We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here for the RIAT 2014. I was looking for a reasonable quality value-for-money basic hotel and that is exactly what I thought of this Premier Inn. It is reasonably priced and the accommodation is great. The rooms are large and well maintained with a good sized bathroom. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The pub next door serves good evening meals and an excellent buffet breakfast. It does get a bit busy at peak times but so does everywhere else. Overall I would strongly recommend this place for a standard overnight stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a third floor room facing way from the dual carriageway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

As usual our room was good, everything was clean and fresh. We had a massive six foot bed and though it was very noisy outside when we closed the triple glazing it was fine. The air conditioner, which we operated, kept the room at a perfect temperature. The receptionist was polite and friendly. We had our evening meal at the attached pub, that was the reason for only three stars. Although the food wasn't bad when we asked the waitress what vegetables were served she said she would find out, ten minutes later after watching her take other orders, clear tables etc we asked a passing waiter he returned within a couple of minutes with the information.

The Chef brought the meals out and when I queried what appeared to be a slightly greasy pancake he explained that they were having some issues with the "Yorkshire Puddings. " The leeks were a few dark green strips which I found beneath the carrots. My Husband had the Steak & Ale Pie which he found to be excellent though his leeks were no better than mine. When a friendly lady who was apparently the Manager cleared the table she asked if everything was ok I said that the Yorkshire Pudding, which was still on my plate minus a small taste, should not have been served if they were not correct she agreed and said that she had taken the whole meal off the menu and said that the tea and coffee we had just ordered would not be put on the bill. When asked for the bill we waited 10-15 minutes then spotted the Manager from whom we again requested the bill. It is a good job we are honest as we could easily have walked out!

The following morning we went down for breakfast at five past nine to find the restaurant closed, we were told the cook had gone home but there was some fruit and cereals left. We declined
.
The receptionist organised a refund of the £17.50 and we had breakfast at Asda. Apparently it stated on a card we were given that breakfast was served until nine but this was not mentioned when we booked in and as we had just been staying at two other Premiers we assumed we could get breakfast until ten or eleven o'clock as we could at the others where the receptionist told us the times that breakfast was served.

We always stay at Premier Inns and recommend them to everyone but this restaurant, which apparently does not belong to them but with whom they have an agreement has let them down. Please Premier sort them out or build your own, they are letting you down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

very friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of car parking. Great rooms - spacious with lovely facilities- very comfy beds and 2 pillows each available without going to reception!
We were staying for one night on the way to wales for a festival. Friends had recommended these before and this was first time we'd stayed in one - definitely will be staying in one again -have already booked up for Norfolk!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in June to attend a wedding nearby and we've previously had great experience of Premier Inns. Now, don't get me wrong, it's not a bad place and for the money we laid it was fine. However, there were a few disappointing things:

There was only one bath towel in our room on arrival. We were both booked in to the room. Ok, I'll ring down to reception to request another, only there was no phone in the room.

The TV and bed were positioned completely awkwardly to each other meaning you couldn't really watch TV from bed (well, not if you wanted to actually see anything) as they were as opposite sides of the room.

The bed/mattress was very hard and did not make for a good nights sleep making the good night sleep guarantee seem rather ironic. Both our backs and necks were aching the following day.

The bathroom shower gel/shampoo dispenser would only dispense tiny amounts at a time making showering a bit more laborious that needs be.

Only 2 tea bags which we thought was a bit stingy given we were there for almost 24 hours.

The service on arrival was ok, not rude in any way at all but slightly lacked the professionalism we've experienced in other Premier inns.

At breakfast, it felt like some of the stuff was missing that would normally be out, when we wanted a hearty breakfast to keep us going all day we sensed a slight negative vibe like we were ordering too much but again nothing directly rude as such but you got an uncomfortable sense and then when it came out our order wasn't complete. We asked for the missing item which they were only too happy to do so that was fine but when it came out, it wasn't what was actually originally ordered. At this point, we didn't have the energy to raise it again especially as it wasn't a big deal, but little things like this affect the overall experience of a customer's stay.

It's an ok place to stay if you get it at a good deal price and you are using it as a base. However, if we'd paid a lot of money to stay here, I would've have been even more disappointed as didn't think it represented great value for money. I've rated it average because we got the room on a sale deal. However if we'd paid full rate I'd have given it 2.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Always stay at Premier inns, we were breaking up our journey to Cornwall from Scotland with an overnight stay.
Hotel was very nice, clean and very spacious, ate out at attached restaurant not as impressed with this, staff couldnt supply salad cream with a Salad Main Meal, seemed like a language barrier, can, t blame Premier Inn for this.
Unfortunately we were woken @3am with very noisy gusts in the next room to us, night porter was in attendance and calmed the situation down after about 20 mintutes or so.
Premier Inn staff were excellent and offered us our good night guarantee without us even asking for it.
Lovely hotel and Staff but unfortunate that guests can, t behave themselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterjrevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice clean establishment, like the "quiet zones" and key to be swiped to gain access to corridors which lead to rooms. Pub served really good food and bottles of wine which were not OTT on price, breakfast also was good, certainly go back if in the area again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187045Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was good. Up to the usual high standards. Breakfast in the pub next door was good although they appeared massively short staffed and struggle to keep up, the staff were all working really hard and doing a great job running around to keep it together. No complaints though due to their hard work .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank My223355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
641 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
852 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing