We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here for one night to break our journey to Devon. The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly the lady at reception. The hotel needs some upgrading but served our requirements. Breakfast was included in our deal and was very good but I wouldn't have wanted to pay £8.50 for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbhoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    153
    96
    28
    16
See reviews for
130
172
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Super place - excellent basic restaurant attached.
We have had the same room on each of the five occasions that
we have been to this area. Lovely staff, excellent room

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevileRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Fairly convenient for Gloucester, this place is definitely in need of a big facelift! The reception staff were friendly and as efficient as one would expect. Going to the room, the carpets were past it and the corridors smelt musty. Pillow was awful, bed mediocre. Could open the bathroom door when lying in bed, so not exactly roomy. Have to say that the bathroom was spotless, and the breakfast staff were very welcoming. But if this is a typical Premier Inn, don't think I'll bother in future. I think I'd have felt robbed, even if it had been £29 a night, which it certainly wasn't. And to pay £10 a day for wi-fi is rather much!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

very enjoyable stay. fully recommended.
close to cheltenham for a bit of culture and even nearer to gloucester.
nice pub attached to the premier inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My visit was a first at a Premier Inn. I booked it when Premier Inns had a room sale in April 2011. The visit was surprisingly good, especially the staff in the breakfast room (friendly and helpful). I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgematesolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

What has happened to this hotel in the last year? When we stayed last March in order to attend the Cheltenham Festival we immediately booked again for this year. What a let down. It was tired, grubby and in need of serious renovation.

Initially we were offered an extremely small room which simply wasn't functional and asked to swap. We were moved to a room catering for disabled guests which had the advantage of being larger but the heating wasn't working and we were given a portable heater which omitted such little heat that the room was constantly cold. The room was also situated at the front of the hotel which meant that smokers congregated outside at all hours (the ashtray was thoughlessly fixed on the other side of the wall!) resulting in very little sleep.

We asked to be moved to a third room which turned out to be what we would have expected on arrival. For three nights including the meal deal cost us £408. I know that hotel prices reflected the Cheltenham Festival but it was very expensive for what we had.

The meal deal was a real disappointment. As we enjoyed breakfast so much last year we decided to take in the evening meal as well. In our ignorance we assumed we would be selecting from the main menu. This unfortunately wasn't the case as the meal deal choices appeared on a totally separate menu which we had to ask for (we were told that very few guests staying at the Premier Inn ate from the meal deal menu and indeed there were only four copies available in the whole of the restaurant.)

The menu was extremely limited and the included drink (we had the red wine) tasted disgusting. We had run out of anything we liked by the second night so we ate in Cheltenham for our third meal which having paid for a meal already rather went against the whole point of the meal deal.

The only saving grace was the staff, both in the hotel and the Oakwood Restaurant,in particular the two ladies who served at breakfast. They were always cheerful, welcoming and helpful.

Sadly, although we shall be attending the Cheltenham Festival again next year we will not be staying here. We have already booked in at the Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenballoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We expected to get the same standard as the Holiday Inn Express we stayed at recently. We expected a clean, modern bathroom, big soft beds and privacy. We are a couple with a 14 year old son. We booked the quad room and looked forward to rest and relaxation in a modern, clean, comfy, quiet hotel. We were disappointed when we walked in to find the room very cramped. No sign of the fourth bed (though we didn't need it). A teeny, tiny, super-cramped bathroom with an old, poorly cleaned bath (the smallest I've ever seen) and obvious grottiness - the taps were green and rusted round the edges. The bath was not clean. The shower was weak. The bathroom floor was old, yellowed plastic and the bathroom stank of baked urine (sorry, but that's the only way to describe it) . There was hardly room to turn around and the toilet dripped noisily and endlessly. I immediately banished my hopes for a rejuvenating shower and looked forward to going to sleep in the big, comfy looking bed. The room was freezing as a window had been propped wide open. So we shut this and turned up the thermostat and waited ages for the room to warm up. When we got in bed, we found the bed sheets smelt sour. There was no hint of any scent of washing powder or fabric conditioner. It just smelt like old sour lemons and faintly of urine. I finally got to sleep, only to be woken several times by the disturbing smell of the sheets and also by the chatter of people passing in the hallway and outside the window. There is a problem with a lack of sound proofing. The hotel seemed in general to be run down, poorly cleaned and poorly maintained. All the rooms including the breakfast room seemed very dark. However the hotel has very good customer service and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relatoins at Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Guest Relations Team and the Management team at this hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,075 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
788 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
Address: The Oakwood Tewkesbury Road | Twigworth, Gloucester GL2 9PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quaint village of Twigworth, near Hartpury College and the Nature in Art museum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester North Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing