We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Gloucester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A modern, clean, comfortable and typical Premier Inn, situated on the outskirts of Gloucester but also handy for road / motorway access. This hotel represented very good value for money and has a very good restaurant just next door. Given that it's not in a residential area the evening restaurant was very popular for mid-week, and booking might be advisable. A good base to venture into Gloucester or further afield.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are away from the road side of the building (suspect adequate double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnEandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for leaving such a positive review of our hotel. I am happy you enjoyed our stay with us and will pass your compliments onto our neighbouring restaurant. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights on the first floor in room 123. Clean and typical Premier Inn Standard. Useful Air Conditioning Facility and carpark. Apart from hearing someone snoring, I could not fault it.

The bathroom required some new sealant in places but that did not affect my stay.

Echo comments about the adjoining restaurant - AVOID! Please drive to Gloucester which is 10 minutes away or there are a few eateries just outside before you enter the City Centre.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the end of the corridor so less footfall going past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r52goo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of our hotel. As with our previous responses, the restaurant manager has been made aware of the problems that occurred and is implementing measures to prevent them happening again. We do hope you still continue to use Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. We wanted to spend the day in Gloucester without using the car, Thought the local buses would be a good idea, receptionist, said it takes about 15mins walk and buses every 10 minutes, only £3.50 all day, husband has a pass, very nice Brewster pub near to bus stop, had good meal before returning to Premier Inn for great night's sleep before heading on home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a complimentary review. We are always happy to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you continue to use Premier Inn in the future!

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just spent three nights at this Premier Inn. Rooms as expected although a little noisy at times which I put down to it being very busy. Not the most welcoming of staff but certainly functional.
The chargeable wifi, supplied by Arqiva, was very slow which, again, was probably due to congestion from the hotel being full and everyone have smartphones and tablets.

The main downside to this Premier Inn is the awful restaurant next door, The Wheatstone Inn. The service is terrible and the food generally poor. I ended up eating at the local Sainsbury's (5 minute walk) and had better quality food with frendlier service at a reasonable price.

The service road for the Premier Inn does seem popular as a sleepover spot with HGVs and there is some noise from the refrigerated trailers and the usual detritus left by drivers.

Rating is poor to average due to the absolutely terrible restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Streety_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry you experienced problems whilst staying with us. The fact that you did not find the staff welcoming is very disconcerting, I can assure you this is not the norm and your comments have been passed onto our hotel manager, this is not what we strive to achieve. The refrigerated trailer incident was a one off and has been addressed by the manager. At Premier Inn we offer a Good Night Guarantee, if you would like to discuss this please contact us direct on 01452 634378. The manager of our neighbouring restaurant has been made aware of the problems experienced and is taking measures to ensure this does not happen again. I do hope you continue to use Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a good welcome at this premier inn, the staff were very helpful.The rooms were clean and although the hotel was busy with lots of children staying we all had a good sleep.The problems began at breakfast in the neighbouring inn,the Wheatstone.We had pre booked and paid for a breakfast and on arrival were shown to a table,the restaurant was packed,we had to ask for basic items such as cups for coffee,teaspoons,bread for toasting as nothing was being relplenished.We waited and waited for someone to take our cooked breakfast order and eventually after having to find a server to ask if they could take our order we waited and waited again. Infact we waited an hour for our breakfast and had to eventually leave without eating it as we had a prior appointment.Very poor customer service,and I would suggest more staff are needed to cover busy times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us at the hotel, even during such a busy time. However, I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience whilst dining next door at the restaurant. The manager has been made aware of the problems that arose and is taking measures to prevent them happening again. We do hope you continue to use Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This Premier Inn is a ten minute drive from Gloucester city center. There is a 10 pin bowling alley next door and a bike path that runs right by the hotel. A five minute walk on the path over a bridge brings you to a Sainsbury's. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the front desk staff are friendly. There is free parking on site and a pretty good pub restaurant next door (Wheatstone Inn). Very happy with our one night stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a complimentary review. I will pass on your comments to all members of our team. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This Premier Inn is very good but if you stay here don't plan to eat next door. The service in the Wheatstone Inn is very slow and the food quality is average. It is not really suitable for children either.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lateroom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review regarding our hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant experience next door at the restaurant. I have informed the manager and she is looking into rectifying the issues you mentioned. I do hope this will not deter you using Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,184 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.5 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing