We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheltenham race trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cheltenham race trip”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked this for six people...three twin rooms for the November Open meeting at Cheltenham racecourse.
We arrived early @ 9 o'clock in the morning but they managed to have our rooms ready and waiting which was excellent.
Two very nice receptionists..polite and helpful..rooms super..very clean and warm..everything available..wi.fi..hairdryer..soap..shampoo..tea,coffee etc.
The rooms were cleaned and tidied every morning.
Couldn't be faulted in any way..EXCELLENT STAY!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We are thrilled to hear you had such an excellent stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    203
    58
    14
    14
See reviews for
168
189
21
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A lot of Premier Inns are next to roads, but this one is next to an very busy (right through the night|) dual carriageway. It was like trying to sleep next to a race track. I asked to be moved to the other side of the hotel away form the road, which they did. So make sure you ask for a room away from the road or better still stay in one of the many other hotels in the area not next to busy roads.

The standard of accommodation was to the good standard you would expect from Premier Inn. In fact, the bathroom looked like it had been recently updated. Only negative comment is that the TV should have been in a museum!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_Travel_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment caused by the road noise but I am glad to hear the receptionist was able to move you to a quieter room. We really appreciate all feedback as it enables us to make the relevant changes to improve our guests’ experience. We hope you continue to choose Premier Inn.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a great hotel. It is just off the M5 and is a short walk to a supermarket. We stayed in a family room with a double and two single beds. The staff were very friendly and helpfully. We did not eat in the pub for breakfast but it looked clean and presentable from the outside. There was a good amount of parking. All in all a really nice premier inn

Room Tip: Go for a family room as there is more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We are so pleased you had a nice stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Crisp clean room, very helpful and friendly staff who really made an effort to make our stay as east as possible with a toddler. Really spacious room which was extremely comfortable. Good food at the restaurant. Great location for getting into Gloucester and surrounding areas. Overall a cracking hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We really appreciate all feedback and we love to have such positive comments. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back to Gloucester Barnwood Premier Inn.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

An excellent PI with all the usual amenities apart from the ability to have breakfast at 7am on a Saturday. Many of us are staying because of business and need to eat early. I have found this variation before and suggest breakfast times should be published on the web site. This would have influenced my decision about using this PI rather than another one in the area.

As someone wrote the hotel is next to a busy dual carriageway but the secondary glazing stopped all the noise.

Even more important was the fact that an air conditioning unit was on the wall and we were able to keep the room to a sensible temperature.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for leaving such a positive review. I apologise for the inconvenience of the breakfast times not being available on our website. This is due to them varying from site to site depending on many different factors but we do appreciate the feedback and our times will be reviewed. We are pleased to hear that apart from the breakfast times you believe us to be an excellent Premier Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Good food, excellent service and friendly and helpful staff. Alongside the Premier Inn it's a bonus. The breakfast menu was very much up to the standard of many Premier Inn's but the evening meal menu was surprisingly varied and used many locally sourced ingredients.




  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are thrilled to receive such positive feedback and that we live up to the standard of Premier Inn you have come to expect. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The best night's sleep we've had in ages! A wonderfully comfortable bed in a generously spacious room. No noticeable traffic noise although the dual carriageway was visible from our room. Polite, welcoming and helpful staff. The adjacent Chef and Brewer provided a wholesome and reasonably priced meal with large portions.
Overall great value and highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlanD411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are delighted with the review you have shared. Its always helpful to receive feedback and excellent when it is so positive. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing