasts available.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siddylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Simple, friendly staff and prices were good. Very good food in restaurant next door. Hotel very close to large Sainsbury store, good especially for emergency purchases etc.
Good overall, would have preferred to have lobby room & bar to get away from the room especially for people with younger children.

Room Tip: Ground floor room, you can hear some noise from upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSSV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,184 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.5 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £44 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing