We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap 'n' chearful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I stayed here with 6 friends for one night in mid May. There was a nice welcome, and teh room was spotless. The loo seat was slightly off centre but useable.

The bed was too firm for me, and it was a bit noisy as the room overlooked the courtyard.

Excelent bar with a good selection of real ale. Breakfast was OK. The usual full English was available, but no pastries, youghurts etc. Only 2 cereals on offer, kept in fiddly plastic containers that you had to extract with inadequate scoops.

For the price (£65 for the room, B&B), it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smcc1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

I have always wanted to stay in a galleried hostelry and I have now done it. It was not a disappointment in any way.The staff were all locals(unusual nowadays) and extremely friendly. The breakfasts were great, set me up for the day a treat.The carvery was good value.
It is a magnificent building,oozing history and charm. Well located for exploring the city.The docks and cathedral are a stones through away. Gloucester has lots of ancient sites hidden away, you could say the New Inn is hidden away. Seek it out. They sell real ale also...what a bonus!

Room Tip: The really old rooms 203 and 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwgansley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

It's very old, with an open courtyard, which is full of noisey drinkers until late in the evening. The food is appalling and in particular the breakfast, even when it was cooked individually. The room was large and comfortable, but peeling wallpaper and dirty ripped bed bases, was not attractive. The staff however were very friendly. It is one of a chain and interestingly, this is not identified on the web page, nor is there an ability to contact them directly, they clearly do not want to know what customers think. Finding the car park, with the aid of a detailed map and a Sat Nav was extremely difficult.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewInnGloucester, Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Hi,

We are dismayed to hear about your stay.

I will agree about directions and access to the hotel but in the last 600 years that the inn has been built the area around has changed somewhat. When you checked you in we sensed your agrivation in getting here which had an impact on your stay. All the various websites do all have ways for you to comunicate to us and directions.

We actively encourage our guest to communicate with us, hence our friendly staff. All you had to do was mention your issues and we would have done our utmost to review.

Lastly we are a city centre hotel with all the noises of a city center, so maybe i could suggest "You stay elsewhere also"


We thank you for your review and again apologise that it wasn't to your liking.


Regards

Mark M Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

There appears to be some renovation works underway. Our room was pre renovation and was a little tired, but hey the place is 400 years old what do you expect. It is a very old coaching inn with loads of history. It will never be a modern hotel, thats not why people go.
The staff are polite and helpful and the beer is good and the food we had was fairly good and at a good price.
Breakfast is buffet style and the bacon is great.
Great central location, but being on a pedestrian area I could see disabled access being a problem, we parked about 400m away in a multi storey without a working lift, other car parks were further.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buelligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed here on a friday night in April. After reading a few mixed reviews I was a bit sceptical as to what the hotel was like. I was so glad my partner booked here. The receptionist was really friendly and was so helpful when we asked directions to the Guildhall. We were in the "Alice in wonderland" room as the receptionist described... we wondered what she meant... walking up the stairs it was obvious how old this hotel was.. we reached our room.. a very tiny door.. when we opened the door we were met with a very big room. so lovely and bright. It was very clean and the bathroom had just been refurbished. The bed was so comfortable and large. The breakfast was lovely and ALL the staff were so friendly and polite. I can't wait to return to the hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodders40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewInnGloucester, Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Hello Mark here once more.

Just a quick update as to how we are getting on. As you can see prior we have had two not so good reviews, but still reviews we can learn from.

From our second and thrid prior review we have actioned a whole cultural change in housekeeping, addressing our standards and cleanliness. Donna has come on board as our head housekeeper and is helping us reach those standards.

Maybe premature but our latest review speaks volumes, we still have a long 2011 ahead of us, but we look forward to meeting you all.


Thank you for your valuable time.

Mark M Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

stayed for over a week,room was hardly touched by housekeeping,my toilet was absolutely filthy by the end of my stay,and absolutely stunk,i could say i dont think i had a cloth wiped around the room in all my time there.and my bed was not changed at all! nice place,some great staff they make u feel very welcome but needs to get the standards up!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa123064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

what a disapointment,the travelodge would of been a luxury! rooms were dirty,carpets was not hoovered,had bits of paper on floor, bed wasnt made properly,rooms very dusty,the tea tray was appaling we had one milk,and hardly anything on it,also the bathroom sink looked like it hadnt been cleaned,and the mirror not touched either,toilet was the same,discusting,i had to wipe with wet wipes before i used.
i will never return here especially to stay over night! keep away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewInnGloucester, Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Hello,

I'm very dismayed and upset to read your review. I don't honestly know how this has happened.

We have had an issue with staffing levels because it was Chelthnam Race Cup week and we have been very very busy. This is no excuse but i do apologise that this has happened.

You should have mentioned the problem and we would have bent over backwards to make up for such a dismal stay.

Please don't hesitate to call me on 01452 522177 to discuss this matter further.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I do hope you contact us to resolve the situation.


Thank you and apologies once more.


Mark M Cooke
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
390 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
892 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £52 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 12am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
The New Inn-Relaxinnz Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing