We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More attention to detail needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This Hotel is sited perfectly in the centre of Gloucester, and as described by previous posts is a very old building. Therefore you should be prepared to put up with some of the quirks that the building throws at you.
What lets it down is the poor attention to detail in the rooms. In the wardrobe were broken coat hangers, shoe boxes and the top was very dusty. The carpet was quite stained and the bath panel was broken with a big split along it. The worst thing was the dirty toilet brush, please, please cleaner clean the brush after you have cleaned toilet
The breakfast was ok but it consisted of scrambled egg. To be fair another guest asked for other type,and it was provided so it would have been good to put a sign on the desk saying it was available.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the prices for the drinks were good.
Would I stay here again, on balance I would and would happily recommend it to my friends. But this hotel must learn to start looking at the little things and not to let it get any worse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

First off, the choices for an overall rating are inadequate in this case.
There is no "It's a complete shambles but we pray the new management will rescue it."
For potential true historic charm, it cannot be bested.
For actual experience, it was appalling.
However, we arrived at exactly the same time as the new management team and Marion and Michael, while they have an Herculean task before them, seem more than able for the challenge.
The room was filthy. The linen was ripped. The room not serviced for two days. The food proved inedible. The noise from the bar was impossible.
But, when Marion and Michael were informed, they themselves cleaned our room when not interviewing new staff.
I hope to hear that a miracle has happened and The New Inn turns over a new leaf. I wish Marion and Michael all the very best.

Room Tip: Before you book, make sure that improvements have been made. If the new team can bring this treasure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your very balanced comments - more than can be said for some reviewers. You are right - we do have a mammoth task on our hands but will put everything right in due course. I do hope people realise that when there has been neglect for several years the new management cannot remedy everything overnight. Hope to see you again if you visit the UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been to the New Inn many times in the past but just to the pub part. The pub always has good beers although the games machines bring the tone down somewhat. The musical evening are generally very good. We were staying the night for the first time this weekend whilst attending the local beer festival. The building itself is Grade I listed and is superb in the courtyard area. A lot of work seems to have been put in on the woodwork. Unfortunately the room we had was very tired and needed some work. The bed, whilst comfortable, had crumpled sheets and cover and it could have done with a bed skirt to hide the ugly bed base. The area around the main light fitting had cracked plaster and looked as though it had leaked in the past. There was an old envelope by the side of the desk with a post mark of January so presumably had been there for 2 months being missed by the cleaners. The view wasn't great but our fault for not specifying perhaps. The bathroom was actually quite a high spec and seemed to have been done recently. I don't know why some previous reviews had complained of squeaky floorboards and uneven floors. What do you expect? The breakfast was pretty basic with very cheap ingredients. Rarely have I had such a poor sausage. I think it has a lot of potential but it is a big place and needs more staff and money spent on it in my view.

Room Tip: See if you can view the different rooms online before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The New Inn is the last galleried inn in England, a survival from the fifteenth century. Shakespeare allegedly performed in the courtyard. Lady Jane Grey was proclaimed Queen there,

Architecturally it's wonderful. But as a place to stay the night and/or eat it is abysmal. Of course there are outside steps to your bedroom, so you have to ascend in the rain. Every floorboard creaks. All the floors are uneven - disconcerting in your bedroom.

All that goes with the territory and would be wonderfully atmospheric if other things worked, They do not. Arriving in your bedroom, you find that two of the light bulbs are missing. There are no towels. The TLC you receive in a family-owned B&B is completely missing. The food is ghastly. Breakfast of the worst sort of chain hotel breakfasts.

Do look round the New Inn (if necessary having a drink). It is an absolutely wonderful historical survival. But do not stay or eat there.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlkleyMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I'll be honest, after reading some previous reviews, we were expecting the worst, this is why we booked it really. We were expecting the full Basil Faulty treatment, warts and all. So we could have a good laugh and report back to our friends with some horror stories....We didn't get it.

What we got instead was a lovely warm room with 2 very comfy single beds, with crisp, clean sheets, nice pillows and a good quality duvet. Oldy worldy black oak beams, wonking floors a proper crocked house, what you would expect of a 700 year old building. Hot water was in abundance and we didn't really hear much noise at all and we stayed Friday/Saturday.

We thought, well at least we will have to suffer the breakfast, but once again, it was lovely, nice and hot and plenty of it, buffet style, with proper coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit ,plus full English with fresh toast and butter, yummy.

If you want mod cons etc, There are some new hotels on the industrial estates out of town. If you want Traditional olde world charm in the town centre then this is for you.

Will deffinatley be going back. It's worth parking in Bruton Way Multi Story as the hotel gives you a very generous discount ticket. £7 for 2 days parking should have been about £22 on the meter. % minute walk to The New Inn

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Check in: Had to wait, room not ready.
The room: After waiting fir it to be cleanef found that nothing had been done, unmade bed, used towels, half finished glass of Coke. Had to sit and watch the room being cleaned.
The central heating was raging, it was 20c outside, but the radiator controls were broken. The sash windows didn't stay open as the catches were broken too.
Along with a noisy karaoke( these happen every Saturday), the equatorial heat of our room and a rock solid bed(and I mean SOLID) prevented any meaningful sleep.
Beakfast:
Cold; cheap nasty sausage( yes,just one) one rasher of bacon, cold egg, half a raw tomato, and...cold baked beans. Only managed one lukewarm coffee before the pot was empty...that was my quota!
Checkout:
Reception abandoned, had to get 'the' breakfast waiter to do it.
Conclusion?
A lovely hotel being run into the ground, and at £60 per night. not a budget hostelry.
Advice:
Don't go there.
Vile

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beerguy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Kindly note this visit was prior to us taking over the hotel. We are well aware that after two years of neglect by the previous management there were a lot of problems. We are working through a long list and are determined to put everything back on track. For future guests' information we use good quality produce in the restaurant for breakfast (and all meals for that matter) and you are not rationed! We have just appointed a professional head chef to take control of the culinary team and already seeing the benefit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel with friends, very basic blood on the walls and on the door. The first room my friends were given needed a deep clean and the second one smelt of drains. The only good thing was the sheets were clean. Breakfast very poor couldn't eat the sausages they were horrible.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

This occured before we took over the hotel. Please be aware that the new management team are tackling the problems you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
661 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
878 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £48 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 12am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
The New Inn-Relaxinnz Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing