We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wheatsheaf Inn, Gloucester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Nice clean pub, always made to feel welcome. Good choice on menu and specials board, Fish Pie is awesome! All reasonably priced. Next to Premier Inn - walking distance. No need to book, but recommended for larger parties.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaysrus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review of our neighbouring restaurant, I will gladly pass on your comments. It’s always nice to hear when our guests enjoy our facilities. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

the bed was large and comfy, the room was spacious and clean, close enough for our visit to the cathedral, outlets and Forest of Dean.
there seemed to be a lot of noises such as water in the pipes heating unit was really loud, once I opened the window we couldn't seem to get it closed again and the decor was a little dated, but was good for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmytots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry you were not totally satisfied with your stay, this is not what we strive for. If you had a disturbed night’s sleep because of this please would you ring me on 01452 634378 to discuss the matter further. Thank you.
Kind regards
Sue Hughes
Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Four of us stay'd here for a three day break (two couple's) the price was great, the rooms (as in all the Premier inn's we have stay'd in) are clean,bright, large and the bed is to die for & great staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarletterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us while staying with us with friends. We really appreciate the positive feedback you have taken the time to leave us. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great staff, comfortable bed, pillows and room as always with a premier but hotel is due a refurb so room was not as modern s other Premier Inns.
The first room they gave us was very noisy due to the wind blowing through the window. we were moved to a ground floor room and this was fine.
The staff dealt with our complaint very well and we were moved without any tears or tantrums from the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveh1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

I am pleased to hear the team were able to help when you found your room to be noisy due to extreme weather we experienced. I am glad you were still able to enjoy your stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a nice room. The location is ok but be prepeared to drive everywhere as it is in the middle of an industrial estate. Breakfast was at the neighbouring pub which was good. Although there are several Premier Inns where there is a better selection. It would be good if the hotel struck a deal with the neighbouring Virgin fitness centre and pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pops1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback so we can make positive changes. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Made a last minute booking due to weather and managed to nab the last room. Huge double bed. Clean room. The weather was horrendous and although not the hotels fault per se the wind blew back through the venting system in the bathroom all night. I had to leave the light on in the end so the fan stayed on.

Good for what I needed it for.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We are pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you when we experienced the dreadful weather but hope to welcome you back again under better circumstances! Its great to receive the feedback, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Checked in with family and first thing I noticed was that the hotel doesn't have a kitchen neither do they provide a microwave. Quite difficult to cook something for my 1.5 year old daughter. No phones in room either. Only one restaurant and very limited choice of foods. Indians will find it quite difficult to manage

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank posty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I am sorry to hear you found your stay to not be as expected. Unfortunately at Premier Inn we do not offer kitchen facilities. However if you speak with the individual receptionist, at the site, they may be able to offer a solution for you. I do hope this experience doesn’t deter you from choosing Premier Inn in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,200 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
912 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing