We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
North Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have stayed at this Premier Inn twice now as it's a good location to meet up with our friends. The hotel ticks all the boxes - good sized room, huge clean and comfortable bed, great shower. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the busy main road so it was rather noisy, but it wasn't too much of a problem. On the whole everything was good with the hotel.

What lets this hotel down is the very disappointing breakfast experience. The pub next door  is very cosy and quaint, but that is the only thing in its favour unfortunately. Although not busy on the first morning everything was very disorganised and haphazard. Things were not replenished adequately - we had to ask for more fresh fruit, teaspoons and bowls. The room smelt of burning toast and the toaster was rubbish - it took three attempts to make our toast. I felt that the porridge portion size was very small - when we stay at the Premier Inn in Birmingham they give you a choice of small or large. I always have the small, but you get loads - presented in a bowl with a lid and honey on the side. The worst thing was the hot water for the tea and also the coffee was not hot enough and also had a strange taste. I told the man and he said he would make me a hot coffee, but he obviously forgot! In the end after waiting for ages, I decided to make one in the room. To end on a positive note, my partner's brother said his cooked breakfast was ok. Such a shame really as we love the hotel - we are going to try the other Premier next visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    210
    58
    14
    14
See reviews for
176
190
21
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you get the right price Premier Inns are good value and standard, which this one lived up to. Given some negative comments I was apprehensive re the attached Chef & Brewer pub. Remembering pub food is not fine dining it was very acceptable. Main courses of slow cooked Shoulder of Lamb and Duck Breast on spicy noodles were very good. Both tender and well presented. Service was efficient and friendly. Would use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinniethepoohUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. I am glad you had a pleasant experience whilst staying at our hotel and dining at our neighbouring restaurant. I have passed your comments onto both teams. Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Another Great Premier Inn. Myself and my boyfriend stayed on the top floor. The room looked to the side of the A417 but we didn't hear any noise due to the double glazing.The room looked newly re-furbished and was immacuately clean. It was great that there was a bath the water had fantastic pressure and loads of hot water.
We both ate at the Wheatstone inn for two nights running and couldn't fault it in any way, great staff and great Vegetarian choices for me. Also the breakfast was great with loads of choice and the staff were helpful and friendly.
What more could you ask for? I would definately recommend this hotel and the Wheatstone Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review of our hotel and neighbouring Wheatstone Inn. Your comments have been passed onto both teams. It is always lovely knowing when guests have had such an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, a family of 4. The room was nice and reasonable value, although it was cold and we initially spent a while trying to turn up the heating unsuccessfully. Turned out that you had to ask at reception.
The much vaunted 'full English' breakfast was a real dissappointment. Food rather under cooked, cold tea and coffee, wet crockery, juice and milk spilt over the serving table (lids always fall off), toast machine kept jamming, so lots of toast burning and smoke. I definitely don't recommend the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet_Drift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for finding the time to leave us a review. I apologise for the temperature of the room, the heating is a little tricky to control and, as you said, can also be adjusted from reception if you are having problems. At Premier Inn we offer a Good Night Guarantee, if you would like to discuss this please ring us direct on 01452 634378. As with our previous responses, the restaurant problems have been addressed by the manager. I do hope you continue to use Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A modern, clean, comfortable and typical Premier Inn, situated on the outskirts of Gloucester but also handy for road / motorway access. This hotel represented very good value for money and has a very good restaurant just next door. Given that it's not in a residential area the evening restaurant was very popular for mid-week, and booking might be advisable. A good base to venture into Gloucester or further afield.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are away from the road side of the building (suspect adequate double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnEandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of our hotel. I am happy you enjoyed our stay with us and will pass your compliments onto our neighbouring restaurant. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights on the first floor in room 123. Clean and typical Premier Inn Standard. Useful Air Conditioning Facility and carpark. Apart from hearing someone snoring, I could not fault it.

The bathroom required some new sealant in places but that did not affect my stay.

Echo comments about the adjoining restaurant - AVOID! Please drive to Gloucester which is 10 minutes away or there are a few eateries just outside before you enter the City Centre.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the end of the corridor so less footfall going past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r52goo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of our hotel. As with our previous responses, the restaurant manager has been made aware of the problems that occurred and is implementing measures to prevent them happening again. We do hope you still continue to use Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. We wanted to spend the day in Gloucester without using the car, Thought the local buses would be a good idea, receptionist, said it takes about 15mins walk and buses every 10 minutes, only £3.50 all day, husband has a pass, very nice Brewster pub near to bus stop, had good meal before returning to Premier Inn for great night's sleep before heading on home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Reception at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a complimentary review. We are always happy to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you continue to use Premier Inn in the future!

Kind Regards
Lawrie Walsh
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,101 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing