We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this premier inn by mistake! We normally stay at the Gloucester Business Park, but my wife mistakenly booked the Barnwood (which is equally as good) location. However, it was an very good stay. The rooms were the usual high standard and the inclusion of air-conditioner was a great bonus on a hot night. Everything was as it should have been and the price was great. The only slight disappointment was that the staff were not as attentive as others we had stayed at and we were surprised we could not book a table at the Pub next door, something you can do at other Premier Inns. Overall, this was a very good stay and we will use it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoteapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    192
    58
    14
    14
See reviews for
160
181
21
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped here with our two children add six and three. The room was comfortable enough for one night, but a 'family room' stretches the imagination somewhat: it isn't a family room. The room was only slightly bigger than a standard double with one single bed up by the window and the other shoved in the space between our bed and the bathroom. In fact, we had to squeeze round the bed to get into the bathroom. We had a terrible night's sleep but that was down to an almighty thunderstorm. However, we were kept awake until late as our room was directly over reception and near to the pub.

We had paid for breakfast so went to the pub in the morning. It felt completely chaotic and we had to wait around 20 minutes to be seated. Breakfast starts at 8, but the hotel was full of children and children get up early! There were hold-ups while large parties were seated, and one poor chap who could see his companion already at a table was made to wait. The food kept on running out too.

It was okay, but I certainly wouldn't stay here for more than one night, and definitely not with more than one child.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank leftthecatathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for finding the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback as it helps us to make improvements when needed. I am sorry you did not have a good stay with us, I can assure you this is not what we strive to achieve. Premier Inn offers a Good Night Guarantee to all guests, please feel free to contact us direct to discuss this. I have made the restaurant Manager aware of your comments.
Kind Regards
Sue Hughes
Gloucester Barnwood Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

during a stay at the above hotel we were only in the room under 2 hrs only for another guest to access our room from a key which was issued by the reception staff as they had double booked the room, which in itself is unacceptable but it was a invasion of privacy & a breach of our security that our room key had been issued, therefore fortunatley for us we were still in the room as our personnal belongings could have been stolen or personal informartion retrieved without our notice by complete srtrangers

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. The security and privacy of our guests is of paramount importance to us and I apologise for the upset the incident has caused you. A full investigation was carried out at the time which ascertained that you had been checked into the wrong room, for which we sincerely apologise. I can assure you this is an isolated incident, we have taken this matter very seriously, retraining has been instigated and the necessary corrective action has been taken to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review.

Kind regards
Sue Hughes
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've been to a lot of Premier Inns and I'm surprised to not be giving a great review. Yes this hotel has been updated with aircon units - a godsend in this heatwave. But...we booked a disabled access room and a family room. The disabled access room had an ugly bathroom, with a hair on the toilet seat and a half flushed loo.

It also had an extra low bed. I have taught 'Health and Social Care' and there are very few disabilities that require a low bed. I have arthritis and if I'd lowered myself onto the bed I would have had great difficulty getting back up again. The bathroom door was an extra wide sliding door which looked as though it had been put together by an amateur carpenter and was extremely heavy.
I asked if I could change but the staff said 'no as pther people who have booked a double room won't want a disabled room' which is an admission that the disabled room is sadly lacking. (There were rooms on the top floor, but what would I have done when you can't use a lift in a fire?)

Our family room was big enough for 4 and was OK - basic but smart enough. The bathroom seemed quite new. This was lucky as I had a go at using the bath with the rails in the disabled room and couldn't get more than luke warm out of the strange bath controls. I had a shower in the family room bathroom and this was fine.

Oh, to be fair, the bed in the family room was large and comfortable.

Now we've deducted, that maybe we were given one free breakfast to make up for our problems. But unfortunately the breakfast area was total chaos - no sausages, then no glasses, later no cups, had to reach over hot things to get to other things. Staff running about carrying heavy loads like crazy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for finding the time to leave us a review. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves with high standards of cleanliness and I apologise we did not meet those standards in this instance; I can assure you this is a very rare occurrence. The height of all Premier Inn accessibility beds is the same, as directed. We are aware that some guests need the bed higher so provide bed raisers on request. Please do not hesitate to request these on your next visit. I have made the Manager of the restaurant aware of your comments.
Kind Regards
Sue Hughes
Gloucester Barnwood Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here for the RIAT 2014. I was looking for a reasonable quality value-for-money basic hotel and that is exactly what I thought of this Premier Inn. It is reasonably priced and the accommodation is great. The rooms are large and well maintained with a good sized bathroom. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The pub next door serves good evening meals and an excellent buffet breakfast. It does get a bit busy at peak times but so does everywhere else. Overall I would strongly recommend this place for a standard overnight stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a third floor room facing way from the dual carriageway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

As usual our room was good, everything was clean and fresh. We had a massive six foot bed and though it was very noisy outside when we closed the triple glazing it was fine. The air conditioner, which we operated, kept the room at a perfect temperature. The receptionist was polite and friendly. We had our evening meal at the attached pub, that was the reason for only three stars. Although the food wasn't bad when we asked the waitress what vegetables were served she said she would find out, ten minutes later after watching her take other orders, clear tables etc we asked a passing waiter he returned within a couple of minutes with the information.

The Chef brought the meals out and when I queried what appeared to be a slightly greasy pancake he explained that they were having some issues with the "Yorkshire Puddings. " The leeks were a few dark green strips which I found beneath the carrots. My Husband had the Steak & Ale Pie which he found to be excellent though his leeks were no better than mine. When a friendly lady who was apparently the Manager cleared the table she asked if everything was ok I said that the Yorkshire Pudding, which was still on my plate minus a small taste, should not have been served if they were not correct she agreed and said that she had taken the whole meal off the menu and said that the tea and coffee we had just ordered would not be put on the bill. When asked for the bill we waited 10-15 minutes then spotted the Manager from whom we again requested the bill. It is a good job we are honest as we could easily have walked out!

The following morning we went down for breakfast at five past nine to find the restaurant closed, we were told the cook had gone home but there was some fruit and cereals left. We declined
.
The receptionist organised a refund of the £17.50 and we had breakfast at Asda. Apparently it stated on a card we were given that breakfast was served until nine but this was not mentioned when we booked in and as we had just been staying at two other Premiers we assumed we could get breakfast until ten or eleven o'clock as we could at the others where the receptionist told us the times that breakfast was served.

We always stay at Premier Inns and recommend them to everyone but this restaurant, which apparently does not belong to them but with whom they have an agreement has let them down. Please Premier sort them out or build your own, they are letting you down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

very friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of car parking. Great rooms - spacious with lovely facilities- very comfy beds and 2 pillows each available without going to reception!
We were staying for one night on the way to wales for a festival. Friends had recommended these before and this was first time we'd stayed in one - definitely will be staying in one again -have already booked up for Norfolk!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.5 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Address: Centre Seven, Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#1 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture down the road to the historic Gloucester Docks or cheer on a winner at Cheltenham Racecourse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing