We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awful room.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Room no' 102
After trying to find the place as it is extremely hard to find and Satnav doesn't seem to know either, we then had to go back to the car and move it closer but still not close enough. No Car Park is rubbish.
Room was not clean at all.
Bed isn't comfy.
I have pictures of the window area which is disgusting.
No noise but seagulls are extremely loud all day and night.
Breakfast a bit rubbish. Tasted old like it was yesterdays.
Checkout at 10am, went down at 9:45am and no one on the desk. Had to walk around for 5 minutes trying to find someone.

Gloucester in General is a horrible place. Don't do it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I am sorry you were unable to find the hotel easily - it is right in the city centre where it has always been for the last 564 years (and that's why we don't have a car park - the hotel was built with stables!). We do supplypostcodes of car parks on our website and those of major booking agencies if you care to look and other guests' SatNavs seem to work OK.

I apologise for the roof outside, but it is not ours. I will endeavour to get the owners of that building to clean it.

Yes seagull are noisy - your point being? For breakfast we provide two types of fruit juice, 6 cereals, Danish pastries, croissants, bread and rolls, tea, coffee, museli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fried & scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans, fried bread, mushrooms, tomatoes - I could go on but think I have made my point. Your suggestion that we provide 'yesterdays' food is totally untrue and may be libellous. Suggest you read other recent reviews! And slagging off the beautiful city of Gloucester in general is cheap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    214
    123
    73
    77
See reviews for
58
306
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

i recently spent a memorable night at the new inn hotel
i was absolutely enchanted by the building and setting. i stayed in the "oak suite" with a four
poster bed,dark wood panelling and period style soft furnishing. the resident ghost did not put
in an appearance but in the wee small hours it felt a lot more spooky. to add to the atmosphere
there was even a production of macbeth in the courtyard.
the only critisism was the england/brazil football flags hung up in the courtyard, totally out of
keeping and should have been banished to the bar.
breakfast was tasty and plentiful and served as a buffet . the staff were friendly and helpfull

Room Tip: choose one of the 2 four poster suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. I take your point about the flags - they'll soon be gone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What an amazing hotel full of history and friendly,Happy staff my first time here and while be staying here again ideally situated as i came up to photograph Gay pride and will be using this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks - much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in from a historic point of view. Really quirky and in a brilliant location. Okay the rooms are tired and need some renovation but the room was clean. The buffet breakfast was good and food replenished as it ran out. The evening menu was a little boring but I'm sure the new management will look into this. Very helpful staff. One of the highlights of our stay was the filming of a period drama in the courtyard which involved some beautiful horses pulling a carriage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyOxted_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments - it is always pleasant to be appreciated. We know the rooms are in need of renovation and this is under review -we are pleased to have at least got them up to an acceptable standard of cleanliness following two years of neglect under previous management. With our new kitchen team in place we have launched a new menu and will also be featuring daily specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Arrived 8pm to warm and friendly welcome. Room clean but in need of some TLC. Tear in net curtain. Broken pane of glass in window. Peeling paper on ceiling. Had evening meal at hotel as found there were no other choices locally. Most of menu seemed to be unavailable but Manager did offer complimentary dessert to compensate without asking or complaining. Had fish and chips which was very good. Breakfast in morning was very good too offering excellent choice. One night stay so pretty good value for the two of us. Good central location for public transport and high street shopping if that's what you like but there is a lot of noise very early in the morning as shops and traders, and the pub, set up for the day and take in deliveries. If you want nightlife and trendy bars etc you're better off booking looking at Gloucester Quays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments - much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a budget hotel; and I mean budget; room clean enough - but no hot water for the shower in the morning!! Reported to reception who said there was nothing they could do until the emergency plumber arrived - no good for me as I was checking out. Breakfast was tired looking with poor quality food. Staff were OK; especially the lovely young blonde lady in Grey's coffee shop on Thursday 5th June. However,on the plus side - it is in a fantastic location for exploring Gloucester and has an intersting history. I would stay again but be more choosy about my room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your comments - really sorry about the hot water - there was nothing we could do until the plumber arrived. Unhappy with your allegations about the breakfast being 'poor quality food' - we offer a choice of bread and rolls, croissants, Danish pastries, six cereals, a selection of fruit juices, dried and fresh fruit, yoghurt, sausages, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans, fried bread and scrambled or fried eggs, washed down with as much tea and coffee as you like - see other recent positive reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casvegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely small coaching house , Hotel , Apparently Haunted , never met the local holy host , but would have been nice .
Pleasant staff , often visit for a beer when in the area ,
Just been taken over by new Management , so have not tried the food since , but I am sure it will be as good as last team ,

Room Tip: you need to climb narrow and steep staircase to access rooms ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeky123Casvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBA2012, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind remarks - we are striving to put the New Inn back on top
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn-Relaxinnz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Property: The New Inn-Relaxinnz
Address: 16 Northgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Thursday and Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 2am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
The New Inn-Relaxinnz Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing