We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things that go bump in the night!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Things that go bump in the night!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have just returned from a four night stay at the New Inn.
On the second night I was woken up at 12:10 am when the manager and assistant manager unlocked and entered my room uninvited.They then asked me which room the young lad with the baseball cap was in, as the youngest member of my three man party is 56 and they offered no explanation as to why they were asking and I had been asleep since 8:30 pm. I told them the room number of the person in charge of my party. (needless to say they went to his room and entered in the same manner). Then 30-40 minutes later when I was once again in a deep sleep, the door flew open again and this time it was the manageress and the manager asking for the room number of a person in my party.As she was the one that booked all three of us in, I would have thought looking at the booking details would have been more appropriate. Again there was no explanation.(Again they went off and did the same to this person). The following morning we were expecting some kind of apology and explanation, but all the management did, was dodge us for the remainder of our stay, they were nowhere to be seen when we checked out either. So my advice to anyone staying here is make sure you put something against your door, especially if you are a couple.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you value your privacy. I have two more weeks in gloucester and will be stay...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Following an incident in the hotel we were given information that a person involved was in this gentleman's room. When we went to the room we apologised immediately for the error.
The information was given to us in good faith by another guest and was a complete mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    212
    121
    71
    77
See reviews for
58
298
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very good location in the city centre - able to walk everywhere. Interesting history. That's where positives end!
Pitiful breakfast, toaster not working, had to specially request a fried egg!!!! Cold tap in bedroom not working, whole hotel very tired in appearance, broken electrical points in bedroom, minimal staffing levels, some staff poorly attired, only one key per room. Our room directly over noisy bar. Would need to be desperate to go there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms over the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. Having only very recently taken over the hotel following a long period of poor management we are well aware of the task ahead of us.
The maintenance issues are all in hand and an electricia is on site at this moment working his way through the entire building.
We are sorry the toaster broke that day - but it has been replaced. We offer a buffet breakfast and scrambled eggs are on display. Yes if you need something else you just need to ask, as you did, so really don't see that as a worthy comment.
We issue guests with a room key. If they would like a second one all they have to do is ask!
All major booking websites and our own point out very clearly that our bar is a lively centre of entertainment and there is noise from music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Pros:
Central location. Historic building of considerable charm and interest. Something of a rarity. Bar is a proper pub with a decent range of beers. Rooms are decent sized. Ours was a family room in the back (so not part of the galleried court) and was very spacious and quiet. Recently refurbished bathroom done to a high standard. Friendly and willing staff. Room was cleaned, and beds were clean and tidy.

Cons.
It's rather tired, and has not been sensitively managed in recent years, so décor is not sympathetic to the history and charm of the building. The courtyard is the hotel's best feature, but feels like a holiday park mock up; and when the pub is offering faggots and onion gravy for £5, there is the sense that the place is aiming for the wrong clientèle, and is not making the most of what it has. Toilet paper is budget, and not appropriate even for a budget hotel. Some of the electrics don't work properly or at all. On our weekend the tea and biscuits were not refreshed on the second day. On mentioning it at reception, the staff member (manager?) complained to the receptionist that it was the third complaint he'd had about it. That's not professional. They then supplied loose tea bags and unpacked biscuits. At least they'd made the effort, but unwrapped biscuits go soft overnight.... The third day there was again no replaced tea bags and biscuits. The breakfast was meagre, with minimal choice, and all poor quality. Breakfast appears to be included as standard, but as there are two Wetherspoons and a McDonalds close by, it may be worth going there for breakfast. It may be better to spend a few quid on a decent breakfast, and then be ready for the day, than submit yourself to the frustration of what the hotel has to offer, and have a bad start to the day. Your choice.

Overall.
An interesting place to stay. There is entertainment of a weekend, so the more interesting rooms around the courtyard will be subject to noise; and the hotel is in need of a sympathetic refurbishment; and the breakfast is best ignored completely; however, the central location, the history and charm of the place, the ghost stories, etc, make up for the shortcomings, so that overall it makes a comparable option to the dull, but efficient, modern hotel chains.

Tip.
The hotel offers a discount voucher for parking at Bruton Way. Ask for the voucher and you pay £3.50 for the day instead of £5. it's a 3-4 minute walk. Or, if you are happy to walk a little further (8-10 minutes), there's free street parking in a safe residential street: Oxford Road GL1 3EE.
Veggie sausages are available on request.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We have very recently taken over the hotel and agree that many things are in need of attention following about two years of neglect by our predecessors. We are working through a massive list of improvements and are keen to bring the hotel back to where it should be. We ask all guests to be patient however, this is a big task and will not be completed overnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is the worst place I have ever had the misfortune to stay! We had the Oak Suite, sounds nice but unfortunately it clearly hadn't seen a hoover or a duster for years, it was filthy and we actually found a bug in the bed clothes, which brings me to the bed, if you like sleeping in a dip at a 45 degree angle head down, on a mattress which was so bad it had a plank of chip board underneath, then I am sure you would love it!
I appreciate that such an old building will have unlevel floors but to be doing a headstand in your sleep is just ridiculous. Ah did I say sleep? Well actually, with the bar below our room and a karaoke until half past midnight we didn't get any sleep! And the breakfast, we didn't stay for breakfast we got up and left at five am, we had had enough.

Room Tip: Don't book one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comment.

Having only recently taken over the hotel I was intrigued by your comments about thelevel of the bed so I went and tried it. To my surprise it was not at a 45 degree angle and I didn't have to sleep doing a headstand. This is a 600 year old building and the floors are not level (that's why people come here). True there is a gentle slope but nothing untoward. Why comment about breakfast when you did not have it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaddesden, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This Hotel is sited perfectly in the centre of Gloucester, and as described by previous posts is a very old building. Therefore you should be prepared to put up with some of the quirks that the building throws at you.
What lets it down is the poor attention to detail in the rooms. In the wardrobe were broken coat hangers, shoe boxes and the top was very dusty. The carpet was quite stained and the bath panel was broken with a big split along it. The worst thing was the dirty toilet brush, please, please cleaner clean the brush after you have cleaned toilet
The breakfast was ok but it consisted of scrambled egg. To be fair another guest asked for other type,and it was provided so it would have been good to put a sign on the desk saying it was available.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the prices for the drinks were good.
Would I stay here again, on balance I would and would happily recommend it to my friends. But this hotel must learn to start looking at the little things and not to let it get any worse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

First off, the choices for an overall rating are inadequate in this case.
There is no "It's a complete shambles but we pray the new management will rescue it."
For potential true historic charm, it cannot be bested.
For actual experience, it was appalling.
However, we arrived at exactly the same time as the new management team and Marion and Michael, while they have an Herculean task before them, seem more than able for the challenge.
The room was filthy. The linen was ripped. The room not serviced for two days. The food proved inedible. The noise from the bar was impossible.
But, when Marion and Michael were informed, they themselves cleaned our room when not interviewing new staff.
I hope to hear that a miracle has happened and The New Inn turns over a new leaf. I wish Marion and Michael all the very best.

Room Tip: Before you book, make sure that improvements have been made. If the new team can bring this treasure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your very balanced comments - more than can be said for some reviewers. You are right - we do have a mammoth task on our hands but will put everything right in due course. I do hope people realise that when there has been neglect for several years the new management cannot remedy everything overnight. Hope to see you again if you visit the UK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been to the New Inn many times in the past but just to the pub part. The pub always has good beers although the games machines bring the tone down somewhat. The musical evening are generally very good. We were staying the night for the first time this weekend whilst attending the local beer festival. The building itself is Grade I listed and is superb in the courtyard area. A lot of work seems to have been put in on the woodwork. Unfortunately the room we had was very tired and needed some work. The bed, whilst comfortable, had crumpled sheets and cover and it could have done with a bed skirt to hide the ugly bed base. The area around the main light fitting had cracked plaster and looked as though it had leaked in the past. There was an old envelope by the side of the desk with a post mark of January so presumably had been there for 2 months being missed by the cleaners. The view wasn't great but our fault for not specifying perhaps. The bathroom was actually quite a high spec and seemed to have been done recently. I don't know why some previous reviews had complained of squeaky floorboards and uneven floors. What do you expect? The breakfast was pretty basic with very cheap ingredients. Rarely have I had such a poor sausage. I think it has a lot of potential but it is a big place and needs more staff and money spent on it in my view.

Room Tip: See if you can view the different rooms online before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Property: The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Thursday and Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 2am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
The New Inn-Relaxinnz Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing