We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    223
    129
    80
    80
See reviews for
62
323
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked for one Saturday evening. The building is an old coaching inn and as such is full of character. There is wonderfully atmospheric courtyard. the rooms are good, but could do with a good deep cleanse maybe. the carpets were a bit worse for wear, there was a layer of dust on the skirting boards, and the there were things like the lampshades in the dining hall, were all scorched !! few little things but would make a such a difference if done. The place is perfectly situated right in the middle of the town centre. There is no on site parking and as the area is pedestrianized around it, so you will have to park and carry your cases to the hotel. There is entertainment in the bars, which I guess can get rowdy and noisy, at week-ends, and if you were after a get away from it all break, maybe this would not suit you. All in all a good place, with character.

Room Tip: You can not park anywhere near the hotel, and so be prepared to walk 5 mins or more with your cases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice full of character right in the centre of town ncp very close I stayed when working away I'd happily stay with the mrs only downfall was the tv was not digital or it would have the full marks

Nice friendly pub with friendly staff I high ley recommend

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Menzy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Getting There
===========
A Monday night stay booked by my Admin Team via Late Rooms so just had a postcode to get there. Useless as it's in a pedestrianised area so rang my wife for help. She went on the website http://www.newinn-hotel.co.uk and clicked on Directions only to find a couple of photos and the postcode!
So I rang the hotel and was told to park in the Bruton Way car park where they had a £2.50 deal (remember that for later) and was told to walk through the bus station.
So I parked and set off, lugging my heavy bag across the concrete jungle which is Gloucester town centre. Times must be hard as it was all Charity Shops...
The New Inn is on the Council maps but I still struggled to get my bearings (and I'm an ex-Army Map Reading Instructor!). Finally arrived nearly an hour after first driving into the city centre.

Checking In
=========
There is a finger post directing you around the courtyard - the sign for the Reception seemed to be pointing somewhere between the Restaurant and a corridor. Luckily a local took sympathy on me and directed me to the Desk which, apparently, used to be upstairs but now is in the Restaurant.
Seems my Late Rooms booking was causing consternation as the New Inn doesn't have a fax so 'someone was ringing up to pay for my stay'. Must have been OK as I was given my keys (yes keys on a tag with a separate activator fob for the electrics) and directed up the stairs where my room would be signposted. Actually every room was sign posted apart from mine (115) but I found it by the old Reception.

My Room
========
Floral curtains covered the window - a lovely sash window held open with a coat hanger looked out onto a little courtyard (by the wine bar?) with the very noisy extractor fan above the kitchen. Seagull poo on the windowsill was rather gross...
Bed was a 2-part divan double - nice bedding but the base was wonky and there was a nasty-looking stain on one side. Bed had real springs as they 'boinged' when you moved around; firm but comfortable. Headboard was fixed to the bed and had damaged the dado rail behind it. Furniture was pine in keeping with the retro-feel the Hotel had worked hard to achieve. They'd even managed to find an old CRT-type TV with poor picture and separate Freeview box, hence two remotes. How very quaint.
Teabags were just loose in a bowl - eugh. Free Wifi was a bonus - my usual hotel chains annoyingly charge you for what is now a basic human right! Bathroom fan didn't work and the bath and basin's plug chains were both broken. Two sets of towels and a nat were clean and well presented. Two toilet rolls were new but didn't match. Hair drier was one of those wall mounted tubey things. One pot of shower gel, lots of coffee sachets and three jammy dodger biscuits completed the 'freebies'. Overall the room was clean but very dated.

Restaurant & Bars
==============
Couldn't see a menu in my room so decided to walk out for a meal - as it was a school night I decided against a drink in any of the 4 bars so I cannot comment on the quality of food or drink but I did notice that they had a nice flat-screen TV in one of the bars! So why not in the rooms?

My Night
=======
Returning to my room I struggled to get the key in the lock 'cos the light wasn't working outside my room even though staff were coming and going to an adjacent office/store.
That bl@@dy kitchen fan stayed on until 9.30pm, waking me up at 6.30am when it was switched on again. Even with it off there was an annoying A/C fan that hummed away all night - sadly it wasn't cooling my room which was a bit stuffy.

Breakfast
========
The top step down to breakfast was loose on the 'take care when wet' staircase. Breakfast is in the restaurant - lots of dark wood and 1980s naffness. And why are the toilets called Lady's Powder Room and Gentleman's Cloakroom?
Coco pops! My favourite! Holding my bowl I asked if the two jugs of milk were semi-skimmed. Yes but No was the response. The waiter/receptionist went and got some for me. I ordered sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, hash brown and toast - brown. Weirdly I was given 3 half slices of toast - who had the fourth? Sausage was 2 inches long and bland, the bacon was ok, the hash brown was a bit oily but the egg was appalling - dry and horrible. [Please can someone reading this mention to the chef that scrambled egg is easy to make - use a fork to whisk up some eggs with a bit of milk, water (optional) and butter with a pinch of salt and pepper. In a saucepan or even a microwave you will end up with lovely scrambled egg - what the heck did he do to get these so wrong?]
I asked for Marmite and got Marmalade...

Checkout
========
No dramas and they give you a ticket for the car park. Sadly the cost is £3.50 not £2.50 as advised by last night's Receptionist.
On the way out I noticed a misplaced apostrophe on the Hotel's history on the wall - see if you can spot it!

Overall
======
Please put some directions on the website, please modernise the rooms (I don't mean lose the lovely beams, just get rid of the floral curtains etc and the pine) and please, please make the breakfast better!

Room Tip: 115 - noise from kitchen fan and nearby A/C or beer cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Region2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Lovely hotel with quirkiness one would expect with such an old building>Not a place to bring a large suitcase to carry up the many stairs. Historic building which has a lovely courtyard setting.
It is noisy but is in the city centre, and offers so much such as kariokee (Saturday night stay) and various pubs/clubs nearby so ideal for the night life of Gloucester.
Need to park elsewhere as no car park on site so ideally obtain a reference before heading into Gloucester.
Hotel could do with a bit of a spruce up- wouldn't take much- old lampshades changed, cobwebs attacked and a few touches in the bedrooms- but overall a lovely stay and will return.

Room Tip: The view of our room (306) was poor but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from a one night's stay to celebrate our anniversary. Room was lovely. Only negative was breakfast. No organisation. Requested tea for 2 - water cold. Asked for tea spoons - none in the hotel! Ordered breakfast but not asked if we wanted toast. Coffee pots empty. Tables not cleared. Staff spent the whole time apologising to guests who like us, were left waiting. All it needs is someone to organise it better and get the orders fast and tables cleared quickly. Such a shame as dining room was beautiful. I would definitely return but may book room only. Pity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorriss51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Ideally placed for town centre . Lovely old building. Rooms are dated. Hadn't been cleaned probably. No toilet paper, last guests towels and cups in bathroom. Told reception who cleaned cups and gave toilet paper but never cleaned the loo so had pleasure of looking at old skid marks!!! Pap test out of date for electrical items. Mattress old and lumpy so spent uncomfortable night with little sleep. Chose 4 poster room, wish didn't as looked like hadn't dusted for years.

Room Tip: not worth paying extra for 4 poster - just a dust catcher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Property: The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Thursday and Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 2am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
The New Inn-Relaxinnz Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing