We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in the New Inn, Gloucester” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One night stay in the New Inn, Gloucester”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a budget hotel; and I mean budget; room clean enough - but no hot water for the shower in the morning!! Reported to reception who said there was nothing they could do until the emergency plumber arrived - no good for me as I was checking out. Breakfast was tired looking with poor quality food. Staff were OK; especially the lovely young blonde lady in Grey's coffee shop on Thursday 5th June. However,on the plus side - it is in a fantastic location for exploring Gloucester and has an intersting history. I would stay again but be more choosy about my room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your comments - really sorry about the hot water - there was nothing we could do until the plumber arrived. Unhappy with your allegations about the breakfast being 'poor quality food' - we offer a choice of bread and rolls, croissants, Danish pastries, six cereals, a selection of fruit juices, dried and fresh fruit, yoghurt, sausages, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans, fried bread and scrambled or fried eggs, washed down with as much tea and coffee as you like - see other recent positive reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    209
    120
    71
    76
See reviews for
58
295
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
casvegas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely small coaching house , Hotel , Apparently Haunted , never met the local holy host , but would have been nice .
Pleasant staff , often visit for a beer when in the area ,
Just been taken over by new Management , so have not tried the food since , but I am sure it will be as good as last team ,

Room Tip: you need to climb narrow and steep staircase to access rooms ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeky123Casvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind remarks - we are striving to put the New Inn back on top
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Its all about how close you want to be near the city centre. There is no on site parking so you have to park at a near by NCP park. Whilst the hotel has a deal for cheaper parking, you still have a short brisk walk to the hotel.
The room I stayed in was very dated and really needs a clean up. However, if old style is what you want, then this hotel is for you. It comes right out of our past history. Problems sleeping at night with the myriad of sea gulls roosting on the roof.
The breakfast was cold every morning and the evening meal left me to seek food elsewhere.
In all, the New Inn is liveable if you need a place to stay in a hurry, but there are better in the area.

Room Tip: Sorry, but my experience of a single room was not good. Maybe, the other rooms are better but I sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willisbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We accept that some of the rooms are in need of redecoration and there is an ongoing plan with the building owners to have this acrried out. As the hotel was built 564 years ago a car park did not feature in the original plans, but we do offer subsidised parking at Bruton Way car park which is only a 5 minute walk away.
Sorry about the seagulls - out of our control I'm afraid.
Cannot accept that your breakfast was cold every day - on quieter days food is cooked to order and on busier days it is a hot buffet on the carvery unit. Either way it is hot. Perturbed at your comment about evening meal as we are getting many compliments about the new menu - can you please let me know what exactly was the problem? newinn@relaxinnz.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Read some good and bad reports before we stayed in this hotel, but can honestly say our stay was lovely and couldn't fault it. We stayed in the oak suite, four poster bed and oak panels on all the walls, keeping up with the character of the hotel. Hotel is right in the centre of the town so not far to walk to shops, bars and restaurants, the quays being about a 5 minute stroll too, with its designer shopping outlet.
All in all a lovely little two night birthday break and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments - appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Herts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Value for money springs to mind. For the price it was very good, but if you are looking for luxury a smart beautiful well maintained venue, then pass this one by.
It is a great place to get your head down after a night on the town or rugby match in Cardiff (60mins direct on train) but not much more than that. In need of a deep clean and redecoration as well as some maintenance. Staff are very good but I guess the cleaning staff are over stretched as I found litter and unwelcome spillages in the draws of the room.
Breakfast is buffet style so fill your boots!
The fire alarm went off in the early hours, while we were there but nobody came round to reassure it was a false alarm.

Room Tip: Signage to find rooms was very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RupertTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are aware that there are maintenance and decorating needs and these are being planned. Sorry about the fire alarm - a guest was smoking in a bedroom and the alarm was turned off after only a few seconds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place. With its slanting floors and crooked walls, this quaint Inn provided a unique stay. If you're looking for a short term stay full of quirkiness this place is it. Whilst wifi is provided it was very difficult to get a good connection or signal strength. Breakfast was great and off sight parking available at a slight extra surcharge.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaKingaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

we stayed at the new inn on Saturday 17th may for one night and was given the keys for room 114. On arriving at our room we where met with old dirty furniture cobwebs that you could tell had been there for months stained carpets ,old tissue paper on the floor, In the shower room the fitments where broken. we was unable to shower because you could not regulate the shower.
And then at around 8pm the karaoke started in the main bar that was under our room and lasted untll12.30am the sound was shocking you could not hear yourself think we could hear bad language.
The following mourning breakfast was so bad I was unable to eat.
Please think again and read all the reports on trip advisr before you make the same mistake that I made.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveg670448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are aware of the old furniture and carpets and plans are underway for improvements in this area. I have contacted a plumber and he is calling today to repair the broken shower. Our website and that of booking.com who you used to make your reservation clearly state that we have live music and karaoke until late very weekend. Can I advise that should you have cause to complain anywhere it is always best to do so at the time, giving the business the opportunity to put things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Property: The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Thursday and Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 2am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
The New Inn-Relaxinnz Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing